BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Breathless

Average Rating 3.5
( 456 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(128)

3 Star

(100)

2 Star

(61)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Why did it have to end?

I have read most of Dean Koontz's books and this is definitely at the top of my list. I couldn't put it down. His other book that had this effect was "From the Corner of His Eye." I finished both of these books feeling so fulfilled by what I had read.

posted by KristallinHeart on December 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

a BANG of a concept delivered with a barely audible thud.

There are too many story lines to keep the reader interested and they never come together with much of an impact. When the book is finally over, you may end up thinking, "hmm, that's kind of an interesting concept", but you're more likely to regret wasting your time. ...
There are too many story lines to keep the reader interested and they never come together with much of an impact. When the book is finally over, you may end up thinking, "hmm, that's kind of an interesting concept", but you're more likely to regret wasting your time. I would have stopped in the middle of it, but since I've read all of Koontz's books, I figured I might as well finish it. It falls far short of his talent. Better than "Your heart belongs to me" (which was a painful read), but not by much. I'm such a fan of his that I kind of feel bad for him.
If you want the real Koontz, read "Life Expectancy", "One Door Away From Heaven", "Cold Fire", "The Good Guy", "Dark Rivers of the Heart", "Watchers", "Intensity", or the "Frankenstein series". Those were Koontz at his best.

posted by _Bryan_ on January 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 459 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a BANG of a concept delivered with a barely audible thud.

    There are too many story lines to keep the reader interested and they never come together with much of an impact. When the book is finally over, you may end up thinking, "hmm, that's kind of an interesting concept", but you're more likely to regret wasting your time. I would have stopped in the middle of it, but since I've read all of Koontz's books, I figured I might as well finish it. It falls far short of his talent. Better than "Your heart belongs to me" (which was a painful read), but not by much. I'm such a fan of his that I kind of feel bad for him.
    If you want the real Koontz, read "Life Expectancy", "One Door Away From Heaven", "Cold Fire", "The Good Guy", "Dark Rivers of the Heart", "Watchers", "Intensity", or the "Frankenstein series". Those were Koontz at his best.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Why did it have to end?

    I have read most of Dean Koontz's books and this is definitely at the top of my list. I couldn't put it down. His other book that had this effect was "From the Corner of His Eye." I finished both of these books feeling so fulfilled by what I had read.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    What is going on with Koontz?

    I used to love Koontz. Many reviewers have already mentioned the loose parallel stories/characters in Breathless, who are shallowly developed (sadly,they could all be compelling characters), so much so, I feel like I am reading a collection of short stories that go pretty much nowhere. But what really troubles me - having also recently been disappointed with the final edition of the Frankenstein trilogy (liked the first two) is that I feel Koontz is trading character and plot developement for "in your face" moral preaching and constant (and I mean constant) moral/philosophical judgement. It's getting old. Animals are wonderful and good. People? Not so much - with some exceptions. Some are ok: those who have had terrible wounds in life, if they don't dwell on their victimhood, march on in life like good soldiers and especially if they don't seek therapy or self reflect on their lives. They must be relatively poor or uninterested in money, somewhat isolationist, hate politcs/politicians/power and focus intently on their ever so fulfilling jobs (like fry cook,carpenter or vet). His characters have become stereotyped and lacking in dimension and depth (oh-that's right- he abhors depth) - after all - one need only to work with thier hands, not think very much (especially about oneself),have a wonderful dog,love nature and, oh! I almost forgot - good people will have many moments of intuition saving them or at least givng them great insights into the world. Everyone else??? Enuf said. He outlines good charaters and plot - then leaves them to start his preachiness - Koontz- go back to develping your characters and plot and let them reveal your moral/philosophies in more subtle ways. Koontz - trust your readers to get it. I don't need you to actually tell me - "power; bad!" I'm so sorry to say this - but at this point - I feel like Koontz books have become very junior league personal observations on the corruption of life (Rousseau's Noble Savage. . .) - rather than good reads. I may just have to give up on him. Sigh!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dean Koontz Light-Yet Again!

    I just finished Breathless which I had been looking forward to based on the plot. After reading his last book, Relentless which I felt was a disappointment I was hoping that in this book he would take the time to develop the characters and the storyline. Mr. Koontz had a wonderful premise for a story and as he has been doing lately he dropped the ball big time. I felt that he ended the book way before he could have given his readers an opportunity to get to really know the new species and the main characters. I felt like he just wanted to finish the book and move on to another book. It is unfortunate because this book could have been one of the best stories he has ever written rather than what felt like a short story.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Clues to Life

    "In the stillness of a golden September afternoon, deep in the wilderness of the Rockies, a solitary craftsman, Grady Adams, and his magnificent Irish wolfhound Merlin step from shadow into light.and into an encounter with enchantment. That night, through the trees, under the moon, a pair of singular animals will watch Grady's isolated home, waiting to make their approach."

