Customer Reviews for

Breathless (Blue Fire Saga #1)

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Looking forward to the next book......

Breathless was a truly enjoyable read. Filled with passion and suspense, Breathless puts a unique new slant on the vampire world. The story contains several underlying mysteries and very likeable characters. I can't wait to read more about Leesa, Rave, Cali and the rest...
Breathless was a truly enjoyable read. Filled with passion and suspense, Breathless puts a unique new slant on the vampire world. The story contains several underlying mysteries and very likeable characters. I can't wait to read more about Leesa, Rave, Cali and the rest...

posted by Cheryl_Gillespie1 on May 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Grammarianed

Before I begin my rage-fueled grammarian rant, I must point out that I truly enjoyed the plot of this book. Tantilizing mystery, romance, and the supernatural - what's not to love? However, I strongly advise someone - anyone, really - to hunt down the editor of this boo...
Before I begin my rage-fueled grammarian rant, I must point out that I truly enjoyed the plot of this book. Tantilizing mystery, romance, and the supernatural - what's not to love? However, I strongly advise someone - anyone, really - to hunt down the editor of this book, shoot him in the foot, and repeatedly beat him with an eighth-grade grammar book. Violently, if it isn't too much to ask. The improper use of tenses left me wishing I could jump out a fifth-story window and hurl myself into oncoming traffic. The use of the *word*, if you will, "cuz" made my eyeballs bleed fire and my heart break at the utter lack of respect for the English language. In reading this book, I found myself glad it was an e-book, for, had it not been, I would've been forced to do what any good, God-fearing American would've done, and broken out the proofreading marks.

posted by 4248287 on December 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Looking forward to the next book......

    Breathless was a truly enjoyable read. Filled with passion and suspense, Breathless puts a unique new slant on the vampire world. The story contains several underlying mysteries and very likeable characters. I can't wait to read more about Leesa, Rave, Cali and the rest...

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A fanged vampire, vampire hunter who¿s kisses can be deadly, a b

    A fanged vampire, vampire hunter who’s kisses can be deadly, a brooding vampire, a missing brother, Oh my!

    It all started with Leesa’s mother whose walk in the woods would turn out changing her whole life and the ones around her. Exiting the woods with a bite on her neck and saying a one fanged vampire attacked her. After that Leesa’s mother was never the same, eating or drinking only red and staying out of direct sunlight. With her mother believing in vampires, Leesa is fascinated with them as well, but believing in them is a different story. Was Leesa’s mother crazy, or did that day in the woods really happen? Soon Leesa will find out just what her mother was always talking about.

    Leesa a college freshman who has a slight handicap, with one leg shorter than the other, but her handicap doesn’t stop her from what she wants to do. Leesa is a beautiful girl, who is on the mission to find her missing older brother Bradley. With just a note, saying not to come looking for him Leesa can’t leave it at that and has to find out what is going on with her brother and where he is. This isn’t like him.

    While on the search for Bradley, Leesa’s whole world opens up to new things, only things that she read in books or seen in movies.

    Meeting Rave, would change everything Leesa has known and believed in. Rave is a handsome boy, who lives on the edge of town and with rumors of him being in a cult. Soon Leesa falls for Rave and finds out what he really is. Rave is a Vampire hunter, a Volkaane who goes after vampires, their mortal enemy and kills them with internal fire, and can destroy everything around them in the process.

    Finding out what Rave really is, Leesa takes it in stride and falls for Rave. But, she can’t help but wonder why her boyfriend won’t kiss her. He is her boyfriend and they do like/love each other, so why won’t he kiss her? She will soon find out because with one kiss, Rave could kill her.

    With having a boyfriend who is a vampire hunter, befriending a vampire probably isn’t the best decision, but she needs his help. Will Stefan help her and can both guys not kill each other?

    With having to fight vampires and challenges due to Rave’s internal fire, trying to find her missing Brother Bradley. Leesa has to decide between love, saving her Bradley and herself. Leesa has to make a decision that could change her life as she knows it. Will she or wont she do it?

