Customer Reviews for

Breath of Magic

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hilarious

    ***NOTE MY REVIEWS OFTEN CONTAIN SPOILERS***
    This book is absolutely hilarious. Beyond just being a love story, this is the kind of love story that draws you in.

    I'll admit I wasn't expecting much when I picked up this book, I purchased in just a bag of books and it as a romance by an author whose name I didn't recognize, but the cover image caught my eye and I thought well I already bought it, might as well read it before I send it off to someone else.

    I was pleasantly to find this book was much more than I expected. Arian who believes she's a witch in the 1600s own an emerald amulet which was given to her by her mother when she was a child. The amulet she believes enhances her own magical abilities. We're introduced to her when she's in the woods trying to take flight on a broom. After a few failed attempts she succeeds only to crash land face first in the dirt.

    When she is caught practicing magic and being tried as a witch with a test by water she attempts to perform a spell to save herself from drowning. She doesn't drown but instead find herself transported through time to the year 1996 and just happens to show up in the exact spot of a competition to prove magic is real being held by the "boy billionaire" Tristan. The story follows their journey to overcoming distrust and falling in love.

    Beyond that you share in the experiences of a curious girl from the 1600s experiencing the wonders of the mid 90s. She shut the water off to his fountain by running the show, the faucets and repeatedly flushing the toilet when she discovers indoor plumbing. She almost electrocutes herself when she sticks a spoon in a broken light bulb that's still attached to a plugged in lamp. She plays French lullabies on the key pad of the touch tone phone, attempts to find the people living inside the television and learns to play the piano from gang members in Harlem who she visits because she's hungry and she can smell their food. Her innocence and curiosity will keep you laughing from beginning to end.

    If the humor and love weren't enough to keep you turning the pages the book includes a subplot filled with time travel, betrayals and intrigue. This is a definite must read.

    I give this four stars only because some of the scenes are a bit farfetched and unrealistic, also it was a bit disappointing when you learn the real source of Arian's magic. Also I didn't like when she went into a distant third person or narrators voice in some scenes like in the end scenes where she writes, had they opened the door they would have seen... I found this a bit distracting. Overall however the book was still a page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2005

    A reviewer

    I usually do not read time travel romances, but this one was a great read. In the beginning, the storyline was fast-paced, but the middle dragged on a bit. The ending was sort of lacking in Medeiros' usual style, but other than that it was funny and enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    Intriguing plot with unusual twists/time travel with wrinkles

    Really unusual plot that blends a real witch from Salem during the witch trials with high tech for time travel. I thoroughly enjoyed this book that kept me guessing how it would all work out until the end. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    best 20th century time travel :)

    loved the chemistry between the main characters and the normalacy of their romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Good

    This was a good book but not the best. Like others have said it has a bit of everything in it including romance and laughter but there were times when i felt it was too far fetched. But dont let that hold you back from reading this because it does have some great parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    My expectation was high and I was disappointed. The flow was cho

    My expectation was high and I was disappointed. The flow was choppy. Slow in the beginning, then the pace picked up a little then it slowed down again in the middle. The explanation of why Tristan held a $1M contest to prove whether magic exists was weak. ** SPOILER ALERT ** Then the discovery that Arthur Finch is Arian's father is convoluted. When the steamy sex scene finally arrive, it didn't disappoint, thank goodness. My main disappointment came from the limited amount of physical contact between Arian and Tristan that lead up to their consummating their wedding vows. This is the second book (Some Like it Wicked ) of Ms. Medeiros that I've read and I would be hard pressed now to pick up a third..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    No.. just no

    I finished this book only because I have a need to finish any book once I've started reading it. The characters were impossible to relate to, the store progressed oddly. The romance was weird. Overall, the book lacked any depth that would have hooked me in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Magic

    This is one of my favorite books. Once i bought a nook, this was the first books i had to buy. I read this book and read it a billion times since then.
    I could see this turned into a movie, it has great comedic moments and of course you get a ton of romance. Arian time travels to the future (1996), and falls off her broom at the feet of billionaire tristan lennox. She is trying to prove there is real magic and he's using all his resources to prove her wrong. You'll meet great characters. It's just a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    Teresa Medieros is a fantastic writer. Romance with a touch of

    Teresa Medieros is a fantastic writer. Romance with a touch of whimsy and fun. The time travel element helps to promote a "fish out of water" scenario. Much fun is generated by misunderstandings of characters from different worlds,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Love rhis book!

    Sparked my interest. Laughing, I was intrigued to the end, unable to put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Disapointed

    Not the quality of 'Yours til Dawn'. This was a childish fairy tale with sex thrown in. Not my type of story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Terrific

    Love that magic, romance & time travel!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    "Breath of Magic" is a breath of fresh air, great characters with great chemistry!

    Another one of this author's great works. Enjoyable and memorable with a few twists and turns along the way. Take time to enjoy this, and with the money you save with the special pricing, treat yourself with a delicious coffee of tea drink!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    promising but frustrating!

    This book held so much promise in the beginning fulfilling most aspects of any romance novel with a hint of magic. As I neared the middle and end of the book it just started to piss me off with frustration and Arian's lack of a backbone. If any guy did what Tristan did to her any strong character should have pushed him to change his mistrustful misguided ways instead of just close her eyes and freakin submit! like someone with absolutely no will of their own to be beaten and hurt by someone only to gladly let them use their body a bit later. grrrrrr.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    Loved it!

    I absolutely loved this book! Couldn't put it down until I finished it and then I was still wishing that it hadn't ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2005

    Outstanding...

    I like strong heros and Tristan was a perfect one. Very romantic story. Arian was delightful. The story doesn't have a dull moment anywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2005

    Medeiros is the queen!!

    Breath of Magic was a well written time travel tale. I just wish that Medeiros would write more time travel. Superb writing and well thought out characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2003

    My all time favorite book!

    I have been reading romance for 17 years and have never enjoyed a book as much as this one. The character Arian had me laughing out loud at the little things in our lives we think nothing of. If you enjoy magic and time travel this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2003

    Fantastic Ms. Medeiros!

    Romance is SO under-rated and under-appreciated!! Why don't authors like this get the credit they deserve? Why haven't we seen Ms. Medeiros on The Today Show? What an author like this can do crafting an incredible tale woven together so an outrageous (but delicious) story can read like reality! I was so impressed with her imagination and the turns the story took. I've been reading "fiction" for years. I'm going to move over to romance for awhile with Teresa Medeiros' books! This book had me sneaking away to read it at every opportunity, raving about it to my friends who'd listen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2002

    even better than 5 stars

    I have never read a book that I have enjoyed more than this one, The charactors are exquisite. Breath of Magic was very amusing and entertaining, It is a must read!!! I would give Breath of Magic 10 stars if I could:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3