Customer Reviews for

Breathing Room

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

To each, it's own.

If you are a person that buys or reads books on the reviews given by readers, then this is definitely not a book for you. While I am still fairly new to SEP I actually enjoyed breathing room so much so that I couldn't put it down, while the story line in a bit out there...
If you are a person that buys or reads books on the reviews given by readers, then this is definitely not a book for you. While I am still fairly new to SEP I actually enjoyed breathing room so much so that I couldn't put it down, while the story line in a bit out there in terms of what brings the characters to the current predicaments they find themselves it is a well told story, with well thought out plot development. I like good story telling that keeps me intrigued, if that's what you're looking for then this is definitely a book you'll enjoy reading. Besides, I thought the whole point of romantic fiction was to take you to another place, and that exactly what she does.

posted by Anonymous on June 5, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I just stumbled upon this author recently and have been pleasantly surprised. I loved "Match Me If You Can" as well as "This Heart of Mine" and "Natural Born Charmer". I planned on reading all of her books but this one gives me pause. I'm only half way through it and...
I just stumbled upon this author recently and have been pleasantly surprised. I loved "Match Me If You Can" as well as "This Heart of Mine" and "Natural Born Charmer". I planned on reading all of her books but this one gives me pause. I'm only half way through it and I don't think I can finish it. I don't like the hero, Ren, (very unbelievable) and Isabel just hasn't developed along with the story as far as I'm concerned. I think I'll go on to another of her books and hope for the best.

posted by Always_A_Romantic on November 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    The book worms love

    I love how this author writes her novels. Every single one has more things involved that actually tells the reader how they may deal with situations. Its not all about love, it tells you what happened in a characters life and what they have conquer in order to move forward. Another thing that i love about her books is the fact that they are helarious and they just make you want to read on and on and on until the book is done.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2007

    Worth every minute!!!!

    I just got done reading the book for the second time and I still could not put it down. I am a big SEP fan anyway, but this is one of my faves. Sure it is a bit outlandish at times (especially the ending) but that is what reading is all about in my opinion. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and have recommended it to many friends who have also really loved it!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2006

    To each, it's own.

    If you are a person that buys or reads books on the reviews given by readers, then this is definitely not a book for you. While I am still fairly new to SEP I actually enjoyed breathing room so much so that I couldn't put it down, while the story line in a bit out there in terms of what brings the characters to the current predicaments they find themselves it is a well told story, with well thought out plot development. I like good story telling that keeps me intrigued, if that's what you're looking for then this is definitely a book you'll enjoy reading. Besides, I thought the whole point of romantic fiction was to take you to another place, and that exactly what she does.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed

    I just stumbled upon this author recently and have been pleasantly surprised. I loved "Match Me If You Can" as well as "This Heart of Mine" and "Natural Born Charmer". I planned on reading all of her books but this one gives me pause. I'm only half way through it and I don't think I can finish it. I don't like the hero, Ren, (very unbelievable) and Isabel just hasn't developed along with the story as far as I'm concerned. I think I'll go on to another of her books and hope for the best.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    TOO GOOD FOR WORDS

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!! and im not lying. SEP is my fav author and this book was another one of her successes. SEP has a unique way of writting, she has an incredible way of thinking. I LOVE HER BOOKS AND I LOVE HER! you go SUSAN ELIZABETH PHILLIPS

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2005

    the worst romance i have read in a hella long time

    right so i find susan elizabeth phillips a fantastic writer but this book was absolutely terrible. the female was boring and punch-in-the-face worthy. if i could give it negative stars i would. oh and there is absolutely no plot.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2004

    COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN!

