BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Breathing Lessons

Average Rating 3
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Much about nothing?

I find it hard to believe that the average rating is 3 stars. I found it wonderful, worthy of the Pulitzer. It's a great read about how ordinary life can seem and yet Tyler makes it blossom. I read it several years ago and it allowed me to breathe during a difficult vac...
I find it hard to believe that the average rating is 3 stars. I found it wonderful, worthy of the Pulitzer. It's a great read about how ordinary life can seem and yet Tyler makes it blossom. I read it several years ago and it allowed me to breathe during a difficult vacation when I was alone in a foreign city.

posted by CrummyVerses on February 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great gift for moms...

I find the book easy to read. It reminds me of the Audrey Hepburn movie 'Two for the Road'. However, I could not totally relate to its characters probably because of the age gap. Nevertheless, I would recommend it to my mom and aunts who are all going through mid-life c...
I find the book easy to read. It reminds me of the Audrey Hepburn movie 'Two for the Road'. However, I could not totally relate to its characters probably because of the age gap. Nevertheless, I would recommend it to my mom and aunts who are all going through mid-life crisis. oops...

posted by Anonymous on December 31, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Much about nothing?

    I find it hard to believe that the average rating is 3 stars. I found it wonderful, worthy of the Pulitzer. It's a great read about how ordinary life can seem and yet Tyler makes it blossom. I read it several years ago and it allowed me to breathe during a difficult vacation when I was alone in a foreign city.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2001

    Great gift for moms...

    I find the book easy to read. It reminds me of the Audrey Hepburn movie 'Two for the Road'. However, I could not totally relate to its characters probably because of the age gap. Nevertheless, I would recommend it to my mom and aunts who are all going through mid-life crisis. oops...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    A Book About Nothing

    Our book club read this and 4 of 5 were disappointed. I kept reading, thinking I would come to a point at the end when something profound would happen. When it didn't, all I could think was, "Why did I waste my time on that?"

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2005

    disappointing at best!

    I was highly disappointed in this book. I have read other books by this author and loved them, but as a pulitzer prize winner, I feel there were other more deserving masterpieces. If you want a decent story but not full of emotion or in-depth character development, then read this. It is light reading at its best.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2004

    Frustrating Character Study

    Breathing Lessons is a character study of an average married couple. Maggie wants what she feels is best for her family and will meddle in their lives when necessary and Ira just wants his children to grow and become respondsible adults. There are several rather humorous scenes of Maggie interfering in peoples lives. However I was frustrated by the ending of the book as neither character has changed and they will continue their lives the way they always have.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2000

    Anne Tyler did it again!

    Breathing Lessons is an extravagant novel that mostly takes place in a beat up car. Each character has it's own strange habit. Maggie and her complete opposite husband, Ira takes a road trip to an old friend funeral. It was wonderfully written, for each new book she writes gets better and better. Each scene is important because it symbolizes something that'll bring the beginning and end together. The whole book was written about one day with the characters reflecting on the past. This makes the characters more dynamic and realistic. Anne Tyler uses her own sense of writing. She comes up with catchy phrases like 'faucet coffee.' I was never bored but almost confused. It seems like she writes the novel then switches up the chapters. Sometimes I know too much or not enough. By contrasting the characters, subtle details shine through the characters, which make them more realistic. While reading, I compared the characters to me. I'm more of a nitpicker like Maggie. Ira and Maggie have a typical relationship. I'm surprise something like this could be made up. The detail that Tyler puts into her characters is unbelievable. It so unnecessary but makes it worth the while in the end. Breathing Lessons like other books I've read by Tyler entraps you in making you want to know why and what is going to happen next. If you like reading about what other families go through, or you just like an original book, then pick up Breathing Lessons. Families wouldn't be outsiders anymore.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    One of my favorite Anne Tyler books. I loved every minute of the

    One of my favorite Anne Tyler books. I loved every minute of the trip. I loved the way she describes momentary observations.She is a gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    Enjoyable

    This is an easy read with a common thread through vignettes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    A Favorite

    loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Best book

    This is a fantastic story, with charecters that you will love and care about. Very funny at times, laugh out loud funny ! One of my all time favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Not terrible, but not wonderful

    Moved along slow and steady, but left wondering what was the point. Was not thrilled with the ending - felt like it just dropped off. A friend in book club felt she related to Maggie and enjoyed it (it was also her second time to read it).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    Love it

    love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Very Good

    Always love Anne Tyler. An interesting thoughtful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Love it

    This is one of my favorite Anne Tyler books. I lent it to my sister and she gothooked on Anne tyler too

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    A disappointment

    I didn't enjoy this book as much as I had hoped even though it won the Pulitzer Prize. I read it all hoping it would get better but it just ended, no closure in my mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Vintage Tyler

    As is true of all of Anne Tyler's book, Breathing Lessons is full of engaging characters and insights about life. I've been a fan of hers for years and this book doesn't disappoint. Lorna

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2