Customer Reviews for

Breathe My Name

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Something you wont forget

    I read this boom years ago and think of it time and time again I wish I knew where I put it so I could read it again. I absolutely loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    AMAZING book, You HAVE to read it!!!!!!!!!!!!:):):):):):)

    This is an AMAZING book. It had me hooked from the very first chapter. It keeps you intersested till the very last page. It's a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    Wonderful Book!

    I absoulutley loved this book! It had me on the edge of my seat from the first chapter. And i loved how it alternated chapters of the present and the past. I recomended it to all my friends and i loaned it around. EVERYONE loves it! Wonderful book! ONe of my favorites! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh, Snap.

    Breathe My Name by R.A. Nelson is a book that captures both the present, and the past, in a way that leads the reader on the roller coaster of a lifetime. The main character, Frances, has a very troubled past. All that we are told at first is that she is adopted, and that she doesn't enjoy remembering or having anything to do with her mother. As if this wasn't enough, soon a new boy moves to town, by the name of Nix. Their friendship is forced at first. Nix is a country boy, far too raw and different for Frances's taste. However, soon enough, the two are inseparable, and seem to fall for each other in a way that is a bit more than friendly.

    One day when she comes home, Frances sees a car parked at her adopted parents' house. This car belongs to a lawyer, named Mr. Carruthers. He gives Frances a note from her real mother, who was deemed insane eleven years before. Things quickly escalate, and Frances turns to Nix, her closest friend, for help. She tells him her story-when she was younger, her mother created her own little world. This world caused her mother to be insane to such a degree that she suffocated Frances's three younger sisters, and tried to do the same to Frances. Soon after, Frances and Nix decide to go find Frances's mother, and settle things once and for all.

    Out of ten, this book is definitely a 10. It is suspenseful; it always is fast paced, and always has a turn at the beginning and end of each chapter. The author has created an intricate web of characters, plot, and back-story that come together in such a way that nobody's left bored by the time the book is over. Personally, I could read this book over and over (and never get bored) and recommend it to every teen out there, but with a warning-you're in for an awesome ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Story of a Girl with a Troubled Past

    ¿Shine is my name. When she talks about Fireless, I watch Momma¿s eyes. That is the way you tell if it¿s going to be okay. If her eyes change, that¿s when I get afraid¿I keep looking at her eyes as she crawls around in the creek. Momma is good at scaring things.¿ In R.A. Nelson¿s second novel, Breathe My Name, Frances Robinson is pulled back into her past. For Frances to go on with her life, she must confront the ghost of her past and search for closure. Frances has a new family with new parents and new siblings. When she was younger, Frances¿ birthmother smothered her three little sisters which completely tore apart her life and family. She was adopted by an Alabama family and struggles to live a normal life.<BR/> All is well until Frances is told that her mother has been released from prison. The only thing that could be worse is the letter she receives from her mother. ¿I need to see you. Please come right away. We have to finish.¿ Frances¿ normal life is interrupted, and her world is turned upside down. Old nightmares have now returned. They are consuming her everyday life as she sees her mother around her. <BR/> Nix, a new student from New Orleans enters her life and helps her through the new danger. He is outgoing, loud, and unconventional, everything that Frances is not. He opens her heart to new emotions and is an unyielding force in her life. Nix goes with her on her journey to the past and search for closure. Frances tries to figure out how her mother wants to finish things and what meets her is a suspenseful scene.<BR/> I read R.A. Nelson¿s first novel, Teach Me, and I loved it so much that I could not wait for this story to come out. There are similar themes in these two novels. Each character must confront their ghosts in order for them to go on with their lives. I always liked the way that Nelson wrote his stories, and this book is no different. Nelson exposes his readers to new experiences with his characters¿ lives, and their stories are poignant and heart-wrenching. <BR/>Nelson uses magnificent and clever writing in his tale of a troubled teen. He takes the horrible account of a mother killing her children and makes it realistic and one can feel Frances¿ pain. I fell in love with the characters in this story and it felt as though I went on the journey with them. Nelson¿s descriptions of the characters throughout the novel are precise. The characters brought out emotions in me that I did not think a book could do. This novel made me laugh, cry, and freeze with fear. <BR/>With this gripping novel, Nelson captures the reader from the start and never lets them go. Once I started to read this book, I couldn¿t put it down. I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quick and excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    Breathe My Name

