Customer Reviews for

The Bride

Average Rating 4.5
( 550 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(397)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

The BEST of the best written by a genius.

My favorite of all Julie Garwood books. Her other books are works of art but THE BRIDE is the work of an artistic genius. Can you tell I love this story?

I've read this book at least 10 times since it was written and have just downloaded to my Nook so I can read it...
My favorite of all Julie Garwood books. Her other books are works of art but THE BRIDE is the work of an artistic genius. Can you tell I love this story?

I've read this book at least 10 times since it was written and have just downloaded to my Nook so I can read it again.

Julie Garwood, thank you for writing books.

posted by SandyX on June 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Too much cheese & sausage

Forgive the crude title, but that sums up my opinion of this book. How was it a best-seller?? The plot is trite, the characters are flat & inconsistent, there's little build-up or suspense despite the murderer-on-the-loose sub-plot, and the love scenes were so frequent ...
Forgive the crude title, but that sums up my opinion of this book. How was it a best-seller?? The plot is trite, the characters are flat & inconsistent, there's little build-up or suspense despite the murderer-on-the-loose sub-plot, and the love scenes were so frequent and overblown that I skipped over most of them. Jamie is adored by everyone, yet isn't an extraordinary character in any way except her beauty. The love and loyalty of the clan is so easily and quickly won that it has no value. To top it off, these supposedly proud warriors constantly singing Jamie's praises to each other just made me want to gag. Ugh.

If this book were twice as long, with at least half the Jamie-praising & s/he loves me, s/he loves me not time dedicafed to plot and character-development, this could have been so good. As it is, if you want a satisfying narrative about a strong woman and her highland laird, read Gabaldon's "Outlander" series. (I know I was hard on Garwood here... to be fair, this is only the second of her books I've read, and I actually enjoyed Lion's Lady quite a bit more.)

posted by jslJS on February 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    Couldn't give a 5, but still loved it.

    It was just too similar to The Secret. I LOVED the secret and read first. Iain/ Judith were pretty much the same characters as Alec/Jamie. The writing seemed to repeat in this book too ( not sure which was written first) I swear some sentences were reused or the description of something. Overall I would recommend this book. I do like Julie Garwoods writing style, but just felt the two books were to much alike. Especially since I read them back to back.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Touching

    Very good read

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2014

    First, Julie Garwood is an amazing historical romance author. Sh

    First, Julie Garwood is an amazing historical romance author. She is in my top five! Second, I love this book. I’ve read it so many times and every time it melts my heart.
    Alec has been ordered by the king select and wed an English woman. Not thrilled by the idea, he sets off to meet Lord Jamison. Upon arriving at Lord Jamison’s keep, he spies Jamie – a stubborn beauty – and decides then and there that she will be his.
    Jamie had heard a wild Scotsman was heading their way. She even tried her best to keep her sisters calm, knowing that one of them would have to wed the Highland barbarian. She didn’t suspect she would be the one chosen – there is almost a Cinderella essence to the storyline which I enjoyed.
    The relationship between the main characters is a bit rocky in the beginning, which is normal for a historical romance. Alec and Jamie are very stubborn and this leads to the occasional confusion and misunderstandings. However, their attraction for one another is very real. Alec certainly is charming and sweet during his process of seduction – again normal for a historical romance. I really liked how Jamie’s character grows through the story. Being with Alec and free of her overbearing step-father and sisters, she finds herself and she finds happiness.
    The book has some entertaining twists, complete with attempted murder and a massive cover up. The arc of the story was fantastic, the author kept everything on point. After re-reading this book, I remember why I love historical romances. I have come across a Julie Garwood historical I haven’t liked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2014

    I have read most of her Highlander books. this one is my favorit

    I have read most of her Highlander books. this one is my favorite!!! the other highlander books were good enough. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Dm49

    I was looking for a new author and was very happy to find this writer. The writing is funny,fresh,and heartwarming. It is an easy read that makes you happy and content. The charactors are likable and the plot is entertaining. It really is a page turner because it is so enjoyable. It was the perfect escape from lifes stresses. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    A funny and enchanting romance novel.

    I enjoy Julie Garwood. Typical of her style of writing she is able to portray the differences between men and women in a humorous way. It is an ejoyable romance novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    I liked this book a lot! It kept me turning the page. This is a

    I liked this book a lot! It kept me turning the page. This is a great book if you love historical romances!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Great read

    I didn't want to put it down, though Saving Grace is my favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    Recommended greatly!!

    This is my second book for Julie Garwood and I loved them both. I can not wait to read the rest. I really like the stories about Highlanders and romance and castles and love.....really nice and well written. Thanks you , Julie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Great Garwood book

    I love all her highlander books! This one was really good! I love how the men always seem so tough but give in! Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Love it

    Very cute story

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved would reread!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Such a wonderful story

    This is one of my fave re reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    Not your typical blushing bride...

    Most brides spend months choosing the right dress this one picked it out in a few minutes and wore black:) I have read the first book of the Outlander series and althoug this is not as complex or detailed I found it just as or maybe even more enjoyable to read. Just the right amount of romance and suspense. And Jamie the Highlander warrier will have you wishing you could leap back in time!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    Warriors rock

    I loved this book. After having read the Outlander series I was interested in more scottish warriors and Alec Kincaid delivers! I just wish Julie Garwood would continue the characters in other books. You get hooked on Alec and Jamie and wish you could read about their life after this book. Otherwise great book for the beach or a rainy day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2006

    Very good

    i really liked this book. It was my first julie Garwood book. There are a few parts that younger people shouldn't read but it is a perfect 'adult' book. Very spicy and sultry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2003

    Great

    This is the first book that I've read by Julie Garwood. I liked it alot. It was funny, sweet, and romantic. I loved the way that Alec and Jamie grew to love each other and learn to accept each other's differences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2000

    GREAT!

    I can sum ths book in 3 words: Great,Funny,Wonderfull!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5