Customer Reviews for

Brida

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I thought this book was very entertaining

When I saw this book, it literally just grabbed my attention, and once I started reading it I just couldn't put it down. I was intrigued by all the soul searching Brida had to do and felt a kind of kinship to her as she discovered who she truly was.

posted by Anonymous on July 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

There is always something to be learned from Coehlo

As an avid reader of Coehlo, I couldn't wait for Brida to be translated to English. Brida is an immature character who experiences much growth and change through out the book both with Wicca and Magus. Many of the secrets of the universe she learns are passed onto the...
As an avid reader of Coehlo, I couldn't wait for Brida to be translated to English. Brida is an immature character who experiences much growth and change through out the book both with Wicca and Magus. Many of the secrets of the universe she learns are passed onto the audience simultaneously. While I am always impressed by the mysticism and knowledge Coehlo is able to bequeath his readers, this novel seemed to lack the story development that all his other novels have. His novels Eleven Minutes, Veronika Decides to Die, The Devil and Miss Pryn, The Alchemist, The Fifth Mountain, etc...all have beautiful mystical qualities about them as well as stories that live on in my mind. Brida felt almost as though I was reading a guide to the Wiccan tradition. Her story didn't matter to me like his other character's stories still do. Brida is not without merit, though

posted by Anonymous on July 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic read

    A wonderful book very much in the style Paulo's become renowned for. Anyone who's read several of his books may enjoy that brida clarifies and adds to the witch of portabello, being of the same vein, and reading them both would enliven the experiance of each. The character of Brida is portrayed extremely well, never being a static cliche person, her moods and values are constantly shifting, she has weak moments and is capable of real insight, her faults make her real, and that means you can really get into the story. I've been a huge fan of Paulo's books for years, and this is easily one of his best. lf you're looking for a book that will take you places you never thought were in the world this is it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Paul Coelho does it again

    I picked up this book after reading two of Coelho's other titles. I think this one is the best because it has a female protagonist. The story is a mixture of heroine on a quest, the search for the meaning and purpose in life and how to find ones soul mate. I found Coelho's use of past lives and the concept of we live the experience over and over till we get it right especially appealing! I recommend this book to readers who want to experience spirituality in the classic Coelho story telling style. A good gift for a person transitioning from one stage of life to another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Sensually & Hypnotic Tale.

    This story was very fantastic and enjoyable. Also a quick read. So the book is a real page turner. Not a waste of time at all.The tale is very unique,and beautifully written. From all the characters senses, details and setting.

    This is the first time I've read a novel from Paulo Coelho.
    Brida is a young female character who experiences much growth & change through out the story both with her 2 mentors Wicca and Magus. Many of the secrets of the universe she learns are passed onto the audience simultaneously. A great fantasy with a twist of erotics blended beautifully well together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    Take II

    While I've not yet read this book I shall as I am taken to new places with Coehlo. Had I already read Brida I'm pretty sure I'd write a take II kind of review from that of my predecessor's. Coehlo's stories are never meant for the narrow-minded they become too scary.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A must have!

    This book helped me to realize that I was doing the same thing as Brida. I've always known what I was supposed to be doing, but I kept searching for something else. After reading this book, I accepted what my destiny was and life has been moving forward wonderfully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Brida In English

    ..great book, although i have read the spanish edition and have found the spanish version to be a little bit better in the writing style..some things just dont translate the same to english..wonderful story line..life lessons..great overall message and the tale sometimes makes you reflect on your life and path..so easy to read..a little bit of romance, quest, magic..the characters are really interesting..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Wonderful!

    By far one of the best books I have ever read! I read this book for the book club I am in and as soon as I finished reading it I went out and bought 2 more of this authors books. This book has a creative use of pagan and christian beliefs and opens up the readers mind to non traditional beliefs. It was great book to read with a book club as it brought up many topics of coversation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Another good read

    This is indeed another wonderful book by the fabulous Paulo Coelho!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2