Customer Reviews for

A Breath of Snow and Ashes (Outlander Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1006 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(740)

4 Star

(158)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Drama

You would think that by the sixth book in the series, Gabaldon would become tiresome and the plot points would begin to repeat or continue to hit dead ends...but this is far from the truth. This book sucks you in and entrances you with answers to previous questions, con...
You would think that by the sixth book in the series, Gabaldon would become tiresome and the plot points would begin to repeat or continue to hit dead ends...but this is far from the truth. This book sucks you in and entrances you with answers to previous questions, conclusions to old problems and reemergence of old friends, as well as new questions, new problems, and new people, both good and bad who help and threaten the family that you have grown to love and root for.
This series helped me learn what love truly is. It isn't some unattainable perfect union. It's hard work. It's dirty, fascinating, intoxicating, comfortable, volcanic, and most of all it's true. Jamie and Claire fight, argue, and really get under each others skin, but at the end of the day they are there for each other and they would die for each other. They make unhesitating sacrifices for their family and are put into some odd situations. Everyone should read this series, both men and women. Claire is someone that every woman can relate to on some level. Jamie a man that most men aspire to be, and could learn from to some extent.
This book is funny, like all the others, and then will turn around and have you jumping out of your seat in the middle of the battles, then drop you like a hot potato into tears. This book has something for everyone.

posted by Bwitchd3 on March 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Repetative and dull

Does no one at the publishing house dare to edit the work of Diana Gabaldon? It is far to lengthy and repetative. I flipped through so many pages that contained no useful purpose. The concept of travelling through time is all but forgotten and therfore the suspence is s...
Does no one at the publishing house dare to edit the work of Diana Gabaldon? It is far to lengthy and repetative. I flipped through so many pages that contained no useful purpose. The concept of travelling through time is all but forgotten and therfore the suspence is simply not there. We have all become use to being subjected to gritty, sexual violance in many of todays novels. I think it's time to get back to some quality writing. I could barely bring myself to finish this book

posted by Anonymous on January 18, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1020 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 51
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    It's weird but I'm hooked....

    I started watching the Outlander series on Starz, and thought I should begin to read the books. After reading six of them, I feel it's safe to say I'm hooked. I never thought of myself as a person who read "romance novels" but somehow these are different. I got caught up in the descriptions of Scotland, the characters, and the information I gleaned about life in the 1700's. (Yeah, yeah, Claire and Jamie are hot too, but that's not enough to keep me interested for 6000 pages.) It's been a long, cold winter, and these books keep me diverted during the worst spells. Others have criticized the lack of good editors for Gabaldon, and those comments are fair, but I really didn't care. Go and enjoy yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2015

    Blaine

    Mine is kmcsnoe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book! Yes, the plot is slower than some o

    I really enjoyed this book! Yes, the plot is slower than some of the other books, but isn't that how life is lived? Events unfold, characters age and change and grow? I love the relationships that show that even true love has its ups and downs. This series is one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    Interesting.

    Enjoyed, kept my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2014

    A must read if you have read therest!

    I can't stop reading this series! I'm hooked! I don't want an unhappy ending.So don't know if I should continue. O well time will tell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    Greatest series ever!

    LOVE this series! Have read the series for the fourth time now....never do that! If you like to read...up must try this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2014

    Excellent Read

    Diana Gabaldon has done it again. The continuation of the series featuring Jaime and Claire and there arrival in America before the Revolutionary war. The historical fiction is a wonderful read. You are sure to enjoy it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2014

    Tugs at your hear strings

    Another well written book. I just love the details. Some very sad parts which left my heart aching at the end. Can;t wait to start the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2014

    Wonderful -As Expected!

