Customer Reviews for

A Bride Most Begrudging

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I can see why it's a bestseller. A must read...

I found the subject matter of this book (a forced marriage under dreadful circumstances) extremely captivating. How does one who has full marriage rights grow to love a stranger enough to want to be married to them in all ways? The tension in this story was highly belie...
I found the subject matter of this book (a forced marriage under dreadful circumstances) extremely captivating. How does one who has full marriage rights grow to love a stranger enough to want to be married to them in all ways? The tension in this story was highly believable and exciting to read. A real page turner. The historical element and Constance's bumblings at trying to be a good colonial wife was thoroughly intriguing and very sympathetic. I felt like I was in the colonies with her and couldn't stop reading. I was so glad when the couple finally admitted their feelings to each other, but then I wanted to slap Drew for thinking it best for her to be shipped back to England where she'd be 'happier.' I wanted to cry with Constance when Drew started avoiding her and refusing to get close. How painful and real. I won't say anymore or it may spoil some of the details for the reader. Overall this was a satisfying read with a wonderfully written spiritual element and moving romance theme. I'd love to see more books published by this author. It doesn't get better than this!

posted by MichelleSutton on January 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good clean story

Being a christian book I wasn't sure I would really get into it. Not that there is anything wrong with a clean book just not my normal read. That being said, I really enjoyed this book. Drew was so tough yet sweet. This book kinda sucks you in. One minute I thought I co...
Being a christian book I wasn't sure I would really get into it. Not that there is anything wrong with a clean book just not my normal read. That being said, I really enjoyed this book. Drew was so tough yet sweet. This book kinda sucks you in. One minute I thought I couldn't read it any more and next minute I couldn't put it down. Sweet!

posted by wendydae2 on February 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Bride Most Begrudging

    Lady Constance Morrow only boarded the ship because she wanted to bid her uncle goodbye. Unfortunately, a deceptively simple choice leads to her being kidnapped, sold as a tobacco bride and then won on a gamble by Drew O'Conner. When she is forced into a marriage of convenience, she remains convinced that once her father hears of her misfortune, he will bring her back to England. What she does not count on is the strong attraction between her and her new husband. But this is only one of many struggles that she faces. Will their growing love survive the struggles that rage inside each of them?

    This was actually my second time reading A Bride Most Begrudging and I had the same opinion of it that I had the first time. I loved the story. It is well-written and the pace is perfect. There is plenty of romance and even the occasional moment of humor. I loved the characters and the depth that the author gave to them. However, the sexual overtones are so strong that they almost overpower the story. It's just a matter of personal taste whether or not that would bother a reader. Deeanne Gist is known for her edgy fiction and most of the time I love her books, but this one is actually my least favorite by her.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Nice Surprise!

    I was at Sam's Club checking out the book section and bought this one along with Courting Trouble and its sequel, Deep in the Heart of Trouble. Honestly, the synopsis on the back cover of A Bride Most Begrudging didn't appeal to me as much as the Trouble books, but I bought them in case I devoured the other two too fast. And I did, which led me to reaidng this one. It was certainly not a disappointment, but rather a nice surprise. The characters felt nice and flshed out - just the way I like them. I really like the whole angle with Contance's math thing - it really added something to the novel. I definately recommend it to anyone who enjoys historical fiction or even just looking for something new to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I can see why it's a bestseller. A must read...

    I found the subject matter of this book (a forced marriage under dreadful circumstances) extremely captivating. How does one who has full marriage rights grow to love a stranger enough to want to be married to them in all ways? The tension in this story was highly believable and exciting to read. A real page turner. The historical element and Constance's bumblings at trying to be a good colonial wife was thoroughly intriguing and very sympathetic. I felt like I was in the colonies with her and couldn't stop reading. I was so glad when the couple finally admitted their feelings to each other, but then I wanted to slap Drew for thinking it best for her to be shipped back to England where she'd be 'happier.' I wanted to cry with Constance when Drew started avoiding her and refusing to get close. How painful and real. I won't say anymore or it may spoil some of the details for the reader. Overall this was a satisfying read with a wonderfully written spiritual element and moving romance theme. I'd love to see more books published by this author. It doesn't get better than this!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Quite possibly my favorite books! Love, love this book. I fell

    Quite possibly my favorite books! Love, love this book. I fell in love with both characters, as well as Grandma, Mary & Sally. Every character was shaped and molded and easily relatable. I've read it multiple times and every time I still get excited and can't put it down. No doubt, this is my favorite book of Deeanne Gists. Would absolutely recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Good clean story

    Being a christian book I wasn't sure I would really get into it. Not that there is anything wrong with a clean book just not my normal read. That being said, I really enjoyed this book. Drew was so tough yet sweet. This book kinda sucks you in. One minute I thought I couldn't read it any more and next minute I couldn't put it down. Sweet!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Amazing

    One of my favorite books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Awesome!

    Could not put this down! I was totally on the edge of my seat!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    Really good summer read!

