Customer Reviews for

The Bride Collector

Average Rating 4
( 342 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(148)

4 Star

(117)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Dekker Delivered

When I first heard about Bride Collector, I was... skeptical, to say the least. For me, Boneman's Daughters had been an almost enormous let down, and I wasn't going to get my hopes up for this book. I figured it would just be a Boneman carbon copy with wives replacing t...
When I first heard about Bride Collector, I was... skeptical, to say the least. For me, Boneman's Daughters had been an almost enormous let down, and I wasn't going to get my hopes up for this book. I figured it would just be a Boneman carbon copy with wives replacing the daughters.
...boy. Was I wrong.
Boneman's Daughters is a book so unlike yet so similar to his other writigs; the common, indelible Dekker threads of good vs. evil, love vs. hate and human nature vs. God's nature are unmistakably there, yet he introduces a new element that was, of course, obviously in his other books, but wasn't expanded upon. The realm of the insane and the mentally ill.
Dekker reflects on the true brilliance of the mentally unstable, and his theories and ideas will almost make you wish you were insane. What if, just what if the rest of the world is wrong, and it is the insane that have the true grasp of reality? What if those that are mentally ill are not so at all, but are lights hidden under a bowl? You begin to slowly yet decisively, systematically question everything you thought was true, and be careful... if you don't guard your heart you might just fall into the killer's logic.
The plot is spectacularly laid out, the villian himself convoluted yet understandable, undeniably evil yet... you being to wonder if what he's doing is right or wrong.
Then there is Paradise; Paradise will make you cry and laugh, shiver with rejection and acceptance. She will tear your heart out, wipe it clean and shove it back into your chest. Two extremes on the universal moral scale.... yet it seems, at some point, these two extremes are not as extreme as one might think.
Bottom line... get this book. Without a doubt. It's twists and turns will leave your heart pounding and your mind racing, leaving you unable to even think of putting the book down. It's bloody, it's gruesome, it's disturbing, it's utterly, unbelievably beautiful.
~Bless me Father, for I will sin.~

posted by Marsuvees on May 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A MEDIOCRE MIND

This was my first Ted Dekker book. What a WASTE of my time and money! Reading it was like watching a third-rate thriller movie, the kind you watch with your friends just for the pleasure of passing around a few witty remarks. This book has almost all the details down pa...
This was my first Ted Dekker book. What a WASTE of my time and money! Reading it was like watching a third-rate thriller movie, the kind you watch with your friends just for the pleasure of passing around a few witty remarks. This book has almost all the details down pat to suit that genre too: cheap lines, unnecessary details to fluff up the pages and mask the lack of depth in plot and character development, and a very instant & cheesy romance that comes about at the end with full on intensity and little spadework. All in all, it's a mediocre effort of a mediocre mind.

posted by FSumbal on August 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    So Many Weak Points It Dripped Like a Soggy Paper Towel

    The book follows an FBI agent, Raines, supposedly a serial killer expert but his work goes from sloppy and awkward to flat out stupidity. Considering the book is about a ritual killer, one of the so-called experts, a psychologist at that, hasn't even taken basic criminology: "Most are well educated, financially stable, often good looking, seemingly well-adjusted people. Unlike mass murderers, whose delusions feed beliefs of supremacy, serial killers act for personal gain or revenge. They do so in a calculated, thoughtful way." [p12, eBook] As even a fleeting glance at the national database for serial killers, organized by the FBI, would tell you that this single sentence is wrong in no less than five ways it's hard not to classify this novel as criminally stupid. There are many who are isolated, unorganized, poorly educated, and/or with unstable incomes. The vast majority have criminal records. A variety of motivations exist, including at least three types of killers who feel mission-oriented as if singled out for a necessary duty. The other point of focus is mental instability of the female protagonist and love interest who lives in a upper class psych clinic. Paradise is a stringy haired pixie of a woman with the maturity of a young teen. She's actively delusional, though she seems able to tell which delusions are delusions and which are what it seems are psychic imprints/actual ghosts. In the end, while she sees the face of the killer it's so traumatic she immediately blocks it out. Interestingly, she's being given an (unnamed) medication to manage her schizophrenia without her knowledge. It seems to be the one magic psychiatric med with no serious side effects. Conveniently when she misses a single dose within a few hours she begins to actively hallucinate, a plot twist so unbelievable it's ridiculous. The other characters with psychiatric disorders are flat, repetitive, and oh so much more crazy than the relatively stable and merely eccentric Paradise. Agent Raines empathizes with her, comparing his struggle to hers because, gasp, he knows what it feels like to be alone. Lucky for Paradise Raines is just the guy to help her out of her deeply ingrained fear of men stemming from her father's abuse. In a handful of meetings she wants to jump his bones and even mentions marriage once or twice. Paradise is special so she's only ill in the most convenient of ways and is very beautiful, not like all those strange nut jobs. Ted Dekker seems to be the sort of guy who thinks that stringy hair and two showers a week can make a beautiful woman plain or unattractive but not to worry as he orchestrates a makeover just in time for the climax. His descriptions of schizotypal behavior come off as second or third hand from someone who doesn't really understand the disorder. From back to front the psychiatric part of the plot is insulting, dismissive, and inaccurate in the worst of ways. The 3 POVs don't even manage distinct, with many similarities between killer, agent, and patient. Without the flowery language and a number of unnecessary plot twists this book could have been half the length to its benefit. Horrifyingly, I could go on, which says something in itself. Please, please save your money because if there was any justice Dekker wouldn't benefit so much as another nickel for this trite, poorly researched, illogical mess.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    A MEDIOCRE MIND

    This was my first Ted Dekker book. What a WASTE of my time and money! Reading it was like watching a third-rate thriller movie, the kind you watch with your friends just for the pleasure of passing around a few witty remarks. This book has almost all the details down pat to suit that genre too: cheap lines, unnecessary details to fluff up the pages and mask the lack of depth in plot and character development, and a very instant & cheesy romance that comes about at the end with full on intensity and little spadework. All in all, it's a mediocre effort of a mediocre mind.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    His other books are better!

    Not Ted Dekker's best book. This book was too predictable, and boring. He should leave this kind of romance thriller behind and stick with classic Dekker. This was such a waste of his talent, but no hard feelings Ted, you're still one of my favorite authors!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Ugh

    Nikki is ineffectual and brings no insight into the case, like most fictional forensic psychologists; Brad is egocentric and obnoxious. Why would anyo ne want to read about such unlikable characters? First, give me characters with whom I can empathize, then worry about the plot. I don't care how well plotted a book is if the protagonists don't appeal to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Anon

    This was a very slow read and i lost interest several times throughout the book. I almost gave up reading it. I would not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    worst Ted Dekker book I've read

    I have read several Ted Dekker books and loved them. Not this one. The murder scenes in this book are so detailed and gruesome, it leaves you feeling guilty for reading them. His other books had moral lessons somewhere along the story line. If this book did, I sure missed it. I've read other books by secular authors that were much better, and less gruesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    DISAPPOINTED

    This book was so confusing. The killer was so psychotic and focused on Paradise that you were sure there had to be a personal connection. Brad is just as confused and unreal as the rest of the characters. I won't be reading this author again!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    A cheap cheesy read.

    A dull romance novel with references to God, good vs. evil, and a creepy killer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1