BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Brick Lane

Average Rating 3.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

let's you live a different life ... from the comfort of your own

I'm only halfway through this book but I am completely engrossed and unlikely to be let down because ... Monica Ali is a wonderful writer. So far what I've read about Nazhneen and her sister, husband, children, neighbours, relatives, and prospective lover, makes me thi...
I'm only halfway through this book but I am completely engrossed and unlikely to be let down because ... Monica Ali is a wonderful writer. So far what I've read about Nazhneen and her sister, husband, children, neighbours, relatives, and prospective lover, makes me think that the news tells us what happens in the world, history tells us how events happened, but novels like Brick Lane can show us WHY human beings do what they do within the constraints of their circumstance, and this is the most illuminating for understanding and appreciating others.

posted by Anonymous on April 22, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It was just ok

While the story had potential it lost my interest midway through.

posted by 8106052 on April 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2004

    nothing new in this immigrant experience

    I was on page 220 and nothing of consequence had happened in this book. Repetive, the characters were not interesting or revealing. The story was predictable and I was hoping the whole time that something would surprise me. The writing is unspiring and standard, the story plods along. She describes the plot clearly the first 75 pages and then the story continues to unfold into boring details. I only finished it because I had book club.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2006

    Not What I Expected

    I was so looking forward to reading 'Brick Lane,' but was disappointed with the extremely slow pace. I had a very hard time getting into it and would not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2005

    not there yet

    Nice try, the objective of this novel was perhaps a bit beyond the author's ability. It was a great attempt but it failed and was long with characters who all felt the same, paragraphs that shouldn't exist, and a lot of added details which fail to support the 'climax.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2005

    Disappointing

    Upon purchasing Brick Lane I was very eager on reading about a forgein culture since cultures have always been interesting to me. Sadly, Brick Lane does not have enough depth or impact in the plot. It seems that Monica Ali (The author) writes about anything that comes to her mind, similar to a journal, even it if does not have any reason to be part of the book. The book could easily have been half as long. Very Disappointing...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2004

    Ok story- excruciatingly slow

    I was anxious to read this book, and began it immeadiately. I finished it two days ago.....4 months later. Ali's intentions with this story are good- it's not a bad story, unfortunately the only character that is fully developed is Chanu- Nazneen's blubbering idiot of a husband. He is the only character that is completely developed. I found that at the end of the book he was the only one I had some inkling of feeling for. It took me four months to read this book because it just wasn't that interesting most of the time. The characters didn't call to me when I closed the book. My mind never ran across them while washing dishes or taking a walk. At some points (especially when Nazneen recalled stories of and told to her during her youth)it felt as if the author was saying, 'let me put all I can in this book whether it is pertinent information or not. I just want to get all of it out there'. You could literally skip entire chapters, and nothing much would have changed. I wouldn't buy this book, I would borrow it. It's a slow read- good to start in June and finish in September. Tuck it in your beach bag, and plod through it bit by bit. You may feel differently about it than I did. Happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2004

    Terribly Slow, Skips Around

    The book starts too slow, then skips around so that I often found myself confused. The author did a good job of portraying struggle Nazneen endured when dealing with her adultery. Unfortunately, I would not recommend this book to a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2004

    75% Bore, saved by the other 25%

    This book has received too much hype. The book drags on, and you find yourself skipping paragraphs only to realize that you didn't miss anything. Being a south asian immigrant myself, the last 25% of this book was a touching and very human recounting of lives. It may not be worth getting to the end though, if you like your novels to have tempo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2004

    Not worth the read..

    I must rather say that I am quite disappointed. Being a child of immigrants, I thought that I would have some sort of deep connection with the characters in the book (by being able to understand their struggles, their dreams and cultural conflicts) - but it was very hard to get into this book. For starters, there was some letters from the main character's sister, Hasina, that were written in broken English. It was just difficult to follow through with the broken English letters. However, the story and the plot was excellently constructed but this was not enough to get the pages going. I don't think it has the 'hook' that I hoped it would have (or at least for me, because I'm hearing rave reviews everywhere else about this book and I don't see a reason to agree with them)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1