Customer Reviews for

The Brethren

Average Rating 3.5
( 374 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(112)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Grisham got my interest

My first Grisham read was the Brethren. I have read many of his since, and while all are good this one sticks in my mind the most. you could'nt ask for a more brilliant plot to a story.If you are a Grisham fan, a mystery fan, and love conspiracy, you will love this book...
My first Grisham read was the Brethren. I have read many of his since, and while all are good this one sticks in my mind the most. you could'nt ask for a more brilliant plot to a story.If you are a Grisham fan, a mystery fan, and love conspiracy, you will love this book.

posted by 377936 on November 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not the greatest, but it was good

The book isn't terrible, but it's not the best. It starts and ends slow with no major twist or surprise. Overall it has a good plot with very vivid and unique characters.

posted by Anonymous on April 8, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Grisham got my interest

    My first Grisham read was the Brethren. I have read many of his since, and while all are good this one sticks in my mind the most. you could'nt ask for a more brilliant plot to a story.If you are a Grisham fan, a mystery fan, and love conspiracy, you will love this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2007

    Go ahead and buy it! you'll read it more than once

    I take my time with good novels and never speed read an author such as Grisham. His wording and vocabulary are superb to the point that you can feel the character's heartbeat. This really is a great book. I am surprised by the negetive reviews. I've had it for two years now and it is always one I re-read while waiting on the next thriller. The story line is the same but I never tire of it. And so it goes I remain a fan forever.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    The Most Thrilling Book Out There

    The book The Brethren by John Grisham is an interesting story about three judges stuck in prison. These three judges decide they'll start trying to make money from extorting others. Their plan is quite genius. However, once their extortion scheme gets involved with a presidential candidate, they get caught, but there's a twist in the end that just blows you away. The major message I got out of this book was that no one ever gets what they really want in the end. I liked this book because, it's very exciting, realistic, and you don't want to stop reading it. My only dislike in the book was that in the end the bad guys "win" or get what they want. Someone should read this book because; it is one of few books that keep you at the end of your seat the entire time. John Grisham has written many books, a few of his best books with related themes are; Without Doubt and The Firm. I would rate this book 9 out of 10, because it's a great read but not perfect, because the ending could have been better in my opinion.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    Great Book

    I haven't read a book that captured my attention the way this did in 10 years. I read the book in a day and a half which is very unusual for me as I usually take my time with a book but from page 1 I just could not put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    Loved it

    Great job by John Grisham, I love everything he writes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    Yet, another great novel!

    This book I took time to read. Toward the end I couldn't believe a writer has such gift as John Grisham. Another one of his greatest works. I just hope one day all would cherish his wonderful novels and really know what a Grisham book stands for; integreity, manner, and excitement. The Brethern was to die for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Excellent read. Typical John Grisham.

    If you like John Grisham, you will like this one. Interesting characters, good story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Slow starter, but picks up speed.

    I've read most of what John Grisham has written & I've never been disappointed. It "felt" a bit heavy at the beginning. (Not sure how to explain that any better...) but knowing the writer's ability to keep you entertained...I persevered & was rewarded with a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Spend some time in jail.

    If you ever wanted to spend time in a Federal Prison with politicians and famous Wall Street swindlers, this is your chance. While you will not be having Caesar salad and a California chardonnay for lunch, John Grisham’s -The Brethren- will have you rubbing elbows with three disgraced judges and enjoying their comfy little scam. The scam, which is not quite on the same moral level as a Wall Street “pump and dump,” is more sophisticated and equally as profitable. That is, until they get caught in their own zippers by scamming the wrong person. At your next Rotary meeting, it will be impossible for you not to look at a couple of your Rotary buddies who are judges and smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Thrilling

    This book is a great book. It combines a sense of seriousness with mystery, all while keeping you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    One of grisham's best

    Terrific characters and a plot that seems farfetched, while borrowing liberally from real-life events

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    Good Read

    This is a great read, but I personally did not like the ending..I won't spoil it for anyone...You will have your own opinions...But a great story by Grisham

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Great ending!

    Grisham has a way about him. We read such an eclectic mix of writings and Grisham's books are ones where we can never truly anticipate the story line.

    The characters are such bad guys and ever so clever. We liked this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS BOOK IS GREAT

    This is the best of John Grisham. This book is the type of book that you just can't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2003

    the brethren is grisham's best work

    The Brethren by John Grisham remains a remarkable tale of human habits and tendencies. It¿s a story of three men in a federal prison who use blackmail to make hundreds of thousands of dollars. This book has every aspect of interest, drama, action, and suspense, as well as a diverse range of characters. This book remains well written. John Grisham stands as one of the most respected authors of legal dramas, and The Brethren is among his best. Grisham¿s word choice displays the unique bond the three main characters share. Although it they never express their feelings out loud; their actions speak louder than their words. This displays Grisham¿s ability to infer rather than state. This remains one of the most enjoyable parts of the book; discovering the characters true qualities. The characters in this book had never met each other before they came to prison; however they immediately established a close relationship with each other. They are fueled by each others weaknesses, and depend on each other¿s strengths. These relationships keep the book interesting. Another exciting aspect of this book remains, of course, the plot. The plot has every aspect of interest, drama, action and suspense. Their scatter-brained attorney provides the drama that occurs in the book. The attorney stands as their only way to communicate to the outside world, but communication remains basically his only purpose. His fate plays an interesting role in the end of the book. The Presidential election team provides the action of the book, scrambling to keep their client¿s identity secrete. Their course of action throughout the book gives insight to real life politicians. Suspense is disbursed throughout the entire book, which keeps the book exciting till the very last page. This book remains suspenseful in an indistinguishable way. While there are no guns, violence or explosions in this book, it is almost impossible to put it down. The Brethren by John Grisham remains on of the most enticing legal dramas around today. It appeals to every aspect of interest it has drama, action and suspense along with humor and irony. Its diverse range of characters and well written satire make The Brethren a book that everyone can read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2002

    Very good

    I loved this book. Some snobbish reviewer recently said the book was poorly written and that some unnecessary characters were introduced. I loved being confuses into thinking these characters will be vital to the plot, only to realize they are not. I don't think this book was predictable either, I enjoyed it until the very last page. Mr. Grisham keeps giving us great books and this is one of his best. Read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2002

    To Good To Be Just Another Grishim Tale

    When I read this book, for the first few chapters, I truly didn't know where he was going with this one, but with Grishim I have always learned you have to keep reading. When I got there it was just to good to stop. I don't know where he get it all from. Why didn't he kill'em off or why did Trevor just not keep going? Because Grishim know how to do it every time. This like all of John Grishims books come highly recomended to any one who wants to have excitment in there life. Its to good to stop half way through and pick up later. You have to keep reading till the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2002

    Sheer Delight!!

    Read a lot of Mr. Grisham's works and this one was different. I thought it was slow in the middle. usually I cant put his books down and almost read straight through. Loved the ending, just the way it should have been. Smiled and giggled so hard at the end! I just had to say I loved it!! Thank you Mr. Grisham, you bring a joy to my reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2002

    BRILLIANT!

    Simply unputdownable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2002

    Wonderful

    Keeps you on the edge of your seat wondering what is going to happen next. Could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6