    This book was excellent! I highly recommend it. I've already read it 3 times in the past year and each time is as good as the last! The author makes you feel like you're there...almost like watching a movie. It was great.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I have read all of Susan Elizabeth Phillips books. I LOVE most

    I have read all of Susan Elizabeth Phillips books. I LOVE most of them and really like the rest....except this one. Definitely the worst, I would just skip altogether.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Not recommended at all

    I agree with one of the comments. I liked a lot "Natural Born Charmer" and I wanted to read more of this author hoping to have nice relaxing time when reading. Unfortunately "Breathing Room" gives me pause too. I could not finish this book. This romance is so plain an boring. I hope that other books can be better. This book was really bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2006

    Not much 'breathing room' in this one

    Hard for me to 'breathe' with this one, it was too awful. I had this book for a long time until I got around to reading it. This was a good thing because by now I¿ve forgotten what I paid for it so, I¿m not sure how much of a waste of money it was. Isabel¿s negative traits: self righteous, controlling, arrogant, obsessive, superior, annoying, boring, judgmental, and prissy. Those are just the ones I can think of offhand. Her positive traits: OK, let me think a minute, I'm sure there's something. She seemed to like kids? Her fiancé left her after falling in love with a frumpy older woman whom he had gotten pregnant. Her accountant ran off with her money. Her career tanked. But that didn¿t stop her from assuming she knew what was best for everyone else and telling them about it! She¿s definitely not in a position to give advice! Heal Thyself! Ren was a likeable enough guy and nowhere near the bad boy the media would have you think. He was however either stupid or masochistic or both to get involved with Isabel. What could a man like Ren possibly see in this woman? Or really any man for Pete¿s sake. And how could she appeal to a man after she dictated her list of rules for them having sex? Can¿t do this, can¿t do that, I¿m in charge, I call the shots. Can you say 'kill the mood? And what was with the last couple of chapter¿s? For awhile there I thought I¿d dozed off and woke up in another book! Castle ruins, lightning, goddess (yeah right), statues (cue dramatic music). I can highly recommend Ms. Phillip's 'Kiss An Angel' which is one of my favorite books. Also 'It Had To Be You'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2004

    Susan Elizabeth Phillips can be SO much better!

    I was dissapointed in this book. I've read nearly all of her books, and love them, but in this book her characters weren't realistic and the heroine was a woman that I don't think I could have even been friends with. Don't give up on SEP after this book though, she's a terrific writer, usually.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2003

    Very Disappointing

    I really like Susan E Phillips and I totally savored 'This Heart of Mine' - and, so I was eagerly looking forward to 'Breathing Room'. I was so disappointed!! The only thing this book did for me was make me want to book a flight to Italy. Other than that, the characters were boring, the premise was stupid, and the ending over the top. What has worked in other books (poor but beautiful woman meets bad but intelligent boy) needs an overhaul. Too bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Boom

    Just then an explosion killed them all

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Flash

    Flash tucked Lightning into her cot, and went to bed.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Cupcake

    She smiled and looked around "its very nice~"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Excellent!

    Very good, funny and uplifting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    Absolutely Hillarious

    If you're reading this book for a deep and profound romance then you'd be reading for all the wrong reasons. This book is simply good fun. It's a brilliant comedy peppered with fascinating and quirky characters and slightly off kilter stories. It has just enough content on relationships to keep it from being too silly. Ren is a character you just want to devour. The good doctor does border on annoying and smack-worthy at times but she's a perfect balance for Lorenzo's humor and sex appeal. This is just one of those books that will always makes me smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2003

    Eh

    This was my first book by this author, and I won't be seeking her out again. This book reminded me too much of a Danielle Steele novel. Characters were not realistic and neither was the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2003

    Never finished it!

    Maybe I've been spoiled by Nora Roberts books, but I am always amazed at the good reviews people give books that I did not like. This book is a perfect example. It was so corny I couldn't even finish it. I didn't particularly care what happened to the heroine because she was extremely irritating! I don't blame her boyfriend for leaving her in the beginning of the book-- I would have too! I agree with another reviewer who said the only thing the book did do is make her want to book a flight to Italy. This was my first book by this author and I doubt I will give her another try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2003

    WOW!

    Who in their right mind could actually rate this book a 2 star has got to be nuts! I have a 4 year old and a 7 year old and I found the time to finish the book in 2 1/2 days. Anyone with children knows that it must be a great book to be able to finish it in that amount of time with two little kids! I'm addicted to Susan's books. Thanks for the entertainment!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5