Customer Reviews for

Breathe

Average Rating 4.5
( 516 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(319)

4 Star

(99)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

A great read

Breathe by Abbi Glines
My Summary:

Sadie has grown up way too fast. She never knew her father, he was married to another women. From the age of eight she has run the house. Her beauty queen mother attracts the wrong kind of men and can't keep a job. There has ne...
Breathe by Abbi Glines
My Summary:

Sadie has grown up way too fast. She never knew her father, he was married to another women. From the age of eight she has run the house. Her beauty queen mother attracts the wrong kind of men and can't keep a job. There has never been time for Sadie to have a childhood. She cooks, cleans, makes sure the bills are paid and stuffs condoms into her mom's purse when she leaves for dates. It does no good though because they just moved away from another bad relationship and her mom is pregnant. Starting over on the Alabama coast is already a problem. Sadie's mom, Jessica, is struggling to go to work because of her pregnancy and Sadie has no choice but to go in her place and hope they let her fill in. Sadie is determined to keep the job for the summer. She may need more than that since young girls are never hired to work in this rich house. The house belongs to the teen rock star and heart throb, Jax Stone. Spending his summer away from touring and adoring fans, the last thing he needs is a silly teenager working in his house. But Sadie isn't a silly teenager and she is desperate for the job. She's also inherited her mother's looks but the responsibility that has been put on her has made her less outgoing. Can she stay away from the rock star and keep the job? Can he stay away from her? What happens if they don't stay away from each other?

My thoughts:

4 ½ stars - a great read

It's interesting; I can tell how much I like a book by how long my mind wants to stay in that world when I'm done reading it. So with the story of Sadie and Jax, I continued thinking about it well after I was done turning the pages. Can I just set aside the fact that this is a love at first sight book? I sometimes wonder about those books. How can anyone fall in love at first sight? Well maybe this was a lust at first sight that a relationship grew from because while they were both attracted to each other immediately a relationship developed over time. Jax has looked for a girl for a long time that drew his interest. They were all fans or celebrities. None of them interested him. Then he meets Sadie. She doesn't have his poster hanging on her bedroom wall. She doesn't know she's beautiful. I guess anyone can feel that way if they are forced to grow-up and not given the chance to be a teenager. She's never had time for friends or school activities where she might have learned that guys find her attractive. She isn't prepared for Jax Stones charm or his steel blue eyes. She isn't prepared for the way he makes her body react when he's in the room. He knows the idea of a relationship with her is a bad idea. His life of touring and the media is hard to take. He knows when he leaves in the fall, it would all be over. But neither of them can resist. So maybe you've heard that story somewhere before, but this tale has a few twists that make it unique. There's the fact that Jax isn't full of his own ego and he cares about people. There are the locals that aren't sure how to handle the rock star or the girl that works for him. There's Marcus, who would rather that Sadie loved him. There's the local press that makes things hard. There's Jessica who can't be a mom and struggles to be pregnant. There's Ms. Mary who treats Sadie like a daughter for the first time in her life. There are laughs and there are tears. I cried as I read of Sadie's heartache as her life just gets harder and h

posted by ValerieStuckInBooks on July 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

This is a must read!

I was recently traveling through Europe while reading this book. I missed much of the scenery because I couldn't put this book down. I was totally engrossed in this book. I've read many novels this year and must say this is one of my favorites. Glines is a wonderful wri...
I was recently traveling through Europe while reading this book. I missed much of the scenery because I couldn't put this book down. I was totally engrossed in this book. I've read many novels this year and must say this is one of my favorites. Glines is a wonderful writer. I think I experienced every emotion with the characters. i look forward to more books from this amazing author.

posted by SGT-B on July 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I gave this book two stars. First of all great story line but re

    I gave this book two stars. First of all great story line but really bad development. The charcters spoke like robots, and I felt like the whole flow of the story was bad. I'm going to read the sequel to this book "Because of Low" because I bought already and cant return it and hoping that it will be better than what I have read so far.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I am really surprised by the number of five star reviews for thi

