Customer Reviews for

Brida

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fusion, baby

Regarding Coelho's blending of traditions: Neither the Catholicism nor the 'Wicca' practiced today can claim original, unchanging religious authenticity. Catholics incorporated local deities and practices everywhere they went and edited/rewrote 'The' Bible a few hundre...
Regarding Coelho's blending of traditions: Neither the Catholicism nor the 'Wicca' practiced today can claim original, unchanging religious authenticity. Catholics incorporated local deities and practices everywhere they went and edited/rewrote 'The' Bible a few hundred times. Witches didn't write a lot down and were all but killed off in the burning times. Who is to say what cannot be blended? Many paths lead to one destination, often crossing other paths and traditions. Don't avoid this book because it doesn't rigidly hold to a small, rigid, arcane idea of One True religious path. Pow Wows, christian mystics, hedgewitches, native american medicine carriers, and other healers have blended traditions for centuries. This is what Coelho does as well, in a fine and innovatively traditional manner.

posted by Anonymous on June 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

There is always something to be learned from Coehlo

As an avid reader of Coehlo, I couldn't wait for Brida to be translated to English. Brida is an immature character who experiences much growth and change through out the book both with Wicca and Magus. Many of the secrets of the universe she learns are passed onto the...
As an avid reader of Coehlo, I couldn't wait for Brida to be translated to English. Brida is an immature character who experiences much growth and change through out the book both with Wicca and Magus. Many of the secrets of the universe she learns are passed onto the audience simultaneously. While I am always impressed by the mysticism and knowledge Coehlo is able to bequeath his readers, this novel seemed to lack the story development that all his other novels have. His novels Eleven Minutes, Veronika Decides to Die, The Devil and Miss Pryn, The Alchemist, The Fifth Mountain, etc...all have beautiful mystical qualities about them as well as stories that live on in my mind. Brida felt almost as though I was reading a guide to the Wiccan tradition. Her story didn't matter to me like his other character's stories still do. Brida is not without merit, though

posted by Anonymous on July 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    Mixed Traditions

    I found the book easy to read and interesting. Written in a Christo-pagan manner, a good 'bridge' book between both belief systems. A nice glimpse into Wiccan spirituality although not totally accurate.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    There is always something to be learned from Coehlo

    As an avid reader of Coehlo, I couldn't wait for Brida to be translated to English. Brida is an immature character who experiences much growth and change through out the book both with Wicca and Magus. Many of the secrets of the universe she learns are passed onto the audience simultaneously. While I am always impressed by the mysticism and knowledge Coehlo is able to bequeath his readers, this novel seemed to lack the story development that all his other novels have. His novels Eleven Minutes, Veronika Decides to Die, The Devil and Miss Pryn, The Alchemist, The Fifth Mountain, etc...all have beautiful mystical qualities about them as well as stories that live on in my mind. Brida felt almost as though I was reading a guide to the Wiccan tradition. Her story didn't matter to me like his other character's stories still do. Brida is not without merit, though

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    I thought this book was very entertaining

    When I saw this book, it literally just grabbed my attention, and once I started reading it I just couldn't put it down. I was intrigued by all the soul searching Brida had to do and felt a kind of kinship to her as she discovered who she truly was.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    Fusion, baby

    Regarding Coelho's blending of traditions: Neither the Catholicism nor the 'Wicca' practiced today can claim original, unchanging religious authenticity. Catholics incorporated local deities and practices everywhere they went and edited/rewrote 'The' Bible a few hundred times. Witches didn't write a lot down and were all but killed off in the burning times. Who is to say what cannot be blended? Many paths lead to one destination, often crossing other paths and traditions. Don't avoid this book because it doesn't rigidly hold to a small, rigid, arcane idea of One True religious path. Pow Wows, christian mystics, hedgewitches, native american medicine carriers, and other healers have blended traditions for centuries. This is what Coelho does as well, in a fine and innovatively traditional manner.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic read

