Customer Reviews for

Brian's Hunt (Brian's Saga Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Can't stop reading it

Ths book is freakin awesome

posted by Anonymous on November 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good book

Introduction: When was the last time you read a survival book? Brains Hunt is an outstanding reader¿s book. If you like survival you will love this book. You can feel his pain of starvation when he is stuck in the wilderness and forced to make tools to survive in the w...
Introduction: When was the last time you read a survival book? Brains Hunt is an outstanding reader¿s book. If you like survival you will love this book. You can feel his pain of starvation when he is stuck in the wilderness and forced to make tools to survive in the wilderness. Will he make it out alive?

Description and summary of main Brian¿s Hunt is a great book especially because you can feel his survival and what it¿s like to survive in the wild and fight off wild animals and make arrows and other stuff from the wild. He is alone for so long he forgets what its like to be around others. Due to being secluded for so long he loses grip of life.

Evaluation He learned new things has he survived. Like in winter if trees get to cold they explode. I think it was amazing the things I learned from this book

Conclusion In my opinion I didn¿t like the first book and I ended up never reading it because it wasn¿t really good I didn¿t like it. I read the second and third book but never the first it isn¿t very important.

Your final review I liked the book I thought it was a great series.

posted by Fillywardo on December 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Gooh

    Good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    This book is about a teenage about that gets stranded in Northern Canada, for the second time because earlier in the series.

    As Brian is trying to survive in the harsh winter of Canada; only having a hatchet, a 22 cal. Rifle with 50 rounds. The most interesting and exciting part in the story to me would be when he was hunting the moose or when he was attacked by the bear. There was also a very special dog in the story that got wounded but was strong enough to survive. This dog always returns to Brian after leaving.

    Evaluation: This story would be good for anyone liking adventure books.

    Conclusion: I was very interested in this book and it made me want to keep reading. It would be my favorite series, but my favorite book in this series would have to be hatchet.

    Final review: Very good book, couldn't quit reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    F

    Fdsgefv

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    6th grader in glendale AZ

    Plot:
    My book Brian's Hunt by: Gary Paulsen is about a teen named Brain . Brian is a sixteen year old boy who is on a island with some friends .Their supplies are one bow and arrow with quiet a bit of bows , a canoe , food , and also there is a cabin that they stay in . One night Brian heard some whimpering . He had no idea what it was , a coyote , wolf. Turns out it was a dog! The dog was a girl with a huge wound on her leg .Brian had no idea what happened to the dog he thinks it could have been a bear but the bear would've killed the dog . Brian never found out why the dog had the wound . Later on in the book Brian and the dog did some hunting . Oneday When Brian went to the cabin to check on his friends he found them dead ! He found some bear tracks and followed them up a cliff with the dog . When they found the bear it charged Brian almost knocking him off a cliff . Brian got back up pulled a arrow from his quiver and stabbed the bear ! The bear was dead gone and Brian returned to camp .
    Main characters:
    The two main characters are Brian and the dog . Brian is a 16 year old boy who has experienced the wilderness many times like in the book Hatchet. He even is always comes prepared and knows how to fight . Brian is also very sensitive . The dog is very strong . Like how the dog survived the wound .She is also brave and much like a cat because the dog will always return to Brian .
    Theme:
    The theme is to expect the unexpected because when Brian went to check on his friends they were dead.
    Like or dislike:
    I like this book because it has a ton of adventure and surprising moments .
    Connect:
    I connect the dog in Brian's Hunt to Ram in Boy of the Painted Cave. One they both follow a boy .Two both dogs are wild and three they know how to hunt . My second connection is I have been to the wild in Yellowstone .I have even saw a bear before too .
    Setting:
    The setting is on a island at present time .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    This book is the most suspenseful one yet. Brian encounters many new challenges in his journey in the wilderness.

    One night brian was camping in his canoe when he heard a wimper almost as if it was a dog! When he finaly decided to go look at the shore to see what it was it in fact was a dog that was injured pretty badly. The wound looked like it had been made from a bear's claw. Brian realizes that he must stitch up the wound to help the dog. So he takes his fishing line and a needle and stitches it up. The dog stays with Brian and helps him solve many mysteries. The dog helps him unravel his most dangerous adventure yet. I recomend this book becuase it is action packed and will keep you on your toes until the very last sentence.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    A good book

    I liked this book because I have always wanted to go in the woods and live off the land like Brian. I have read some of the other books by Gary Paulsen before but I like this one the most. The story is about a boy named Brian that goes into the woods and lives off the land. One night a dog comes to his camp when he is asleep in his canoe. The dog starts to cry so Brian gets up from his canoe and sees the dog laying down with a big cut on its side. He goes up to the dog and asks himself where did the cut come from and where did the dog come from? He says I have a needle and fishing line. I can sew it up. So by the light of the fire he sews up the cut. Only one thing in the woods can do this a bear. Brian sets out to find the bear but he gets attacked by it. Did he live or did he die? I recommend this book to someone that likes to read about people that live off the land.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2007

    Most exciting book I've ever read!

    This book is best suited for people of ages 11 and up. It's a great book that is both scary and exciting at the same time. I thought it was very interesting and I think you will too. This book is about a boy named Brian Robeson. Brian survived in a plane crash in the wilderness, where he remains for well over two months and is pushing three months. Brian must learn to live off what is around him in this awesome series. In the first book, Hatchet, Brian learns that it will not be an easy challenge. Read what happens in the Hatchet series to find out what happens next...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2006

    this is a awesome book

    if you like adventure you need to reed this book brians hunt. He leaves his home to go and live in the wilderness its a good book i recomend you to read it good by.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2005

    good book

    It is a good book because it makes you want to keep turning the pages. The book has action and advencher. If you are looking for a good and interesting you should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1