BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Brethren

Average Rating 3.5
( 376 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(114)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Grisham got my interest

My first Grisham read was the Brethren. I have read many of his since, and while all are good this one sticks in my mind the most. you could'nt ask for a more brilliant plot to a story.If you are a Grisham fan, a mystery fan, and love conspiracy, you will love this book...
My first Grisham read was the Brethren. I have read many of his since, and while all are good this one sticks in my mind the most. you could'nt ask for a more brilliant plot to a story.If you are a Grisham fan, a mystery fan, and love conspiracy, you will love this book.

posted by 377936 on November 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not the greatest, but it was good

The book isn't terrible, but it's not the best. It starts and ends slow with no major twist or surprise. Overall it has a good plot with very vivid and unique characters.

posted by Anonymous on April 8, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 376 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Grisham got my interest

    My first Grisham read was the Brethren. I have read many of his since, and while all are good this one sticks in my mind the most. you could'nt ask for a more brilliant plot to a story.If you are a Grisham fan, a mystery fan, and love conspiracy, you will love this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2007

    Go ahead and buy it! you'll read it more than once

    I take my time with good novels and never speed read an author such as Grisham. His wording and vocabulary are superb to the point that you can feel the character's heartbeat. This really is a great book. I am surprised by the negetive reviews. I've had it for two years now and it is always one I re-read while waiting on the next thriller. The story line is the same but I never tire of it. And so it goes I remain a fan forever.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2004

    Not the greatest, but it was good

    The book isn't terrible, but it's not the best. It starts and ends slow with no major twist or surprise. Overall it has a good plot with very vivid and unique characters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Grisham is always good.

    An interesting twist on a crime story: the men involved in a scam to make money are already in prison and were judges and lawyers, meanwhile a major power play is being hatched out by the head of the CIA to elect the next President of the U.S..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    The Most Thrilling Book Out There

    The book The Brethren by John Grisham is an interesting story about three judges stuck in prison. These three judges decide they'll start trying to make money from extorting others. Their plan is quite genius. However, once their extortion scheme gets involved with a presidential candidate, they get caught, but there's a twist in the end that just blows you away. The major message I got out of this book was that no one ever gets what they really want in the end. I liked this book because, it's very exciting, realistic, and you don't want to stop reading it. My only dislike in the book was that in the end the bad guys "win" or get what they want. Someone should read this book because; it is one of few books that keep you at the end of your seat the entire time. John Grisham has written many books, a few of his best books with related themes are; Without Doubt and The Firm. I would rate this book 9 out of 10, because it's a great read but not perfect, because the ending could have been better in my opinion.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Who are you pulling for?

    While John Grisham's "The Bretheren" is well written it begs the question, who am I pulling for?

    I frankly didn't like any of the characters in this book. Am I supposed to applaud the presidential candidate whose campain is being bought and paid for by the CIA? A candidate who by the way is a closet homosexual in hope of having a secret afair, and is being blackmailed.

    Or do I pull for three corrupt judges who are in prison and running a blackmail scheme?

    Maybe I should feel sorry for the men who are married but want to have something more exciting in their lives by running away to an exotic location with young men. I don't!

    I forgot to mention the head of the CIA, who buys the election, kills a corrupt lawyer who gets in his way and allows a nuclear nighmare to take place in another part of world in order to scare people into voting for his candidate!


    If you are looking for a cynical view of the world, this book might be up your ally. If you are looking for characters with whom you will be sypathetic, skip this book and read "A Time To Kill". It really is a much better read!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    Danger: You will be kept on the edge of your seats!

    The Brethren written by author John Grisham is a story of three judges in a prison named Tremble. From Trumble the three judges run scams of blackmailing innocent people of their money by threatening to tell their secret of being homosexuals even though they are married. The fun thing about this book is that they do all of this through letters making every move count. The way the plan work is that the three judges post up magazine articles looking for homosexuals who would like to pen pal. The people that the Brethren target are secretly gay married men that are wealthy. The victims of the Brethren will do anything to keep their secret a secret. The Brethren leave these people alone once they get as much money from them as they can. This book gets really suspenseful when their plan catches a man named Aaron Lake, a nominee for the next president of the United States. This book is kind of a long read but it is also quick to read because it is hard to put it down once you get started. I normally don¿t read much but this book was really good and I am looking forward to reading another of Grisham¿s books. This book is a bit difficult to understand in the beginning but once you catch on it gets a lot better. I recommend this book to anyone that really wants to be kept on the edge of their seats.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    Great Book

    I haven't read a book that captured my attention the way this did in 10 years. I read the book in a day and a half which is very unusual for me as I usually take my time with a book but from page 1 I just could not put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    Loved it

    Great job by John Grisham, I love everything he writes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    Yet, another great novel!

    This book I took time to read. Toward the end I couldn't believe a writer has such gift as John Grisham. Another one of his greatest works. I just hope one day all would cherish his wonderful novels and really know what a Grisham book stands for; integreity, manner, and excitement. The Brethern was to die for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Boring.

    Nothing much going on here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Excellent read. Typical John Grisham.

    If you like John Grisham, you will like this one. Interesting characters, good story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Thank you all for your kind words

    Apples are not oranges

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    Just okay.

    This is not my favorite Grisham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Slow starter, but picks up speed.

    I've read most of what John Grisham has written & I've never been disappointed. It "felt" a bit heavy at the beginning. (Not sure how to explain that any better...) but knowing the writer's ability to keep you entertained...I persevered & was rewarded with a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My father suggested that I read this book. I did and I liked it

    My father suggested that I read this book. I did and I liked it. I have continued to ready others by John Grisham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Spend some time in jail.

    If you ever wanted to spend time in a Federal Prison with politicians and famous Wall Street swindlers, this is your chance. While you will not be having Caesar salad and a California chardonnay for lunch, John Grisham’s -The Brethren- will have you rubbing elbows with three disgraced judges and enjoying their comfy little scam. The scam, which is not quite on the same moral level as a Wall Street “pump and dump,” is more sophisticated and equally as profitable. That is, until they get caught in their own zippers by scamming the wrong person. At your next Rotary meeting, it will be impossible for you not to look at a couple of your Rotary buddies who are judges and smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Pretty good book

    This book is actually pretty good, if you can be patient and get past the first 30 pages. It seemed boring at first. The author spent the first 10 or 20 pages introducing characters, and that's why other readers got bored (As I did at first). The reader loses patience trying to see how the characters connect. But once the characters are all introduced, then the story unfolds and you'll see how they all connect. I'm a john Grisham fan. I read a lot of his books. This is a good one. Not one of his best. But it is a good one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Good book

    You will like it too many twists though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Thrilling

    This book is a great book. It combines a sense of seriousness with mystery, all while keeping you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 376 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19