Customer Reviews for

A Breath of Snow and Ashes (Outlander Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 953 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(701)

4 Star

(150)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Drama

You would think that by the sixth book in the series, Gabaldon would become tiresome and the plot points would begin to repeat or continue to hit dead ends...but this is far from the truth. This book sucks you in and entrances you with answers to previous questions, con...
You would think that by the sixth book in the series, Gabaldon would become tiresome and the plot points would begin to repeat or continue to hit dead ends...but this is far from the truth. This book sucks you in and entrances you with answers to previous questions, conclusions to old problems and reemergence of old friends, as well as new questions, new problems, and new people, both good and bad who help and threaten the family that you have grown to love and root for.
This series helped me learn what love truly is. It isn't some unattainable perfect union. It's hard work. It's dirty, fascinating, intoxicating, comfortable, volcanic, and most of all it's true. Jamie and Claire fight, argue, and really get under each others skin, but at the end of the day they are there for each other and they would die for each other. They make unhesitating sacrifices for their family and are put into some odd situations. Everyone should read this series, both men and women. Claire is someone that every woman can relate to on some level. Jamie a man that most men aspire to be, and could learn from to some extent.
This book is funny, like all the others, and then will turn around and have you jumping out of your seat in the middle of the battles, then drop you like a hot potato into tears. This book has something for everyone.

posted by Bwitchd3 on March 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A nice visit with old friends, but disappointing overall

Once again, Gabaldon spends far too much time in the minutia of the lives of Jamie, Claire, Brianna, Roger, and their friends and family and far too little on telling the actual story. I loved this series up until 'Fiery Cross', but in that book and this one it's b...
Once again, Gabaldon spends far too much time in the minutia of the lives of Jamie, Claire, Brianna, Roger, and their friends and family and far too little on telling the actual story. I loved this series up until 'Fiery Cross', but in that book and this one it's become apparent that she's fallen in love with the characters too much to let the story play itself out to an inevitable conclusion, so we're left with 700 pages of filler to 250 of plot. 'A Breath of Snow and Ashes' is worth reading if you're a committed Gabaldon fan, but not if you're expecting a book along the lines of 'Outlander', 'Dragonfly in Amber', or 'Voyager'.

posted by Anonymous on October 5, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 967 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 49
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Drama

    You would think that by the sixth book in the series, Gabaldon would become tiresome and the plot points would begin to repeat or continue to hit dead ends...but this is far from the truth. This book sucks you in and entrances you with answers to previous questions, conclusions to old problems and reemergence of old friends, as well as new questions, new problems, and new people, both good and bad who help and threaten the family that you have grown to love and root for.
    This series helped me learn what love truly is. It isn't some unattainable perfect union. It's hard work. It's dirty, fascinating, intoxicating, comfortable, volcanic, and most of all it's true. Jamie and Claire fight, argue, and really get under each others skin, but at the end of the day they are there for each other and they would die for each other. They make unhesitating sacrifices for their family and are put into some odd situations. Everyone should read this series, both men and women. Claire is someone that every woman can relate to on some level. Jamie a man that most men aspire to be, and could learn from to some extent.
    This book is funny, like all the others, and then will turn around and have you jumping out of your seat in the middle of the battles, then drop you like a hot potato into tears. This book has something for everyone.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Well done!

    A Breath of Snow and Ashes continues the adventurous story of Jamie and Claire Fraser and their family and friends.

    A Breath of Snow and Ashes takes us on a roller coaster ride of emotion this time. Have a tissue box ready because you'll need it at the end. For the first time Diana has left her readers an actual cliff hanger. Of course this just makes you want more.

    As always I feel as if I have transported through time and am right their with everyone. A part of the action, feeling their sorrows, joys and laughter.

    Definately not a disappointment, however before reading this book if you haven't read the first 5: Outland, Dragonfly in Amber, Voyager, Drums of Autumn, and The Fiery Cross you must do so to understand their journey.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    FANTASTIC SERIES!

