BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Breath of Snow and Ashes (Outlander Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 991 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(728)

4 Star

(156)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Drama

You would think that by the sixth book in the series, Gabaldon would become tiresome and the plot points would begin to repeat or continue to hit dead ends...but this is far from the truth. This book sucks you in and entrances you with answers to previous questions, con...
You would think that by the sixth book in the series, Gabaldon would become tiresome and the plot points would begin to repeat or continue to hit dead ends...but this is far from the truth. This book sucks you in and entrances you with answers to previous questions, conclusions to old problems and reemergence of old friends, as well as new questions, new problems, and new people, both good and bad who help and threaten the family that you have grown to love and root for.
This series helped me learn what love truly is. It isn't some unattainable perfect union. It's hard work. It's dirty, fascinating, intoxicating, comfortable, volcanic, and most of all it's true. Jamie and Claire fight, argue, and really get under each others skin, but at the end of the day they are there for each other and they would die for each other. They make unhesitating sacrifices for their family and are put into some odd situations. Everyone should read this series, both men and women. Claire is someone that every woman can relate to on some level. Jamie a man that most men aspire to be, and could learn from to some extent.
This book is funny, like all the others, and then will turn around and have you jumping out of your seat in the middle of the battles, then drop you like a hot potato into tears. This book has something for everyone.

posted by Bwitchd3 on March 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Repetative and dull

Does no one at the publishing house dare to edit the work of Diana Gabaldon? It is far to lengthy and repetative. I flipped through so many pages that contained no useful purpose. The concept of travelling through time is all but forgotten and therfore the suspence is s...
Does no one at the publishing house dare to edit the work of Diana Gabaldon? It is far to lengthy and repetative. I flipped through so many pages that contained no useful purpose. The concept of travelling through time is all but forgotten and therfore the suspence is simply not there. We have all become use to being subjected to gritty, sexual violance in many of todays novels. I think it's time to get back to some quality writing. I could barely bring myself to finish this book

posted by Anonymous on January 18, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2005

    A nice visit with old friends, but disappointing overall

    Once again, Gabaldon spends far too much time in the minutia of the lives of Jamie, Claire, Brianna, Roger, and their friends and family and far too little on telling the actual story. I loved this series up until 'Fiery Cross', but in that book and this one it's become apparent that she's fallen in love with the characters too much to let the story play itself out to an inevitable conclusion, so we're left with 700 pages of filler to 250 of plot. 'A Breath of Snow and Ashes' is worth reading if you're a committed Gabaldon fan, but not if you're expecting a book along the lines of 'Outlander', 'Dragonfly in Amber', or 'Voyager'.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2006

    Disappointing once again

    I am a big fan of the first three books in the Outlander series. I seem to remember reading somewhere that Mrs. Gabaldon originally intended for the series to be just a trilogy. To be honest I feel that maybe that wouldn¿t be such a bad idea. I kept on reading all the new installments and waiting to see the same passion and adventure that attracted me to the Outlander from the beginning, but I¿m afraid that after book 3 it just isn¿t there. I picked up ¿The Breath of snow and ashes¿ in hopes of finding than something special and was once again disappointed. Don¿t get me wrong, it¿s nice to know what the characters have been up to and I did finish the book out of loyalty, but the very same things I got out of it could have been compressed in to a book half the size and the rest was just pointless filler. I would be surprised to find a person who hadn¿t read the previous books enjoying this one. Would not recommend it to anyone other than the diehard fans who want to catch up on the lives of the characters.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Lionfire

    Puts in two plump voles and a rabbit and goes to his den very tired after the mornig rush of prey

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    Long gone are the days where I would finish one of the outlander

    Long gone are the days where I would finish one of the outlander books in a few days after withdrawing from the world. It took me about a year to finish this book because I would get bored and many points of the book and put it aside for months at a time. The end was really good and even certain points significant in the middle were exciting and heart wrenching but there was just so much slowness in between. Jamie and Claire's relationship also lacks the excitement it used to provide for me but maybe she just wanted it that way because now they are older and more content and comfortable. I don't know, either way, I still love these characters and have a tough time putting them aside but this series is missing what initially made me fall in love with it. I'm sad and disappointed a little bit.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    Too many...

    Yes, well... The 6th installment in the series. Too many characters, too many plots, too many abductions, too many girls pregnant out of wedlock, too many!! So, my enchantment with this series is fading. I really like the first 2 books, but then, it kind of goes downhill quickly. Jamie & Claire are living in 1770's, waiting for the War to start. Jamie has to choose carefully, as he has friends on both sides. Still good writing, but I think the author has lost sight of the goal a bit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2006

    Not as great as the earlier books in the series, but still good.

    I loved the first 4 books in the series, but the last 2 seem a little forced. I recently read a Diana Gabaldon interview where she says something like, 'good fiction must have conflict'....but THIS was ridiculous. I mean, the rape and kidnap of Claire seemed pointless. There were just way too many conflicts, trials, and tribulations facing Claire, Jamie, Roger, and Brianna in this book. By the end, when Brianna was kidnapped by Stephen Bonnet, I wanted to say, 'Enough already!' However, out of loyalty to Jamie and Claire, I soldiered on and finished the book. Didn't enjoy it the way I enjoyed the first 4 books, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2005

    must we?

    i've been here since the beginning. as the books have become more bloated, the story has less and less ooomph, and more and more filler. i could have cut out quite a lot and not have been sorry. first, i want claire to finally get her comeuppance for her bullying ways. and second, if she focuses any more on the unlikeable brianna, i'll never make it to the end. it's all quite repetitious and she's begun telegraphing her moves. the ending did not come as a surprise and i'm already a little nervous about how predictable the next one will be. and now that the story if crammed full of many too many characters and their stories, they must all reappear to get everyone off stage. it took from september to november to finish this, and every one before this (except for fiery cross which i could not finish) took one good weekend and a box of kleenex. bring back the original jamie and claire, that's what we want!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2005

    I was disappointed.

    I've read every book in this saga, and anxiously awaited this one, but was disappointed. The basic story delivered, but I found it hard to stay with this book due to what I considered 'fill'. There were things that happened in the story that I found no reason for other then to make the book longer. If I hadn't wanted to get to the end of the story I would have abandoned the book all together. This is the first book of Ms. Galbaldon's that did not keep me glued to the pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2005

    Nice to know what characters are up to, but don't expect a great read

    Good short segments of and on favorite characters, but not much continuity between them, and plot lines altered during this book and from previous books to fit a segment. Some plots don't add to the book whole, and some don't have enough explanation or story line to understand. References made to obscure lines from the first books with no understanding, plus major plot lines dumped out at the end. Gabaldon needs a better editor that can check dates and continuity! At the very least, put a time line on the wall! Disappointing, but I'll probably read the next to see what happens to the characters. Check this one out from the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3