    You will have to read Breathless to find out all these questions and go on Leesa’s adventure. In the end will Leesa be a vampire herself? YES YOU JUST HAVE TO READ TO FIND OUT :)

    Breathless was such an amazing read and it kept me captivated and wanting to hurry up and find out what was going on and get to the end. There is a lot of twist and turns that a great book needs to keep their readers wanting more and to keep you turning your pages. All the characters are likeable and well created. Breathless isn’t like your other typical vampire stories, and I really enjoyed that fact. The story will make you laugh as well! I loved the fact that Leesa wasn’t like every girl in every book you read, yes she is beautiful, but she has a slight handicap, she’s not this flawless character. I’ve heard of Scott Prussing from Facebook, but hadn’t got the chance to read his book, even though it has been on my to be read list for a while and I’m so glad I finally got to read it. It was a breath of fresh air and I’m so excited that there are so many more books after this one. YAY! This is defiantly a book I would recommend to my friends and others. And I absolutely give it 5 HUGE STARS!!!!

    Quotes from Breathless:

    “Don’t worry, I’m not into girls, if that’s what you’re talking about, I like guys way too much.”-Cali

    “Even if you two get past me, I’ll just throw myself into your fight. I know neither of you want me to get hurt, so you may as well forget about fighting. Do I make myself clear?”- Leesa

    “Ha! A horse and carriage, maybe. Or a beautiful girl, whichever comes along first.”-Rave

    “I love you, Rave.”-Leesa

    “I was afraid you’d think I was crazy. ‘My mom was bitten by a one-fanged vampire’ or ‘by the way, I think I met a vampire at the frat party tonight’ isn’t the best way to start off a friendship.”-Leesa

    “Sexy works for me. I’m always happy to keep an eye out for sexy.”-Cali

    “Oh, Leesa. How can I do that? How can I kill the girl I love?”-Rave

    “So I guess you can say we owe it all to ol’ one-fang.”-Leesa

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    Great series by a great author!

    Breathless is a must read! Scott Prussing's writing pulls you in and makes you feel like your a part of the story. His characters are unique and interesting. The whole Blue Fire Saga is amazing! I strongly suggest it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Intriguing Vampire Romance book!

    I truely fell in love withBreathless! It captivated my attention from the beginning through the end. I found it really hard to put the book down...drat having to go to sleep and get ready for work.
    You know you have a good book when you hope the day goes quick so you can escape to continue reading more.
    I would definatelyrecommend reading this book! You won't be dissapointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Great Read!

    I LOVED this book. It has deep, intriguing characters that keep you completely interested. Plus, an awesome plot with a few new "vampire issues" to deal with. I cannot wait to start book 2!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Breathless is the first in a series of Blue Fire Saga Series.  A

    Breathless is the first in a series of Blue Fire Saga Series.  A delightfully written paranormal romance set in the northeastern United States. I found the descriptions of the settings striking. Scott has created a visual tapestry that pulls you into the story. It was delightful to remember college days, walking the quad and the frat parties, as the college girls explored their new lifestyles. 
    I enjoyed the paranormal world opening and discovering ‘new species’ that I’d never heard of before. Leesa, Rave and Stephan created an interesting love triangle and the development of the story pitted them in several no win situations. 
    By the end of the story my heart was breaking and I really did tear up because I really cared about the decisions that were being made. It made me realize that I really did become engrossed in the characters. It takes a talented author to weave a story in a way that will pull you in and make you care. An excellent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    A wonderful surprise!

    Our Review:
    Let me start by saying that I purposely didn’t read the synopsis of this book before I started it. I try not to do that as a general rule, since I don’t want anything influencing my thoughts and expectations.
    Let me also be honest and say that I was apprehensive to even start it—a paranormal romance said to straddle the line between YA and Adult written by a dude—yeah, just wasn’t sure what to expect.
    However, let me finish by saying that Breathless was fantastic! A unique, creative, fresh approach to the vampire genre that we’ve all come to know and love, but with characters that are NOT from your ordinary Supe Groups or perfection personified and who wrap you around their little fingers just pages after you meet.
    As I continued to read I got more and more lost in the story and the vivid imagery that Scott weaves for his readers, and couldn’t wait to have another spare moment to pick up my Kindle and continue on. Where some authors just don’t know where to draw the line between too much and too little descriptive imagery and character building, Scott has it down to a science and gives you enough to clearly picture the scene realistically, but not so much that the reader suffocates and forgets what they were reading about in the first place. The pop culture references kept the story incredibly current, the wit was finely crafted and distinctly placed, the romance tender and believable [even in a Fantasy setting], and I can’t think of one point in the story where my mind wandered and I found myself wishing “oh if only he’d have done…”.
    All in all, I am SO glad that pushed aside my apprehensions to read and review this book, and while yes, it was a lot like Twilight, it also wasn’t. Breathless is its own beautiful beast and deserves to be judged on its merit alone and not against something whose name alone elicits preconceived notions.