    A wonderful book very much in the style Paulo's become renowned for. Anyone who's read several of his books may enjoy that brida clarifies and adds to the witch of portabello, being of the same vein, and reading them both would enliven the experiance of each. The character of Brida is portrayed extremely well, never being a static cliche person, her moods and values are constantly shifting, she has weak moments and is capable of real insight, her faults make her real, and that means you can really get into the story. I've been a huge fan of Paulo's books for years, and this is easily one of his best. lf you're looking for a book that will take you places you never thought were in the world this is it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Paul Coelho does it again

    I picked up this book after reading two of Coelho's other titles. I think this one is the best because it has a female protagonist. The story is a mixture of heroine on a quest, the search for the meaning and purpose in life and how to find ones soul mate. I found Coelho's use of past lives and the concept of we live the experience over and over till we get it right especially appealing! I recommend this book to readers who want to experience spirituality in the classic Coelho story telling style. A good gift for a person transitioning from one stage of life to another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Sensually & Hypnotic Tale.

    This story was very fantastic and enjoyable. Also a quick read. So the book is a real page turner. Not a waste of time at all.The tale is very unique,and beautifully written. From all the characters senses, details and setting.

    This is the first time I've read a novel from Paulo Coelho.
    Brida is a young female character who experiences much growth & change through out the story both with her 2 mentors Wicca and Magus. Many of the secrets of the universe she learns are passed onto the audience simultaneously. A great fantasy with a twist of erotics blended beautifully well together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    Take II

    While I've not yet read this book I shall as I am taken to new places with Coehlo. Had I already read Brida I'm pretty sure I'd write a take II kind of review from that of my predecessor's. Coehlo's stories are never meant for the narrow-minded they become too scary.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    enjoyable

    I am always skeptical when it comes to reading a translation version. this one surprised me somewhat. I definitely would recommend this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    wonderful

    I really enjoyed this book. It opened me up to an understanding in which I was very skepitical about. i have read several of his books thus far and with everyone I have read I open myself up to a whole new understanding on spirituality and a hidden part of my life which I have been learning to embrace through his books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Junk

    The author has created his own religion from parts of the Catholic Church with little story line.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Not bad... Not great.

    I like that the author passes down many of the teachings that Brida goes through to the reader (as he does in most of his books). I did not like the fact that the book is about this girl, seeking in a path of "witchcraft" when in fact the paths are based on christian dieties while they do pagan practices. It does not make sense to me and will seem contradicting to both pagans and christians alike. Then her search for her soul mate... I will not spoil it. Read if you want to know ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It was just okay

    Wasn't really captured by the tale, though I thought I would be. It was just okay. I found it kind of boring and hard to get through at times. I kind of had to force myself to finish it just to feel that I had not wasted money buying it (though I still have buyer's remorse).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    A thoughtful journey of a young woman's quest. Reaching to find what is true within ourselves on everyman's spiritual journey, Paulo Coelho speaks a language I understand and appreciate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A must have!

    This book helped me to realize that I was doing the same thing as Brida. I've always known what I was supposed to be doing, but I kept searching for something else. After reading this book, I accepted what my destiny was and life has been moving forward wonderfully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Paulo

    With Paulo Coelho I feel like sometimes it is a total hit other times it can be a miss. For me this book was a hit. While I did put the book down from time to time when I was reading it took me away. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    Too Pagen

    I put this book in my bag for the thrift store. I didn't read all of it as it was too pagen for me. I am a Christian and this was off the wall. I am an open minded person but this was too much. If you truly believe in reincarnation, taro cards and the wizards and gouls of the forest, you will probably like this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    Easy reading and trapping

    The plot traps you and you can't let go until you finish. For people who believe in esoterics and the magic and power of love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Brida In English

    ..great book, although i have read the spanish edition and have found the spanish version to be a little bit better in the writing style..some things just dont translate the same to english..wonderful story line..life lessons..great overall message and the tale sometimes makes you reflect on your life and path..so easy to read..a little bit of romance, quest, magic..the characters are really interesting..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Wonderful!

    By far one of the best books I have ever read! I read this book for the book club I am in and as soon as I finished reading it I went out and bought 2 more of this authors books. This book has a creative use of pagan and christian beliefs and opens up the readers mind to non traditional beliefs. It was great book to read with a book club as it brought up many topics of coversation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4