    The book Breathe My Name by R.A Nelson is extremely intriguing. In this book R.A Nelson shows how important it is to take control of your life. He shows how important it is for someone to make decisions for themselves, because only that person truly knows what is best for them. We must have closure in the past, in order to move on with our lives.<BR/> Breathe My Name is a book set in Alabama. It is the story of a teenage girl named Frances, who has a haunting past. One day at school Frances runs into a new boy named Nix, who just moved to Alabama from Louisiana. Frances and Nix become close pretty fast and their relationship quickly blossoms. In the beginning of the story, Frances tells her best friend Ann Mirette that she has decided to keep her past a secret from Nix, because there is no reason why he should know. However, Frances¿s plans change when she comes home from school one afternoon and there is a lawyer by the name of Mr. Carruthers sitting at her dining room table. He explains that he has come to deliver a letter to Frances that her mother has sent to her. Frances¿ parents try to talk her out of reading the letter, because they are afraid of what it might say, and they want to protect her. However, Frances decides that she needs to read the letter. When she reads the letter she is shocked, because the letter only contains three sentences, ¿I need to see you. Come right away. We have to finish.¿ After reading the letter, Frances decides that she has to tell Nix the truth. She explains to him that when she was younger, her mother killed her three young sisters, and also tried to kill her. She also explains that since her mother went to jail and her father couldn¿t take care of her, she was adopted by her current family. Frances then tells Nix about the letter she recently received and asks him if he will go with her to find her mother. Since Frances is overprotected, they have to go find her mother secretly. Along their journey, they encounter many people and problems, such as talking to Frances¿s dad and being able to actually contact her mother.<BR/> R.A Nelson does a fantastic job of creating suspense in this novel. The letter Frances receives from her mother is suspenseful. The letter only contains three sentences and they are, ¿I need to see you. Please come right away. We have to finish.¿ These sentences are suspenseful, because they are very vague and could mean anything. Does Frances¿ mother want to start over with a new relationship or does she want to ¿finish¿ killing her? R.A Nelson also creates suspense throughout the whole novel by creating flashbacks. Throughout the book, there are numerous chapters in which Frances reflects on her childhood when she used to live with her mother and three little sisters. The flashbacks are suspenseful, because they don¿t explain a whole lot and they are very vague and almost foggy. They are just little pieces that leave the reader wondering what really happened during her childhood. He also creates urgency during the climax of the novel by using short, choppy sentences, such as ¿Do it now. Do it with your bare hands. Kill her. Set her free.¿ This creates urgency, because these are short, incomplete thoughts that help show panic in the speaker¿s voice, and also keep the reader wanting to turn the page.<BR/> I would definitely recommend this book to others. I loved this book because it was suspenseful and a quick read. It is a thrilling story any teen would enjoy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    Breathe my name....

    Breathe my name is the best book I have read in a very long time. It was scary, romantic, funny, and rivoting. It was so so great. It reminded me of "Bridge To Terebithia", although its nothing like it at all. This is one of the greatest book I have read in a long, long time.(: P.S. You'll fall in LOVE with Nix!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger, aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    Frances Robinson's story has a lot in common with several news stories in recent years. Eleven years ago, her biological mother smothered her three younger sisters, and if it hadn't been for the arrival of a total stranger, Frances might have been next. <BR/><BR/>BREATHE MY NAME picks up when Frances is eighteen and a junior in high school. She lives with her loving adoptive parents in a nice home in a nice town. She is relatively happy, but things are about to change. <BR/><BR/>First, Frances meets Nix, a new student who just moved from New Orleans. He's a bit different but strangely fascinating. As lab partners, they begin to get to know each other and share stories. But there's a story Frances can't seem to share - the story of her mother and her sisters. How do you tell someone you care about something like that? <BR/><BR/>The other change for Frances comes in the form of a letter delivered by a special messenger. It appears to be from her mother, who has been locked up for the past eleven years. She is about to be released to a group home and seems to be requesting to meet with Frances. <BR/><BR/>R. A. Nelson's BREATHE MY NAME tells the amazing story of a young girl trying to come to grips with her past and decide how to move on with the future. Readers will find themselves pulled into the lives on the pages and carried along the sometimes frightening and bumpy ride as Frances takes control of her own destiny. This book is well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2008

    really liked it.

    you'll fall in love with nix. =] and the story is just great. what else is there to say? i would definitely say this book is worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    Breathe My Name!!!

    When I first told my sister about this book she said, 'why do you read such sad books?'. What she doesnt understand is that a book like 'Breathe my name' gives a view of what other people have experienced. Now not all of us will have our mothers try to kill us but we all do experience something tragic. We relate with these characters. This book will make you shake and cry and wish you could just pick 'Shine' up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2008

    amazing

    I have read Teach Me by R.A Nelson and it had to be the best book ive ever read. So when i bought Breath My Name i was more then excited to read it. The first day I read 200 pages this book has good suspense and a loving romance. I wish Nelson would write another book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    It was amazing.

    I LOVED IT!!!! It was an easy read but very interesting too. I recommend to anybody who likes suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    This was an awesome book. it is very thrilling and brings something that rarely comes to mind life. i love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2007

    Breathe My Name

    I Loved this book!! It was very good!! It really draws you in!!! YOU Should READ THIS BOOK!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2