    Gabaldon paints her books with thick color. Her characters are so well-developed that I feel I know them all very well. A Breath of Snow and Ashes closes some questions left from earlier volumes, and rounds out some character detail. I don't want to give anything away here, but it was a thoroughly satisfying read. Happily, it also leaves an opening for further Jamie/Clair volumes.
    After reading this 6th book in the series, I started with Outlander and am re-reading them all. They're giving me as much pleasure the second time around.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    Repetative and dull

    Does no one at the publishing house dare to edit the work of Diana Gabaldon? It is far to lengthy and repetative. I flipped through so many pages that contained no useful purpose. The concept of travelling through time is all but forgotten and therfore the suspence is simply not there. We have all become use to being subjected to gritty, sexual violance in many of todays novels. I think it's time to get back to some quality writing. I could barely bring myself to finish this book

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2005

    A nice visit with old friends, but disappointing overall

    Once again, Gabaldon spends far too much time in the minutia of the lives of Jamie, Claire, Brianna, Roger, and their friends and family and far too little on telling the actual story. I loved this series up until 'Fiery Cross', but in that book and this one it's become apparent that she's fallen in love with the characters too much to let the story play itself out to an inevitable conclusion, so we're left with 700 pages of filler to 250 of plot. 'A Breath of Snow and Ashes' is worth reading if you're a committed Gabaldon fan, but not if you're expecting a book along the lines of 'Outlander', 'Dragonfly in Amber', or 'Voyager'.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    I Love this author!

    Ms Gabaldon is an outstanding writer. Her books are long but she writes so well and develops her characters so well, that I am never ready for the story to end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Addicting, amazing,must read series

    Something I unknowingly stumbled into, this series has blown me away. The author has the ability to make you feel like you are experiencing first hand what the characters are, like you ARE the character. Addicting, I found myself reading for 4 hours at a time and wanting more. I don't want it to end. A true romance/adventure story that makes you want to immediately buy tickets and go to Scotland.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    wonderful

    Do not get discouraged reading this book. Yes it is VERY long but its worth it. Gabaldon intertwines suspense and touching stories till the very last page (until epilogue II.) This book is probably the most heartbreaking (in a sort of good way) of the whole series. A lot of the loose ends and mysteries she created in the previous books of the series were answered in this edition. Some of her older themes of kidnapping are repeated I suppose but nonetheless she achieves originality when you are least suspecting it. There are just so many twists and turns it'll leave you yelling "WHAT?" out loud.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Well worth the time invested to read OR listen

    Audiobook is a great way to enjoy the sixth and most recent volume in Diana Gabaldon's popular Outlander series. A Breath of Snow and Ashes has an episodic structure rather than one overarching story line. The spoken word format makes the listener slow down and enjoy the rich details in the story. Gabaldon rounds out her descriptions with authentic sights, smells, sounds and textures.<BR/>Davina Porter is a skilled dramatic reader who adapts nuanced accents for each character. Her Jamie Fraser is surprisingly convincing. Her Claire Fraser is spot on, and since Claire is the narrator for much of the books, the listener feels like he or she is really in Claire's head. Claire's daughter Brianna and the troublemaker Donner are the only off-notes, because they are Americans and apparently Porter's accents don't extend that far.<BR/>If you've read A Breath of Snow and Ashes, the audio version is a great way to "reread" and pick up subtleties you missed on the first go round while waiting for Book 7. If you've finished up to The Fiery Cross (Outlander), try the audio version. Be warned, this is an unabridged version of a hefty book that runs to 48 CDs and a serious time commitment. But, worth every second.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2006

