Customer Reviews for

The Brethren

Average Rating 3.5
( 375 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(113)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Grisham got my interest

My first Grisham read was the Brethren. I have read many of his since, and while all are good this one sticks in my mind the most. you could'nt ask for a more brilliant plot to a story.If you are a Grisham fan, a mystery fan, and love conspiracy, you will love this book...
My first Grisham read was the Brethren. I have read many of his since, and while all are good this one sticks in my mind the most. you could'nt ask for a more brilliant plot to a story.If you are a Grisham fan, a mystery fan, and love conspiracy, you will love this book.

posted by 377936 on November 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not the greatest, but it was good

The book isn't terrible, but it's not the best. It starts and ends slow with no major twist or surprise. Overall it has a good plot with very vivid and unique characters.

posted by Anonymous on April 8, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 375 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Best Grisham book yet . .

    Good plot: Three not-very-likable scroundrels flummox the presidential campaign of a candidate too pure to be real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Pretty cool

    Nice easy read. I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Tangled web

    Found the beginning to be slow but once it got going it hold your attention.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    not recommended

    I didn't care for it, it was slow moving, didnot finish, only read about one third of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    One of grisham's best

    Terrific characters and a plot that seems farfetched, while borrowing liberally from real-life events

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    Good Read

    This is a great read, but I personally did not like the ending..I won't spoil it for anyone...You will have your own opinions...But a great story by Grisham

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lots of characters but none to root for!

    I wouldn't say that this is classic Grisham. It lacks a lot of the soul and passion you can expect from his characters. Also, the atmosphere was never really a character like a lot of his books based in the South. The plot was very involved and thought out. So much so, that I wasn't sure the plot points were going to converge well at the beginning. However, they did pretty well. Overall, a decent read but not thrilling!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another enjoyable story by Mr. Grisham.

    Again, Mr. Grisham has not disappointed me with this story. In the Brethren the author took me on a journey into a political campaign, and how the government can control an election. The characters of the three judges' and their activities were believable. What I appreciated about John Grisham is that each new book that he releases takes me into a new world and I always learn something from his stories. The Brethren is a super story. Enjoy it, it's a wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not my favorite

    This book just petered along for me. No big surprises, no big climax, no real sense of urgency that makes you want to see what happens next. Certainly some interesting components to read considering the political climate we are in but ultimately, just a so-so book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Great ending!

    Grisham has a way about him. We read such an eclectic mix of writings and Grisham's books are ones where we can never truly anticipate the story line.

    The characters are such bad guys and ever so clever. We liked this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS BOOK IS GREAT

    This is the best of John Grisham. This book is the type of book that you just can't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    Good Ol' Election Story

    In this Grisham tale, three former judges who are now prisoners form a group called 'The Brethen.' During their prison time, they sent out letters to penpals acting as teens in rehab. All of this is going on during a presidential election. I really like the election setup, and also the penpal organization. However, things are a little quick. It does encourage me to keep on reading due to the election setup. I originally thought that they put too many characters in, but then it began to level out and make sense. It really deserves 3 1/2 out of 5 stars, but 4 out of 5 could do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    I enjoyed it

    I've read really bad reviews about this book so I wasn't excited about reading it. It started off slow but I decided to continue reading it. I'm happy I did. The book has so many twists and turns. I also thought the ending was predictable and a little boring but I still loved this book. It was different. After the first boring chapters it got very interesting and I could not put it down. I loved all three judges, they were so smart!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    John Grisham

    Brethern was not one of John Gisham's best novels that he has written. I believe that he could have made the book with more twists in it and not as predictable at the end. It was not an easy book to follow. The whole president thing caught me off guard and made no sense to me. Don't get me wrong, John Gisham is a great book writer, I just find this book weak and disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    Wilson High School

    The Brethran was a good read but not one of John Grisham's best works. I really enjoyed the beginning that set up the rest of the story. Throughout the middle of the novel I seemed to lose interest a little bit. There was many twists and turns that I had a difficult time keeping track of. But then again, at the end of the novel it all came togethed. The trio of judges is what I enjoyed the most. However, the entire president election thing lost me. I truly enjoyed reading this novel although it is not one of Grisham's best works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    moderate

    i'm still fiquring out how I can put this in a kindest way possible.......Had it been another author I'd have said,nice try but for JG......what a disappointment! Starts slow..no major twists in between and ends up with no surprise! too predictable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2004

    Moderate

    Definitely not Grisham's best, but I loved the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2003

    A Book Enthusiast

    This in my opinion is the best Grisham has offered yet. I have experience within the legal system, and this my friends is as close as he could come to perfection. As a reader I can only hope he keeps them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    Could have been better.

    The book started out great. But half way through the book I know he didn't have time to wrap everything up. I was disappointed at the ending. After I finished the book I had a lot of unanswered questions. Like what happen to the old men at the end? This is one of the books that should be made into a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2003

    The end could have been better

    I thought the story was great and different,but I did not like the way the book ended.I thought the action ended when it got to the very end.The end should have had a huge twist that ended with a bang.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 375 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19