    I have read all of the Outlander books up to this one. I had it in book form but finally purchased it as ebook. Diana's books are heavy! I'm only about 1/3 in but it has the wonderful writing and excitement to keep you turning the pages! So good to be back with Claire and Jamie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    A Breath of Snow and Ashes

    Another amazing book from the Outlander series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    To 1911

    So far so good :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    This is my story

    Skymist was padding towards the warrior den, ready to sleep for the night. Exhausted from a day of work, she looked around with her good eye, for her other eye went blind in a fight weeks ago. Being the most beautiful cat in the forest, the other warriors stared at her in awe, admiring her. As usual, Redfur, a really handsome cat who others also awe, offers for Skymist to sleep next to him. "Youve had a busy day, rest...", he soothed. ------Skymist woke up, in a cave with glittering crystals. "Where-where am i?",she mewed. "Youre still in your den. This is just a message from starclan through your dream. Youre dreaming.", said her mothers voice. When her mother padded into the clearing, Skymist looked at her in astonishment. "But mother, youre supposed to be dead!", she squealed. "Remember that i am, in a way. Im part of starclan now..." " Umm...momma? Whats the message?",Skymist asked. "There will be lots of blood, and red and silver will come together.", said her mother wisely. "Momma, what do you mean?!", asked Skymist. "That.....- "and everything went black. "Mom, dont go!!!!", wailed Skymist...----------Skymists eyes opened, and she realized she was back in the den. Redfur was looking at her suspicously. She flushed, embarrased because she usually talks in her sleep. "So, what did you hear from starclan?", Redfur asked. "Its my buisness, and no one needs to know!", Skymist snapped, then ran out of the den. Once outside, she noticed that it was still midnight, and as the moon shone on her silver, white spotted fur, she started to calm down. "What did momma mean? And how did Redfur know i was talking to a starclan cat?", she wondered aloud. Oh, thats right , everyone knows that my mother died before i came here. Skymist concluded, slapping her paw against her forhead. "Skymist, what are you doing out here?", Leafstar asked. Startled, Skymist looked toward the leader den, where Leafstar and her deputy, Darknight, slept. "Uhhh....g- guarding?", Skymist stammered. Leafstar looked at Skymist, studying her. "Come here, Skymist.", she said. Skymist padded over. "I know youre lying", she said gently "now tell me whats going on." "Weeellllll..... I got a message from Starclan!", Skymist said quickly. "What was it?", Leafstar asked, looking at her with her gentle green eyes. "I cant tell you....", said Skymist, looking away. "Well, maybe youll find the courage to tell me later.", said Leafstar. "Yeah, maybe.", answered Skymist. She then padded back to the warriors den, shaking her as Redfur looked at her expectingly when she laid down next to him. Closing her eyes, she knew she wouldnt sleep a wink. -----------------------------anyone who liked my story, answer back to pokemon girl. Feel free to give your opinion. If i get a lot of compliments, then Skymists adventures will continue! ~pokemon girl ;)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    To Sea

    Hi. Its me horsegirl. I had lost my nook and is just now getting coaght back up on your story. I LOVE it. You are a really good wtiter. Please post soon. Horsegirl

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    To SEA

    So if you can post Lost Soul why can you post

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    The Calm Before the Storm~40

    Sorry I've been busy. Next part at outlander series#7! This part will be in Austin's pov. ~~~~~~ The secret passage way was at the back of the cave. It was a small door that would open but you'd have to crawl through it. Simon went first, then Kara, then Amber, Nicky, Pepper, Camille, Lauren, Kolby, me, Jay, Elle, Jordan, Merida, and Jack. On the other side of the cave, it was only tunnels. It reminded me of a giant ant pile. We crawled through the tunnels for a couple hours. 2 hrs at the most. Simon seemed to know his way around. I would never gotten us this far. There were thousands of different paths leading in different directions. The tunnels would shake and loud noises would be heard either under us or above us. Camille wasn't doing so good. She was calostraphobic, so these tunnels weren't the best place for her. Things were about to get worse. We crawled for ten more minutes, when all light just disappeared. It was completely dark. Camille and Amber were whimpering loudly. Camille was breathing heavily. A green sphere of light appeared in Merida's hands." Everyone, I'm going to do a roll call. Please answer when you hear your name.", she said. While Merida did a roll call, l had a lot of questions. Who was this sorceress? Who were the spys? They kept piling up in my mind. Merida called out the last names," Kara?" No response." Kara?", Merida asked again. Still no response. Once more she called Kara's name. This time there was an answer. Kara was screaming! It came just up the tunnel. Someone was up there kidnapping Kara! And the only person it could be was Simon since he was gone also. We all crawled as fast as we could, with Merida leading the way. We followed Kara's screams. I saw light up ahead. Merida's magic sphere of light disappeared. We tumbled out of the tunnels and the light blinded us. I looked up and we were in a room of black marble. The sorceress sat on a throne of marble. I knew her name. ~~~~~ CLIFFHANGER!!! I hope you enjoyed this part. SEA

