Customer Reviews for

Bridal Bargains: Secrets to Throwing a Fantastic Wedding on a Realistic Budget

Average Rating 5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    After getting engaged I went to Barnes and Noble and picked up w

    After getting engaged I went to Barnes and Noble and picked up way too many bridal books. I have read Bridal Bargains the most and certainly has been the most helpful.  They give so much practical advise and suggest vendors I wouldn't have discovered on my own. I love this book, EXCEPT parts are out of date. I fell in love with a invitation from a recommended website in Bridal Bargains. The book stated the online vendor has a relationship with a membership only warehouse store and offers a 25% discount on invitations. I was thrilled, until I contacted the vendor and was told their relationship with the warehouse ended in 2011. I'm disappointed, I thought I found my dream invite and would save some money! Hopefully the book will be updated soon. However,  I'd still recommend to other brides as the book is filled with some much helpful information.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    I read this book with in 3 days!! I NEVER would have thought abo

    I read this book with in 3 days!! I NEVER would have thought about half of the great ideas to save us money for our wedding. This book is a MUST to plan your wedding with out filing bankruptcy afterwards. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Great dress info!!

    Hands down the best information on gown search, care I've read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Great tips!

    I used this book and kept my wedding classy and beautiful for 1500$. You won't be able to use everything in the book, but it's a great read - and great to pass on to the next bride-to-be!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    The only book a bride needs to buy

    This book is incredibly helpful. There are very informative articles, ratings about major wedding vendors, and resources (online and helpful tips). Every chapter is worth reading and re-reading when it's time to hire vendors and write contracts. This book has helped me to avoid falling for scams and how to negotiate a best price!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    Awesome Book! Great tips! A must have for all brides-to-be.

    I was looking through the bridal section of the bookstore when I ran across this book. Unlike the other budget books I have read before this seemed to speak to me on a more personal level. As if the writer basically felt the same way I was feeling; "Overwhelmed" with bridal planning. The ideas in saving from the wedding dress to centerpieces is well worth the price of the book. Never knew how the bridal industry works and the shocking stories of past bride experiences. This book is dedicated to helping future brides and all advices are from previous brides who shared their experiences (good & bad). I highly recommend and will definitely pass this book along to my friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    The Best Wedding Book I Bought

    This is truly the best wedding book I bought. It is so helpful and packed with great information.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2004

    Only wedding book you will need!

    Great reference. The pages are worn I used it so much! It is now being passed around to all of my 'bride-to-be' friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2003

    I'm still recommending this book!!!

    I read an earlier edition of this book in 1994 while planning my dream wedding. I had a gorgeous, eligant wedding that was under $5000.00. This book saved me over $300.00 on my wedding gown alone!!! Now that I'm the Wedding Coordinator at my church I recommend this book to every bride! I'm with Oprah, you have to buy this book!!! CZ

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2003

    A MUST READ!

    I don't know what I would have done without this book. It has tips for saving money on every aspect of a wedding. It gives suggestions for tasteful solutions -- saving money while maximizing class. There is no tackiness in this book! It's awesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2003

    This Book Really Saved Me Money!

    There are so many wedding books in stores that claim to help you have a wonderful wedding with a small budget. I think that I have more books on wedding than books from my college education. But this book was the only book that actually saved me money. I just was married two weeks ago and this book saved my mothers checking account. There are so many helful hints and tips in this book that I read it twice. This book helped me find a brand new wedding dress for $300 and my veil/tiara for $80. The products that they suggest are wonderful and they have really creative ideas for everything from decorating to favors. I have now passed this book onto one of my bridesmaids to help her with her wedding.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2003

    The best book for ALL Brides to have!

    This book was incredible to point out the pros and cons (and give them a rating) of dress shops, Dress manufacturers and on line ordering services. It also tells you how to save money on invitations and the photographer. Hands down- the best book for planning a wedding (it would make a great gift for the bride on a budget).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2003

    This book is a MUST HAVE for brides-to-be!!!

    This book gives so much valuable information!!! It tells you what to look for and what to look out for when planning your wedding. It also offers a lot of ways to cut corners while still having an elegant ceremony and reception. I encourage all brides to read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2003

    Affordable options

    Bridal bargains offers many affordable options for weddings. From dresses, to shoes, sites, tuxes, to flowers, this book offers suggestions of websites to look at and creative options for any budget. I would highly reccommend it for any bride.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2003

    Bridal Shop Scams

    I've only gotten through half of this book so far but it is great advice and tips that the authors give you. Their insite has already opened my eyes as to how bridal shops can easily rip brides off and they don't even realize it. I plan on buying this book for my engaged friends to read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2002

    This book was fantastic!

    I truly enjoyed every minute of reading this book. It was so informative and the research was excellent. It provides you with website info and realistic views of bridal gown designers (they rated each one) and the pros and cons of using the web for your flowers and purchasing your gown. It provided a lot of information that all brides need to know about. I would strongly advise all brides or their family members to purchase this book it's worth putting into your bridal budget. This book saved me a lot of time and $$$.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2002

    A Common Sense Bridal Book??????

    I have read a lot of bridal planning books but this is by far the best I have come across. The authors are smart people with real world lives and a lot of valuable tips, REAL WORLD implementable tips. They include a lot of specific information -- reviews of bridal designers, websites for EVERYTHING, great suggestions on all sorts of cost cutting tips. VERY SMART!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2001

    Reality Check

    I'm in the middle of planning the most expensive party I've ever thrown (my wedding) and I have picked up a couple of great books on how to not break the bank. While the authors spend most of their time on how to have a traditional wedding less expensively, there are some pieces of indispensable advice. For example, tell a caterer you are planning a family reunion and not a wedding and see how the price goes down! The wedding scene is a gigantic racket with all sorts of various schemes to bleed dry a bride and her parent's bank account. This book is a great reality check, forcing the bride to really think about what she really wants and what is so silly that she only considered adding it to her wedding because 12 of her friends did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2001

    The Best Gift to Give an Engaged Couple

    This was the one and only wedding book my husband and I used when we got married in 1999. We thought it was so great, we now give it as an engagement gift each time someone we know gets engaged. Very practical!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2000

    Get married- don't go broke!

    This is a great book if you're getting married but you're not made of money. Not every topic in this book will apply to every wedding, but there are tons of useful cost-saving and general planning tips; such as questions you should ask different vendors or ways to save money without sacrificing your dream wedding. If you're only buying one book on wedding planning, this is the one- unless you really don't mind spending more than you need to on your wedding.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3