Customer Reviews for

Breathless

Average Rating 3.5
( 456 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(128)

3 Star

(100)

2 Star

(61)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Why did it have to end?

I have read most of Dean Koontz's books and this is definitely at the top of my list. I couldn't put it down. His other book that had this effect was "From the Corner of His Eye." I finished both of these books feeling so fulfilled by what I had read.

posted by KristallinHeart on December 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

a BANG of a concept delivered with a barely audible thud.

There are too many story lines to keep the reader interested and they never come together with much of an impact. When the book is finally over, you may end up thinking, "hmm, that's kind of an interesting concept", but you're more likely to regret wasting your time. ...
There are too many story lines to keep the reader interested and they never come together with much of an impact. When the book is finally over, you may end up thinking, "hmm, that's kind of an interesting concept", but you're more likely to regret wasting your time. I would have stopped in the middle of it, but since I've read all of Koontz's books, I figured I might as well finish it. It falls far short of his talent. Better than "Your heart belongs to me" (which was a painful read), but not by much. I'm such a fan of his that I kind of feel bad for him.
If you want the real Koontz, read "Life Expectancy", "One Door Away From Heaven", "Cold Fire", "The Good Guy", "Dark Rivers of the Heart", "Watchers", "Intensity", or the "Frankenstein series". Those were Koontz at his best.

posted by _Bryan_ on January 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Koontz not at his best.

    I have read over 50 Koontz books, and have enjoyed them all, as I did enjoy Breathless, however, for Dean Koontz it fell short of my expectations. It ties about five or six stories together, but it alsmost seems like too many short seperate stories to really get intrested in this book as I have in other Dean Koontz books. The ending seemed like it was just "loose" it didnt close the story off well at all. Its worth the read if your a die-hard Koontz fan the way that I am, but if your just looking for a random book to read this summer, might want to skip over this one.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    A nice story, could/should have been longer.

    I have read most of Dean Koontz's books, and bought this one based on past book experiences. It was a good book, but a bit short. I think it is better as a short story. I wish it had been longer, and that he would have developed the story beyond the ending. The ending was not a bad one, but it should have continued for a few more chapters.

    An interesting read, but not among the best of Koontz's books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    Disappointed

    I usually love Dean Koontz' books. I usually finish the book wishing it wasn't done yet. But not this one. There were too many people that had no connection until the end. The book did keep me intrigued waiting to find out what was going to happen. The end was disappointing, after reading the whole book.....and finding everybody's connection....nothing. I felt like I ready a whole book of "background" information leading up to nothing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It seems a little to fast

    All the flipping back and forth in the novel from persons to persons is just kind of messy. The book is little unorganized i see there's something below the surface.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Good Read

    As a Koontz fan this is an okay book. It was slow at first but the story picked up midway only to leave the reader with an abrubt ending. I love reading Koontz's books and have yet to find one I didn't like but I must admit this one disappointed. By the end of the book I was clinging on to every sentence, enthralled in the story and then... it ended with an abrupt ending falling short of what it potentially could have been. It's a good read don't get me wrong, but if you are a Koontz fan be prepared to be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    pretty good

    it is not riviting but keeps you interested

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed!!!

    I have been a fan of Koontz for many years and have enjoyed all of his books - until now. Unless there will be a sequel, I'm not exactly sure why they realeased this one. It seemed that the majority of the book led up to the discovery of this new species, but we're never told anything more. I read this in e-format on my Nook and it appeared that there were about 20 more pages to be read, which I assumed would wrap things up and explain a lot of things. However, it simply ended, leaving me confused and full of questions (The remaining pages were the preview of another book). I'm glad I waited and borrowed this one from the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    Good book, just not long enough

    Wonderful book. Only problem is that is seems like Koontz had 10 pages left on the book contract and said "'oh my goodneess, I'd better wrap this up". The separate storylines could have been tied in better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sci-Fi feel

    While weaving multiple stories of various characters in this book, it has a very sci-fi feel to it. I found it a bit confusing with so many characters and was hoping in the end they would all come together in some way. However, I failed to make some of the connections if they were there. Could be because there were so many different ones. Was similar to the movie Crash. The story was interesting and kept my curiousity and had a slight spooky feel to it at times.

    The only thing like I said I almost needed to get a note pad and start a list to track the stories and people involved to see if there were connections.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    Recluse Grady Adams and his Irish wolfhound Merlin spot two white, unidentifiable animals while on a walk one afternoon. That evening, the two animals make their presence known and Grady calls his good friend, veterinarian Camillia Rivers. Camillia is fascinated by the animals, who show distinct human characteristics, but can find no record of such species. When she calls two former colleagues, she puts in motion a series of events that could lead to the destruction of the two friendly animals. Homeland Security shows up, declaring the two could be a threat to national security, and Grady and Camillia fear for their safety, unaware more animals of like nature have appeared across the globe and strange things are happening around them. This standalone is hard to classify as to genre, enveloping a bit of most into its content. The plot moves along at a fast pace, offering suspenseful scenarios and a mystical feel. Koontz's usual characters are evident: man, woman and dog, each involved in a suspenseful plot, and all well developed and essential to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    Perhaps not his best but still worth reading.

    I always enjoy reading books by Dean Koontz. Breathless was no different; however, the ending was a bit anticlimatic. Still worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    Huh?

    I finished Breathless a few days ago and am still finding it hard to figure out the words to express how I feel about this book. While I did find it hard to put down, I do believe it was disappointing and slightly disjointed. I like the idea of having multiple characters with a connection to the main plot but I don't feel like this one flowed very well. I think I have more questions at the end of the book then I did at any other point during reading it. I think I actually said "huh?" outloud when I finished. I am rather dissatisfied but will continue to read his work as he has done so well in the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not as good as most of his books

    I have read Dean Koontz books for many years and enjoyed 99% of his books. This is one of the 1% that just "didn't get the job done" for me. It started out good but to me it seemed that the story really had no ending or no explanation. As usual, his characters were fun and exciting and each had a personality of their own but the plot was very lacking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    Wish it was as long as Stephen King's "Dome"

    Way too short! I could have read on and on. He really could have expanded on so many things. The last one-fifth of the book was a letdown. I am a huge Dean Koontz fan, but this seems as though it was written in a couple of weeks. Darnit! I feel like there should be a huge sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    Compelling but biased

    I love Mr. Koontz's writing--it captures and keeps you involved.

    However, I did not care for his glib conclusions dismissing evolution as impossible on a simple math formula with a priori stats. It did peak my interest as I hadn't run across this particular objection to evolution. I've looked it up online and ran into this quote that sums it up sans going into details (provided further in the article):

    "I get a little angry when people seem to be implying that evolution is casually refutable and was refuted (by a professor of electrical engineering?) decades ago. Do they really think that two decades of bright, dedicated biologists would stick to a theory that this kind of argument could refute?" --Jim Meritt

    This is to be found at http://www.talkorigins.org/faqs/faq-meritt/science.html#rift

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5