    I am really surprised by the number of five star reviews for this book. It's a great idea, and I enjoyed the story, but I agree with a previous reviewer when they said that all of the characters spoke like robots. It's a good plot, but the dialogue needs a lot of work. The teenagers in this story did not talk like teenagers. They didn't talk like anyone I've ever heard, actually. It's an enjoyable story. I liked Sadie and Jax as characters, and they had some great moments. But Jax behaved like a rather idealized teenage guy, rather than an actual one. And Sadie wasn't totally realistic either. This could have been a lot better with the benefit of an agent or a stronger editor. I enjoyed it while I was reading it, but it's one of those books that leaves you with an unsatisfactory after taste. You enjoy it in the moment, but after you realize all of the flaws.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Very predictable

    Young girls would love this book not for mature reading

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Ok story, bad writing style

    Does this author not believe in contractions or something!? The characters spoke like robots and i had a hard time taking them seriously.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Spotlighted by Barnes and Noble... Why?

    Interesting premise, but many of the plot lines fell flat, or just didn't work. Where was the micro managing mother? I kept expecting the cliched mother dividing Sadie and Jax, but at least that didn't happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Good read?

    I just bought is it a good book to read?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Needs work.

    Speech lines in this book were written out instead of using the more common contraction usage in every day speaking. This is even MORE common in the deep South. We drawl and slur everything. That doesn't signify stupidity or laziness, it's just habit and culture. The author has some promise but lacks originality or maturity in her writing. The theme is very "Twilight: New Moon" when Jax leaves. While the angst of teenage love is certainly deeply felt and shouldn't ever be trivialized, it can and does pass. This is a cliche because it's true: time and distance erodes that intensity.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Frustratingly Dissapointing. Save your money.

    This book was really dissapointing. Not only is it hard to read because of how frustrated I got with the fact that Sadie had no backbone, but the dialouge is extremely corny and unrealistic. Also, Sadie comes off as completely pathetic at times. "Sorry, Marcus. I know you're completely wondeful but I'm going to sit here and be pathetic over a guy I barely know." I tried to give her some credit with having such a terrible home life, but even with that I just couldn't like her. I also couldn't understand what other people found in her that was attractive. I think people just pitied her.

    The dialouge was the most frustrating part. Everyone talked like robots. It's like when I need to meet a word count for a paper and go back to change words from "it's" to "it is".

    Also, love at first sight? Can someone tell me what was attractive about any of these characters? Marcus was the only one I liked, but I lost respect for him by how he pined for Sadie.

    Save yourself the money, there are better free books available. Like from author "Nicky Charles". I respect the dedication of the author, but this book was a miss.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Serena

    Who's Vicky Soto?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Lost in translation?

    The idea was great....was not executed as well as it could have been. The tone was a bit formal....no one....especially teenagers speak this way. A bit disturbed that teenagers could fall 'in love' so quickly. It would have been nice to discover who the inside source was that gave all the info on them to the media.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Too rushed!!!

    I was expecting a little more depth in their relationship. All I experienced was a rushed UNbelievable romance. Could have been better if the author concentrated on how their feelings developed. Read for yourself, if you dare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    OK firstly, this book isnt as interesting as all the other books

    OK firstly, this book isnt as interesting as all the other books I've read, example like Because of Low, Easy, Crash, both the vincents books, Slammed, Point of Retreats, etc (I can go on and on). Compare to all those, this book kind of disappointing because I thought it would be like those, but the more I read, the more boring it is. I was really disappointed because I was expecting it to similiar to all those books I just listed but not really..I'm up to page 385/599 and I can't seem to bring myself to continue because I already kind of figure what's the ending going to be... so bottom line is if you're looking for something similiar to those books I listed then this book is not the same as those. Anyways I do like the story, but just not really my type of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Not worth it

    The love between her and the rockstar is too quick and not realistic. Dont bother reading

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1