    LITERAL ADDICTION Paranormal Book Club gives Breathless 4 ½ Skulls.
    We definitely recommend it for Young Adult readers, but also to anyone looking for a light paranormal breath of fresh air. We’re looking forward to what Scott brings us with book #2 of the Blue Flame saga.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    Breathless!

    I loved reading this from the start. I am stuck in a place away from my home in a "lush" New England birthplace and found joy in the full and so accurate description of Connecticut. The new and exciting story was wonderful also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2014

    Very good book

    I really enjoyed this book. The devotion of a young girl to her family & the lengths she is willing to go to save & defend them. Young innocent love & intrigue to keep the story going

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    I never heard of Scott Prussing until a friend of mine suggested

    I never heard of Scott Prussing until a friend of mine suggested that I read one of his books...I am really glad that she did....because I fell for this book hook, line and sinker....And might I say who doesn't love vampires....At first the book started a little slow but I continued to read I fell in love with Leesa and her determination to find her brother...With everything that was going on in her life , she also meet Rave a person that you might say was the love of her life but also knew that she couldn't have him because he was a vampire hunter and of course she also meet a vampire that wanted her.......Scott sure know how to put a twist to a story....For those of you that have not read this story please do, because you will also fall in love....In my book it is a must read, especially if your into the paranormal....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Breathless.....left me ... well Breathless! This is such an amaz

    Breathless.....left me ... well Breathless! This is such an amazing read! I'm a huge twilight fan and vampires are a part of my list of literature that I love. I had the opportunity to read this book and I really enjoyed it. I loved his take on vampires and vampire hunters this was very different than your commonplace vampire story. The one toothed gratham was also super interesting. Scott is a master storyteller and paints a beautiful picture in your mind of his characters and of the places they interact. I loved the main character Lisa she was so amazing, flawed yet beautiful. I also have a soft spot for Callie she is so perky and loveable! I cried during the final confrontational scene. I don't want to spoil it other than to say WELL DONE! I love this story and I will be reading the rest of the series for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Breathless fron this dick

    Its true gets bigger

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Snapchatters click here!!

    My snapchat is halo_prncs. Im 12 about to be 13 in a day and a girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    This was an intriguing take on a supernatural romance! A unique

    This was an intriguing take on a supernatural romance! A unique cast of supernaturals draws you in with plenty suspense to keep you wanting more. If you are a fan of supernatural romance you must read this unique take, Prussing's world is wonderful and addicting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    AMAZING! I loved this first book! I found it very hard to put i

    AMAZING!

    I loved this first book! I found it very hard to put it down & I can truly say that since then the following books have been just as amazing! Book one begins with a journey that Leesa's mother travels into the woods where she is bitten by a one fang vampire! Her mother starts acting weird afterwards never going outside any longer! Lessa & her brother Bradley do not seem to quiet believe her though. Can you blame them? Afterwards Bradley leaves for college where he becomes a feeder sadly to a vampire thus leading to Lessa hating the fact that she no longers hears from her brother. It makes her up & move to where he went to college at trying to find him! Little does she know she will meet many people one whom becomes her best friend who is human, a vampire named Stefan, & of course the one guy who holds her heart Rave whom happens to be a volkayne..If you want to know more about these characters I highly suggest you read the books :) A lot unfolds during book one & it truly leaves you wanting more as it ends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Awsome!!!!!

    The story was so good!!! The plot was amazing and the romance was wonderfull..... te beginning was a little confusing at first but as i got more and more into it it became more enjoyable... im so glad that i took the time to read this book and hope that i am able to read more books like it!!!!!!!! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Good read

    I really enjoyed this book....kinda reminded me of twilight...if she had chose the other guy :) good read..good ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Love to read

    I was hooked after the first page. I can't wait to read the other books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Highly enjoyable

    The story is entertaining and the characters very likeable. It keeps a good pace and entices the reader through the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Good book!

    Check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3