BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Breathless: Book One of the Jason and Azazel Trilogy

Average Rating 4
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

AMAZINGGGGGGGGG!!!!!!!!!!

This book is like a movie. It keeps you on the edge of your seat. Once you read book 1 you have to read books 2 & 3. Its a great romance/thriller/action/religion and even part Sci-Fi. JUST AWESOME I LOVE IT!

posted by Classy_B on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

This book contains a lot of satanism so if you are not into that

This book contains a lot of satanism so if you are not into that stuff do NOT read this book. I would have liked to know this information before I got the book because if i had known I would never have read it.

posted by 2585709 on August 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 8, 2012

    2 1/2 stars

    2 1/2 - 3 stars. While I liked this; it needs more work. I don't know how eBooks come about; however, if they are derived directly from the hard copy with no additional typing, copying, or pasting then the editing/proofreading staff needs to be fired. This book was littered with punctuation errors, missing words, phrases that shouldn't have been there, etc. It was awful, annoying, and distracting.

    Now to the actual writing. The author failed to make me really care about her characters and what they were going through. She told me everything without the details that would have the reader connect with the characters, their surroundings, and what is happening to them. However, my interest was slightly peaked at the end of the story so that I might just look into reading the second and third installments.

    I understand that the point of view is limited to that of a naive, overprotected, relatively innocent 17-year-old girl; however, most of the time Zaza sounded like she was 13 or 14 which was a little hard to take or believe. Plus living with a house filled with that many boys would take some of the naivete out of her...she'd be more brash. Not saying that the very opening scene doesn't show her as brash...

    This is most definitely a story that should NOT be labeled YA, unless bookstores create new categories for Tween YA and Older Teen YA. This is the latter all the way - rated R or NC-17 if it were a movie.

    [Spoiler alert]
    Let's get to the nitty gritty, shall we. I was completely floored by the main focus of the story being sex. It might be appropriate to call that part of the book 17 Shades of Grey.

    The plot twist...I found it neither disgusting nor appalling mostly because I picked up on the HUGE clues 1) the main character is named after a demon, 2) her best friend's name is the same as the mother of all demons, 3) the texts and emails included the "number of the beast" and mentioned "the vessel," 4) her parents mentioned Samhain (sp?), 5) Homecoming was on Halloween [which is way too late for a high school homecoming], 6) there are no churches in town, 7) Zaza chose to be a Vestal Virgin for Halloween, and 8) Zaza's mother gave her a pentagram necklace to wear. All that adds up to no good.

    A town full of Satanists is not a new plot point. I think there a few horror movies out there like that. And the main scene could have been so much worse than black rose petals, candles, and "black mass" rituals. Not to mention that the violence that follows Zaza and Jason's escape is the same as any R-rated chase or gangster movie (thinking Pulp Fiction, The Godfather, etc.).

    What I found most disturbing were the clues Hallam was putting together with regards to Jason's conception...I started thinking that the two were brother and sister. That would truly have been icky. I know people who have thrown books where that allegation was made a plot point.

    Will I read it again? No. Was it a waste of time? Meh, not really. Will I read the remaining two books? Maybe if the eBooks get to $.99.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Entertaining

    Quick, easy read. I want to keep reading beyond book 1.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Ending made me mad.

    It was really really great till the end. the end could've been better. I couldn't stop reading it though. That's for sure. I also couldn't stop talking about it. Haha. Good book.
    And woah, it's not free anymore. This I find weird.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Unsure what I had gotten into

    I thought this would be a different kind of read. It was a bit surprising when I got into a few of the chapters--I'm glad I obtained the book on a special deal. However, as it goes with series and me, I feel like I need to read the two other titles in the trilogy. The characters seemed a little awkward and there wasn't a lot of development--perhaps by design given the enigmatic lives Jason and Azazel had lead before coming together. I don't want to spoil the read for anyone interested.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Nice.

    I's a fun read alittle weird but intersting and I did like the action.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Pretty Good

    I liked the books but the story line seems far fetched but that doesnt mean its a bad thing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Breathless

    It was ok, kind of cute. It does a good job suprising the reader to. Sometimes i wish there was no such thing as forshadowing though, and this book has a lot of that. So you know early on that something is wrong with the whole town, and that Azazel and Jasons special moment was going to go wrong because everyone knew about it. I liked how there was those suprises like what Azazel found out in the bathroom at prom and a couple other moments. The book came together very nicely at the end and i have a feeling something awsome is going to happen in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Not bad.

    Ugh not great but not bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Amazing book

    Couldnt put it down at all cant wait to read the other 6 books..add me on nookfriends if anyone has the others to share!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Too much angst

    As a retired high school Advance Placement English teacher, I found the talk of teenagers to be a little too close to reality for my area of comfort, but it is also probably quite close to the truth. When the book stuck to mystery, I enjoyed it the most. The author does have good writing skills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1