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    The Journey of Seth Part 12

    It's that time of the week again. Next part at book 7. This part is in Seth's p.o.v. On with the story! ~~~ 'Paying for my elder crimes.' The cyclop's words couldn't escape my thoughts. I was almost positive I'd never fought him before. So what could he have been talking about? I was so distracted I ran into a tree, and fell back. I looked up and Brianna and David were trying not to laugh. "Are you okay?" I got to my feet. "Yeah, I'm fine." I said as I pulled splinters out of my forehead. "I just got a little too distracted." "Maybe a knock on the head will jog your memory." David joked. I laughed a bit. If only it were that simple..... We traveled late into the night and finally stopped to rest. David volunteered to take first watch since he felt guilty about the cyclops attack. I fell asleep almost instantly. As usual I started to dream. I stood on a cliff a few feet away from the edge. A thick fog covered my view and I couldn't see well. I noticed there was someone in front of me. I couldn't see them though. Just their silhouette. Then they spoke. "You're doing well. It pains me to put this upon you, but you must complete your quest." I recognized the voice immediately. It was still the same man I'd been hearing since I got to camp. "Who are you?" The man laughed. "In good time you will learn the truth. This isn't my nature though. You forced me to swear on the River Styx to not return your memory. When you return home I will tell you everything." "Can you at least tell me who my godly parent is? Or what my powers are?" "I think you already know the answers to both of those questions. I must be going Seth." The dream dissolved and I woke up. Brianna had her arms wrapped around me. David was sitting on a nearby stump and looked back. "Haha you two are adorable." I felt my face getting red. Brianna woke up a moment later and quickly jumped up. Her face was bright red. "I'm sorry. I must've moved around when I was dreaming." "What were you dreaming about?" David asked clearly not believing her. "Not important." She said eager to change the subject. "Anyway we should get moving. We have a long day ahead of us." Nobody said anything else although David would ocassionally look at both of us and laugh. Once we were packed we set out. Brianna walked ten paces ahead of both of us. "I think I took my joking a little too far." David said a regretting it. "I think she'll be fine." "We're near a town I think we should stop and get some food." I felt my stomach rumble. I agreed. I didn't know it then, but that town would be an adventure on its own. ~~~ 1911

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Carrie to johnny

    REALLY???????? IGNORE ME MCH???????? I HATE YOU TO AND WISH YOU WERE DEAD AND THAT I NEVER MET YOU !!!!!!! YOU LYING CHEATER BURN IN HELL FOR WHAT YOU HAVE DONE!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Macey to jon

    I hate u. Im locked out of donut dollies and thats fine with me cuz i never ever ever ever wanna talk to u again u stupid cheater!!! I cant believe u jon. Never talk o me again!!!!!- macey ur new ex

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    The Best

    I've truly have enjoyed the whole series, but this has been the best in the series, although I still have the 7th and 8th to read. The dry humor in this book is a real treat, that is not to say it is a comedy. I was actually brought to tears at some of the emotional heart wrenching chapters. Jamie and Claire continue to be larger than life. Their family and friends contine to delight and surprise me. I strongly recommend the series and this book (#6) in particular as I wasn't so sure after #5 in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Jetfrost

    She hisses. "Jetfrost?" She starts disappearing into a dark cloud as the oblivion melts away. "Never heard of her..."

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1020 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 51