Customer Reviews for

Brian's Return (Brian's Saga Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great book

In the woods, completely alone with no house or electricity is Brian Robinson. In Brian's Return, Brian is a believable character that you will get attached to when you read. Brian develops as the story goes along. This book is in a nature wonderland in present day Cana...
In the woods, completely alone with no house or electricity is Brian Robinson. In Brian's Return, Brian is a believable character that you will get attached to when you read. Brian develops as the story goes along. This book is in a nature wonderland in present day Canada. Brian couldn't handle the city life in New York City so he moved back into the Canadian woods for another epic adventure. The story has little dialog but Brian has conversations with himself. This book has some suspense and the atmosphere is quiet and full of beauty. This great book will leave you wanting to know more about Brian and his adventures in the woods.

posted by 8085441 on May 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

this book stinks

this book was not very good at all. Gary Paulsen is a great writer, but this book told way to much about before he got to the lake. I mean evryone knows they would rather read about all the action and challenges in the forest and how brian dealed with them. especially s...
this book was not very good at all. Gary Paulsen is a great writer, but this book told way to much about before he got to the lake. I mean evryone knows they would rather read about all the action and challenges in the forest and how brian dealed with them. especially since he's been out of the woods so long . That book had no hunting or cool things in it. I think it would of been beter if it talked about him staying in Canada more.

posted by Anonymous on December 13, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    Great book

    In the woods, completely alone with no house or electricity is Brian Robinson. In Brian's Return, Brian is a believable character that you will get attached to when you read. Brian develops as the story goes along. This book is in a nature wonderland in present day Canada. Brian couldn't handle the city life in New York City so he moved back into the Canadian woods for another epic adventure. The story has little dialog but Brian has conversations with himself. This book has some suspense and the atmosphere is quiet and full of beauty. This great book will leave you wanting to know more about Brian and his adventures in the woods.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    I love this series. from all the books, this is the best. Can't wait to read the next.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Thank you gary

    The last story my son and i shared when he was dying. When it's my turn, i will go north to find him. Safe bet he LOVED the book(s). I am forever grateful to Gary for writing and to the fans who coaxed the story out into the open. God bless.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2000

    Back To The Woods With Brian

    The book that I read was Brians Return. I thought that this was a very good book becauseit is adventurous and exciting. Here is a short description of the book, Brian gets rescued from thge woods 2 years ago and is brought to the city and he doesn't like it there. So he starts to plan and buy equipment like a bow for hunting and a canoe to travel in. So he gets flown out to a chain of lakes and he canoes up them, some interesting things happen to him like a deer jumping off of land into his canoe but thats all that I am going to tell you so I don't ruin the story. It is a pretty good book so I will have to give it a four star rating.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Great book! Thanks Gary! Read this review.

    Good book. Please keep writing Gary. People dont understand what a good topic this is. This age of children constantly have their heads in front of a TV or an ipod and dont get outside as much. But this book and the entire series has convinced me and my friends to focus on the environment, go outside more, and just enjoy the world. I truly loved this book and this series and cant wait to read more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2001

    A Book I Guarantee Will Survive!

    Brian's Return as well as Hatchet, Brian's Winter, The River, is the best book I have ever read. Gary Paulsen is such a dramatic writer that I am sure will eventually hit the Bestsellers!Thanks!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Another great book.

    Gary Paulsen hits the interest of teenagers from the first paragraph....especially those who have read the other three books. Brian helps you want to live more and discover what is beyond the tv screen.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    This book is overall a good book. The intire saga is, in my opio

    This book is overall a good book. The intire saga is, in my opion very thought out and relatable to alot of people. Aside from wanting to go back to the woods. This was perhaps one of the best books I have read in a while.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    good

    it was very good but some parts of the book eere a little boring

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Brians return

    a great book!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    brians return is the best thing ive ever read i am 13 myself and i love this book, it makes me want to survive in the wild like brian. this is a spell binding book including amazing literature as this 15 year old boy battles the wilderness again.rad.

    this book has soo many details in the amazing stories before brian's winters time. and i cant wait to read brians hunt because these books are just amazing to a boy who is 13 just like me to battle the wilderness with just a hatchet and with a right state of mind. this book is spellbinding as in the book " beats the hell out of the foot ball player" the detail was enormouse in the suspense of the pummling of the bullies face and him striking every blow. this man i think should diserve 1,000 awards for these books. when i got hooked on the hatchet i just kept reading i even got in trouble reading these books. this book made me realize how hard it would be just to survive 54 days in the wilderness on nothing but rasberries and fish for a month and a half. this book has moved me in so many ways and i hope involves other people to and binds them in these ways i have felt to. scincerly joseph manz.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Gary Paulsen does it again

    Of course those of you who read The River knew Paulsen would write this book. He had to write it. How else was Brian going to test out that great Canoe named "The Raft" which Derek sent him. As Brian was on the plane, flying back to the wild, an old man sat next to him and said (great quote) "well, you can take the man out of the woods, but you can't take the woods out of the man." In that environment, your mind, your soul finds peace. Brian just HAD to get back to the woods again to find that sense of peace.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    Brians Return

    Brian¿s Return is written by Gary Paulsen. I believe the author¿s purpose for writing this is to show people what your life would be like to run away, or if you had to survive out in the wilderness. I think that the author is trying to get the attention of the reader. The author has Brian telling the story. I think the author is trying to compare this to real life by showing what it would be like to run away from home. I could connect to Brian in the story because I and a lot of people have thought about running away. I think that the author was successful in writing this story because I learned what the author wanted me to see. This book compares to the movie lost because the people were lost on an island and so is Brian. The significant thing about the books title is that Brian did go back to the island. I would recommend this book to someone that is thinking about running away because they will realize not to run away. I agreed with the author and I liked the book it was interesting. I felt that the ending ended too soon because I hoped it would have went on longer. I rate this book a four, because the author had some good ideas.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Asome

    ASomE

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Not bad

    My least fav of the brian books

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Little Short

    The book was good but sorta short

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    OK

    I like the others better but a good book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2008

    Read!

    If you've read Hatchet and Brian's Winter the book Brian's Return is awesome. The book is filled with funny,cool,and exciting things. Everyone I know loves the book. Brian's Return is about Brian returning to the Canadian woods he was once lost. This time, Brian has come prepared with bows, a tent, a canoe, and so many other things needed to survive. While there, he runs in to some problems. One day he was canoing, and all of the sudden a deer jumped into the canoe and flipped Brian over. This made him pick a campsite and let every thing dry. One of the things that amazed me the most was that everyday Brian would learn more about the woods. He would become one with the woods. Brian thought he was one with the woods until he met this man he made Brian realize what one with the woods means and what life means. This book would be great for anyone who likes adventure and excitement. This book would also be great for anyone who likes nature.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    this book stinks

    this book was not very good at all. Gary Paulsen is a great writer, but this book told way to much about before he got to the lake. I mean evryone knows they would rather read about all the action and challenges in the forest and how brian dealed with them. especially since he's been out of the woods so long . That book had no hunting or cool things in it. I think it would of been beter if it talked about him staying in Canada more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2006

    LOVE THIS BOOK!!!

    This is an amazing book and I will read any of Garys books!! The detail is amazing in this book and it seems as if the characters are real people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8