    Dean Koontz doesn't just entertain with written words, he writes novels of great importance, entreating us to be aware of the madness in our world and rise above it. BREATHLESS is a wonderful story about the power of good and light in a world full of darkness. Characters are presented with the opportunity to accept something so amazingly pure, it will change their lives forever. Some characters grasp that opportunity, which leads to healing and restoration. Some resist, despite the miraculous existence of the event in the first place, and their lives remain in the dark. It's interesting to consider the justification given by the characters that refuse to accept the peace-breathing event in the story.

    No one is better than Koontz at infusing stories with animals, and in many cases these animals play significant roles. BREATHLESS is one of these stories. Animal lovers will take great joy in recognizing the importance the animals have in this story.

    This is a novel that could have easily been twice the length and still retain reader interest and enjoyment. There are multiple plot threads that leave you wondering as you're reading how Koontz will be able to bring them all together. This leads me to my only complaint about the book-I didn't want it to end. The ending was certainly no disappointment, and it didn't feel too short; I just wanted the story to keep going.

    "In a novel that is at once wholly of our time and timeless, fearless and funny, Dean Koontz takes readers into the moment between one turn of the world and the next, across the border between knowing and mystery."

    Life is indeed a mystery. And a mystery we are unlikely to ever solve. But there are clues that will help us have a more peaceful life which we'll see if we simply take a moment and open our eyes. Koontz tells us about a few of these clues: hope, perseverance, selflessness. while at the same time telling us a story that takes us out of the everyday and entertains.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Koontz not at his best.

    I have read over 50 Koontz books, and have enjoyed them all, as I did enjoy Breathless, however, for Dean Koontz it fell short of my expectations. It ties about five or six stories together, but it alsmost seems like too many short seperate stories to really get intrested in this book as I have in other Dean Koontz books. The ending seemed like it was just "loose" it didnt close the story off well at all. Its worth the read if your a die-hard Koontz fan the way that I am, but if your just looking for a random book to read this summer, might want to skip over this one.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    Ebook Price Change!

    When I put this book on my Wish List it was $9.99 now it is $14.99. I will not pay that. I purchased this hardcopy for my daughter at a price of $19.99, in November. I don't have the pretty color pages on the front, so why am I being asked to pay for it. Just because Apple came into the playing field does not give Barnes & Noble the right to stick it to us as customers. It is a electronic copy for goodness sake.

    As far as I'm concerned, Barnes & Noble has advertised their eBooks at $9.99 and should honor that. If eBook prices rise, I will stop buying eBooks, put my Nook on eBay and return to the public library. I do own a library card. At the library I can see the color of the cover, view any available photos in color not black and white, and I can do all of this for the wonderful price of $0.00.

    While the Nook presents a wonderful reading experience it is one I chose to use because of the ability to take my library on planes, trains and automobiles, BUT there is still wonder in turning the actual pages of a book. Barnes and Noble should not think for one moment that as wonderful as it may be to have all of your library with you, readers are going to pay ridiculous prices simply because they are trying to make a buck and compete with Apple. The best way for B&N to compete with Apple is leave it as it is. As a consumer, I will choose B&N anytime over a restricted set of material that I can only use on one platform.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Animal lovers will especially relish Dean Koontz's latest thriller

    After being a military sniper, Grady Adams lives in an isolated part of the Rockies where he works as a craftssman. One day in the forest he sees a strange light and knows musingly nothing will be the same. Grady observes two white creatures playing and knows they sense his nearness somehow. Frightened by what he has seen, he and his Irish Wolfhound Merlin race home. ----------------

    At the same time on a horse farm, veterinarian Dr. Camilla Rivers is shook by what she sees. All the horses seem in some sort of trance as if they sense something big is coming.---------

    Grady calls Cammy to come over to his house to look at something strange. The two creatures he saw in the woods make themselves at home in his cabin as Grady is entranced by them as they seem beautiful, pristine and pure. Cammy arrives and knows they are a different species. They name the pair Puzzle and Riddle. However Homeland Security learns of the existence of the due and come to confiscate them in order to test them. Conny and Grady refuse to allow the rendition of the odd pair, but remain unsure how to prevent it.-----------

    Animal lovers will especially relish Dean Koontz's latest thriller that insists evil must be dealt with and can come in various forms; just because something new and different is found does not make them malevolent. Instead something familiar can be the wicked and those with ethics will step up to prevent the heinous from inheriting the earth. The creatures slowly reveal who they are to their adopted human pets, which makes Grady and Cammy even more resolute to keep them safe. With plenty of mysteries at the core of the exciting story line, Dean Koontz is at his best with this thought provoking thriller as the monstrosities are not always obvious.--------------

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    It is Trash

    I was a big fan of Dean Koontz,I never thought I'd say this about any of his books, but the writing, the plot, ect. make no sense. I wish i could send it back to the WRITER. Mabe he didn't write it. I just don't know how this got published.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Will Takes Your Breath Away

    With less than a week away before its official release I wanted to give The Eerie Coterie readers a quick review of the new Dean Koontz novel - Breathless. Over his long career Koontz has been genre-bending every novel; mixes of sci-fi, romance, adventure and suspense - with touches of humor. In this latest thriller he does it again, but on a wider scale. It reads like one of his thrill rides (Velocity, Intensity, The Good Guy) and yet is full of the literary surprises that came with is more robust tales (From the Corner of His Eye, One Door Away From Heaven). Of course it features a canine character which is as much a trademark for Koontz as transvestites and bears are for John Irving. Without giving more away than the jacket description, I believe his fans will devour this tale like all his others, and new readers to his work will fall in live with his writing style and his sense of humanity and humor. I can't wait to see its release!!