    Disappointing once again

    I am a big fan of the first three books in the Outlander series. I seem to remember reading somewhere that Mrs. Gabaldon originally intended for the series to be just a trilogy. To be honest I feel that maybe that wouldn¿t be such a bad idea. I kept on reading all the new installments and waiting to see the same passion and adventure that attracted me to the Outlander from the beginning, but I¿m afraid that after book 3 it just isn¿t there. I picked up ¿The Breath of snow and ashes¿ in hopes of finding than something special and was once again disappointed. Don¿t get me wrong, it¿s nice to know what the characters have been up to and I did finish the book out of loyalty, but the very same things I got out of it could have been compressed in to a book half the size and the rest was just pointless filler. I would be surprised to find a person who hadn¿t read the previous books enjoying this one. Would not recommend it to anyone other than the diehard fans who want to catch up on the lives of the characters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2005

    A struggle to finish......

    I am having trouble maintaining my interest in this book. I feel obliged to finish it having read all the previous books, but this particular installment seems rife with disjointed, mundane events. I promised myself I would no longer finish books that don't hold my interest. Life is too short to waste on mediocrity. However, I'll finish this one out of obligation to the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    highly recommend

    I was a late-comer to the Highlander series. I started them a few months ago and can't put them down! Wonderful series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Love

    Love

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    More Outlander fun

    This one took some time to get into but once it got closer to the end I couldn't put it down. I'm glad Jamie and Claire's story is going on but it will be interesting to see what Gabaldon does next because she tied up a lot of loose ends from the earlier books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Love this series

    Love all of the books in this series, can't wait for the next one I miss having Jamie and Claire in my evenings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    My favorite of the series so far...

    This book is awesome. Full of humor and intricate relationships!! Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Gabaldon rocks!

    If you haven't read Outlander, what are you waiting for? This series is the best thing in print right now. This is addictive, all incompassing, suck you in action with strong charectors who have a history you want to know. There's something here for everyone, be it mystery, suspense, history, charector development, or romance. Every Outlander book, Snow and Ashes included, is a reader's page-turning dream. I highly recommend them all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    excellent time travel historical tale

    Though officially war has not been declared, blood has fallen in Massachusetts Bay. On Fraser¿s Ridge, North Carolina Jamie Fraser already knows the outcome of the Revolutionary War because his spouse Claire told him having journeyed from the future to his past knowing the details about the Revolutionary War because she read about it in the American history books. --- Tension is high so Colonial Governor Tryon asks Jamie, leader of those residing along Fraser Ridge, to help keep the peace there. He is not sure how to respond because Jamie knows that those who support the monarchy will either die or flee in exile yet Jamie still hopes he can avoid bloodshed. There is also the matter of knowing that three plus years from now The Wilmington Gazette December 1776 reports that Jamie and his family died in a fire. Jamie knows that the devil is in the details, but how can a mortal change history even if the events have not yet occurred. Now in 1773 he must take sides knowing that soon people he cares about will die. --- The latest Gabaldon time travel historical tale is a superb entry because of the dilemmas facing the hero who knows the outcome of the upcoming war and is aware of the deaths of himself and his beloved family yet must make difficult choices. For instance, perhaps he should relocate elsewhere so that the Frasers and others are nowhere near the mid December 1776 inferno, but that also means neglecting his responsibilities. Jamie, Claire, and the others are at their best when knowing what is coming, but sometimes an ethical person must choose a losing perhaps deadly position. Ms. Gabaldon is at her epic best with this powerful saga. The paragraphs above fail to even hint at the vast deep look at North Carolina on the verge of war because it is impossible to describe the scope of this work in a few paragraphs. ---Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    Oh how good it was.

    I received and advanced copy of this book and loved it! Historical detail is superb and the love story proves that Gabaldon is a multi-dimensional writer. The last book I loved this much was 'A Year Since Yesterday' by a new author George Zintel. Books like these make shutting the television off a great decision. Get them both!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Jetfrost

    She hisses. "Jetfrost?" She starts disappearing into a dark cloud as the oblivion melts away. "Never heard of her..."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 967 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 49