BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Breathe

Average Rating 4.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    New scavenger hunt

    Go to now 2 book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Great read!!!

    This book kept me hooked! I didn't want to put it down.





















    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    This is a great read! I was hooked from the first paragraph. I s

    This is a great read! I was hooked from the first paragraph. I started on it late one night and finished it early the next day! I became consumed with Jasmine and her story and definetely fell for Easton, the perfect southern gentleman! I recommend this book to anyone looking for a quick and great read that keeps you on your toes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Loved it

    Such an amazing book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Breath

    I higly recomend this book to anyone. YOU MUST READ IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Touching

    Good story weak writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    This book was incredible. I can't believe this is her first boo

    This book was incredible. I can't believe this is her first book. One can immediately relate to the characters in the book. It was fast moving and intriquing. Couldn't put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Loved the story

    Beautiful story. Well written i want an Easton for my girls! A must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    3.5. AMAZING STARTS! I truly enjoyed it! I got me right from th

    3.5. AMAZING STARTS!

    I truly enjoyed it! I got me right from the start: 
    “ Most days I can almost forget someone murdered my sister. I try to go through every day like a normal sixteen-year-old.”

    This is how the starts and I was immediately drawn to this story and to what might have happened to this girl!
    Jasmine is a sixteen year old girl, whose sister Daisy got murdered by a serial killer who was never caught.

    Her mother and siblings move from L.A. to Louisiana hoping to start a new and safe life. But things turned out to be different from what they expected. 
    Jasmine just wanted to blend in, feel like a normal girl and avoid her past. However, when she meets Easton the most handsome and popular guy at school, her world changes:

    “ But right now, I felt warm, surrounded by the most amazing smell. I was not on the ground with a goose egg on my head as usual. I opened my eyes and saw the most handsome face I’d ever seen. I thought I must still be passed out and was dreaming.”
    Easton is a truly southern boy. He is soooo polite and charming; I loved him from that first moment.  He was always a gentleman and dealt with Jasmine’s past quite good. 

    “ You are beautiful to the point where it scares me. But besides being gorgeous, you are an amazing human being, and I am so glad that you have let me into your life.”

    Just when things were looking better, her past comes down to hunt her and it is up to Jasmine to be able to protect her family and her heart.
    The plot was interesting. It combined the romance of Jasmine with Easton, an unusual couple but so perfect for each other, with a bit of mystery and suspense. The shadow of Daisy’s killer always present in their lives and when strange things start to happen, I was also scared for all of them!
    It makes you want to know what will happen next…will the killer come back again to hunt Jasmine now? Will she and Easton survive her tormented past?

    It is a wonderful story and I look forward to read more books by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    A great new YA book by Elena Dillon - 3.5 Stars! I was immediat

    A great new YA book by Elena Dillon - 3.5 Stars!

    I was immediately drawn into this story from the first page. Heck, the first line: "Most days I can almost forget someone murdered my sister." I mean, who can resist finding out what happened after that kind of opening?! 

    I liked the main character Jasmine a lot. She had an inner strength and beauty that she did not recognize. Her family is starting over in a new town on the opposite side of the country. Jas had to deal with fitting in to her new environment, going to a new school and making new friends. She had taken on a lot of responsibility for her younger brother and sister as well. Her relationship with her siblings Caedan and Lily was funny and realistic. I liked her Mother and the dynamic they had as a family - especially a family that had gone through what they have.

    Jasmine ended up falling (literally) for one of the hottest guys in school, Easton. He was a gentleman...and sweet, gorgeous and very swoon-worthy. His brother Trenton, was adorable and their entire family is large, loving and loyal. (I would hope that Dillon would explore more with these characters - as Chase and Trenton surely have stories to tell!) OK, Jas and Easton's relationship was a little on the insti-love side, but I was willing to look past it in this case and still enjoy the story. Easton was protective, honest and very understanding with Jas. 

    This book had a little of everything - the 'new girl' finding her way, good friends doing normal high school stuff, parental relationships and sibling rivalries, romance ... and a darker element of suspense and mystery involving sinister text messages, phone calls and flowers. Jasmine discovered her nightmare of the 'Monster' was also to become her reality. Could she save her family and friends? Could she save herself?

    I had not read much YA with suspense and mystery, but I did enjoy this book very much. I liked Elena Dillon's writing style and character development. I look forward to reading more from this author in the future!

    *An ARC was received in exchange for a fair and honest review.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It Left Me Breathless!

    Breathe, by Elena Dillon is an outstanding addition to YA reading! Jasmine Rourke's older sister Daisy was murdered two years ago by a serial killer who was still on the loose, haunting her family's every thought, a dark shadow in their lives. She moves with her family, going across the country to get away from the memories and the stares, but Jasmine still has panic attacks in certain situations. After fainting in a Walmart parking lot, she wakes up in the arms of the most handsome boy she has ever seen! Okay,okay, kind of embarrassing, but life takes another sharp turn for her when she finds that her Southern Knight in Jeans is the hottest guy in school and he likes her! Could things be looking up? Jasmine has told no one at school about her past, she did NOT want the label or the pity or the stares, again. When Jasmine starts getting disturbing phone calls and flowers in her locker, she just knows its Daisy’s murderer and he is after her now. Finally, it happens. He makes contact! He warns her that if she doesn’t do exactly what he wants, when he wants, everyone she loves will come to harm. What can she do? She can’t tell her mother, she can’t go to the police, it’s up to her to figure out how to catch this twisted murderer without him catching on or getting killed herself. She devises and a plan, but timing will be crucial and she will be depending on her twelve year old brother to do exactly as she tells him. Will Jasmine’s plan work? What if it doesn’t? Will the monster get away? Will there be a hero rushing to her rescue?
    What happens will keep you glued to the pages! Elena Dillon has crafted an amazing read that hooked me from page one through the excellent world-building and life-like character development to the HUGE finish! Breathe is a polished mystery/thriller with a tender love story that flows like honey! And not a vampire in sight!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Entertaining

    Its a quick read and a really good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I thought it was a great light read. Good for a work day/ middl

    I thought it was a great light read. Good for a work day/ middle of the week read. Was it the best story I have ever read? No. But it kept me on my toes and at the end, I was glad I read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed reading this book.  Very quick read - only a couple of

    I enjoyed reading this book. 
    Very quick read - only a couple of hours if you are a fast reader.
    Even though the background story is sad it was very cute book with a nice ending. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Anonymous

    Thisbook was AMAZING sooo GOOD!!!!! I would definately recomend!!! It was very intriging!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Breathe

    This is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Meh

    While the story wasnt bad the writting stylr had no lfe in it. It was very cut and dried with no emitional connection to the reader. It doesnt suck you in. Probably wouldnthave spent money on it if i had known

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Awesome

    This book was so compelling and beautiful. I would recommend this book to all my friends. It kept me suspense in the whole time, never knowing whats going to happen. THID IS A MUST READ BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Great book!

    Great story line! Kept me interested till the end! Can't wait to read more from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Awww

    Loved the characters and how pure and true their love was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5