    This is a really touching, romantic book. I've read it a couple times now and everytime I reread it I enjoy it. The characters are interesting, the historical period is engaging and the plot is very sweet, even if a bit predictable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A fantastic colonial romance

    In 1643, Lady Constance Morrow says goodbye to her beloved Uncle Skelly, a prisoner on board the Randolph. Skelly failed to bow to the king so he will spend the next seven years as an indentured prisoner in the Virginia Colonies. Before Constance can leave the vessel, the captain and his crew abduct her and toss her in with the other female detainees.................... Two months later Constance is for sale in Virginia while Skelly died on board. To the spirited lass¿ chagrin odious tobacco farmer Emmett wins the booty. However, Drew O¿Connor collects the prize having won Constance in a card game. He takes her to his tobacco farm where he only wants her to serve as a maid and companion to his younger sister. He definitely does not want marriage still mourning the death of his beloved Leah. Drew rejects Constance¿s babble that she is the kidnapped daughter of an earl until he realizes she can¿t cook or clean or do anything domestic, but he desires her. She falls in love with her employer.................... A BRIDE MOST BEGRUDGING is a fantastic colonial romance that highlights the plight of women and incarcerated indentured servants. The gist of the story line provides a vivid look at the mid seventeenth century Virginia Colony, especially life on a tobacco farm. The lead couple is a delightful pairing as he begins to believe her only after he sees how domestically pathetic except for their kisses she is. The support cast is a bit extreme either being real nice folks or loathsome soulless thugs. Still Virginia and the prime lovers make for a wonderful historical tale............. Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    I recommend this book to those who enjoy historical novels.

    I enjoy historical novels and this just fit the bill. This book was an easy read and it was definitely not trashy. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys history based novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    Enjoyable

    Yet predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    This is my first book by Deanne Gist...and I fell in love with h

    This is my first book by Deanne Gist...and I fell in love with her writing style. I absoultely loved this book...great plot..
    the characters were well developed...and it had a nice pace to it. I will be getting all her books to read now..what a 
    awesome author! 


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    excellent read

    Deanne Gist is one of my favorite authors. I have most of her books on my nook and reread them periodically. her research into the culture and time period of her writings is clearly evident. Her characters are fully developed. all her books tell a beautiful love story for God and each other. I highly recommend all of her books and look forward to new releases.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Entertaining romp with historical references.

    A top notch romance novel backed up with historical references that lend a credible feel to the story. Even though it has the ear markings for "jumping to conclusions" without any grounds to substantiate their imaginations working overtime--it was a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Educated Woman, Reluctant Hero

    A Bride Most Begrudging. Just look at the title. How can that not intrigue you?!
    This is my first Deeanne Gist book and I thoroughly enjoyed this read. When hero, Drew O'Conner sees someone in trouble, he must needs help. Even if it's a woman with red hair. Which he professes to hate. Both of them forced into a marriage by the rules of the colony, their emotions dance around each other in the usual, yet beguiling two-step. When you think all is faring well and you're ready for the happily ever after ending, Ms. Gist withholds it yet again. I must admit. There was a moment when I really. SERIOUSLY. wanted to slap Drew. Several times just so he wouldn't miss my point!

    But, when you find yourself screaming at the main character, wiping tears off your cheeks, and laughing out loud, these are all the earmarks of a fantastic story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    good christian fiction

    another good read by gist

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful and awesome!!

    This is an awesome book! I must be reading these in the right order, because this is my 3rd Gist book, and they have all gotten progressively better. It took me a while to get used to the terminology, the way the characters spoke, and especially they way they treated certain people. But once I saw the true personalities of certain characters, I adapted easily. It also took me a while to get into the story, but once I got about 1/3 of the way through, it was very hard to put down (I lost many hours of sleep at night, because I'd say, "one more chapter... one more chapter...") There wasn't as many ups and downs throughout the book, the beginning was like a huge climb, and then the last parts really jolted you with some quick turns and dips. I came away with a couple things from this book. First, you can't judge a book by its cover. You really got to get to know people and their personality and character before you dismiss them and potentially miss out on something that could be great. And that's not only for people but also new places or surroundings. Give things a chance; they just might grow on you. Second, always trust God and give everything to Him in all our situations. Just because we're in a situation we think we don't want to be in or was forced into, doesn't mean that isn't where we belong. God can turn the worst into the best, and He definitely directs our path in the direction we should go and where we can receive abundant blessings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    Wonderful Read

    Lady Constance Morrow experienced more than she bargained for when she came on board the ship in the year 1643 to bid her uncle farewell. After sneaking out of the house and leaving without a chaperone, something was bound to go wrong. Her uncle was traveling to America to endure seven years as an indentured servant. While bidding her uncle goodbye, the captain of the ship kidnapped her and took her prisoner to become a tobacco bride to be sold to an American colonist. When I began to read this book, I did not think that it would become one of the best I have ever read. I would certainly recommend it to any romance novel enthusiast. While in America, Constance has the adventure and experiences of a lifetime. She also meets her one true love. Of the numerous romantic novels I have read, A Bride Most Begrudging is definitely one of my favorites.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    At times it did get a little predictable but still a good read.

    After a misunderstanding, a young woman name Constance claims to be the daughter of an Earl then gets married to a guy name Drew and has to wait for some months till her father receives her letter of her current whereabouts. Until then, she must keep her distance from her husband but slowly gets to know him and the ways of the farm as the days go by. The bickering between Drew and Constance reminded me a little bit of Elizabeth and Darcy. I don't know. I liked how Constance learned to interact with everyone, while learning something about her self as well as Drew. All the while getting used to her new surroundings. The end surprised me but at the same time it didn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    Christian Romance that actually thrills!

    I downloaded the eBook initially because it was free, thinking anything free would be a boring - or even worse, crappy - read. How wrong I was! I liked this book a lot, although it did start pretty slow. By the fourth chapter the pace had picked up and you could feel the crackle between the characters! The story is a refreshing change from the all-too-focused-on-sex romances that seem to be only describing the act itself rather than dwell on the story. Definitely download-worthy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5