    The Eerie Coterie is a website devoted to Dean Koontz and The Nobody of The Coterie hopes you will visit us and take a look around. The site will celebrate its 1 year anniversary and welcomes new readers. The website is http://eerie-coterie.blogspot.com/



    The Nobody

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Very Disappointing!

    I felt the story lacked depth, and excitement, which is unusual for Dean Koontz. He did include different characters and their stories woven throughout the main story, but they seemed incomplete. I had thought it would get better as I kept reading, but it didn't. I was surprised at where the book ended, it left me feeling empty. Wow, what a 'let-down'!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    A nice story, could/should have been longer.

    I have read most of Dean Koontz's books, and bought this one based on past book experiences. It was a good book, but a bit short. I think it is better as a short story. I wish it had been longer, and that he would have developed the story beyond the ending. The ending was not a bad one, but it should have continued for a few more chapters.

    An interesting read, but not among the best of Koontz's books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    BOOOOOOORING!!!

    I dislike books where a fantasy creature is created and the author sets about admiring it ad nauseum thru various characters' eyes. This book was totally boring except for the last 1/4 or so where a story plot occurred, except for some very interesting little subplots, which however were all brought to their ends abruptly. The one thing I really liked was the two pages of a probability mathematician's view that Darwinian evolution is impossible due to the billions of mutations necessary for even a simple species to change into another species (more time needed than the age of the universe) and the inadequacy of the fossil record to substantiate evolution.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    Disappointing Dean Koontz Book

    I have read many of his books, and l have enjoyed most. This novel has to be one of his worst. It started out promising, then he totally blows it. He had way too many characters, with no real depth to them. The story goes back and forth. You hope for something to happened, and it never does. I am very disappointed and sorry I spent the money.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    Koontz phones it in....

    I've never been a huge Koontz fan (although I do dig the Odd Thomas books). His stories never quite seem to gel for me, and he doesn't often have the ability to make me buy into an otherwise preposterous plot the way a King or a Dan Simmons can. "Breathless", however, is just plain bad. It might as well be titled "Dean Koontz's Endorsement of Intelligent Design in (barely) 300 pages". Koontz uses chapters that are rarely longer than four or five pages, and constantly jumps back and forth from character to character. Character development is wafer thin. These are the signs of a writer who has become lazy and complacent. Koontz has obviously fallen in love w/Intelligent Design as much as he has with dogs. Good for him. Not good for anyone looking for a good horror/thriller novel. Skip this one folks.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    I second What???? A complete waste of my time.

    This book was total garbage. It had way too many charaters and too many story lines to keep up. I'm a avid reader, who could breeze thru most books. This one was so badly written that it took me 2 weeks as I dreaded picking it up. I love Dean Koontz, but after this horrible read it will be a long day in you know what before I pick up another one of his books. It was total babble, maybe he had way too much of something and couldn't focus. Anyone that says this is a good book should have their head exaimed. As for me I'm going to take 2 advils and thank the stars that I've finally finished this horrible book. Dont' bother with the story line as some of you usually write, it's not worth the effort. Those that do this, it's sad you cannot be original, sadly it's the best you can do, by copywriting what's already there in black and white.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    Disappointed

    I usually love Dean Koontz' books. I usually finish the book wishing it wasn't done yet. But not this one. There were too many people that had no connection until the end. The book did keep me intrigued waiting to find out what was going to happen. The end was disappointing, after reading the whole book.....and finding everybody's connection....nothing. I felt like I ready a whole book of "background" information leading up to nothing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    Disappointing to say the least

    I wanted to like this book, Mr Koontz' earlier works (much earlier) have been great reads. I swear now he is just pumping out crap to make money. His over the top descriptions of seemingly mundane things like a forrest or a beach become tedious at best and in the end (chapter) there is no payoff in terms of the story. He began several plot lines that just died on the vine, i.e what were the reasons for Tom Bigger's behavior ?? Even worst are the inexplicable bouts of excessive emotions attributed to characters without any decent explaination for the reader. For example: when two scientist meet Puzzle and Riddle one starts crying and the other starts babbling. We are just expected to go along with this because Mr Kootnz has become too intellectualy lazy to at least give us a reason why these emotions were invoked. Actually that pretty much sums up the plot(s) of this entire book, unexplained happenings with what has to be the worst ending of a novel ever!! I thought it could not get any worse after Your Heart Belongs to Me but I was wrong, so very wrong.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding

    I rarely have a chance to read a book straight through but this one I had to. Seemingly unconnected characters are thrown at you in stark and intriguing ways. The hope of mankind is eternal and this book is a very very interesting take on that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    What the . . . ?

    Duh - what???
    Waste of time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 459 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23