Customer Reviews for

A Bride in the Bargain

Average Rating 4.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Deeanne Gist once again spins a great story to engage the imagination and challenge the heart.

This was not only a fun read but totally captivating. Great escapism while daring you to hope and dream for the characters to rise above their past problems and hurts; and embrace love and one another. I had so much fun with this book I couldn't put it down and then I d...
This was not only a fun read but totally captivating. Great escapism while daring you to hope and dream for the characters to rise above their past problems and hurts; and embrace love and one another. I had so much fun with this book I couldn't put it down and then I didn't want it to end.

posted by JBINGHAM on March 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

disappointed

I'm surprised to find I'm the only one not thrilled by this book. The 3rd book I own by Deanne Gist and I never should have purchased it ..... and wouldn't have it I hadn't gotten it for so cheap. Though Deanne Gist is a well-written author, all of her books have bored ...
I'm surprised to find I'm the only one not thrilled by this book. The 3rd book I own by Deanne Gist and I never should have purchased it ..... and wouldn't have it I hadn't gotten it for so cheap. Though Deanne Gist is a well-written author, all of her books have bored me to tears. None of her heroines are likable, and in general the characters aren't interesting or well-developed. Many things the characters do simply are just not believable, as in the way a real person would act. So no more Gist for me. I much prefer Lynn Austin's fascinating novels.

posted by 2560428 on January 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable historical fiction

    A Bride in the Bargain by Deeanne Gist is an enjoyable historical fiction novel. The setting is 1860s in Seattle.

    Anna Ivey leaves her home and heads West, signing on to be a cook. Joe Denton has signed a contract with Asa Mercer for a bride. His land is at stake if he doesn't get a bride within the time frame set by the judge. Mercer delivers Anna who has only agreed to be a cook. One might think Anna will agree to be Joe's bride, but she will not budge on her position against marriage. Will Joe be able to find a bride before it's too late and he loves his beloved land?

    This is the first book I read by this author, and I enjoyed it. I found it interesting that actual events were used to create the story. I have read many Christian books and found some of the details in this one to be a bit much. There were no inappropriate scenes but a couple times I felt like too much was said regarding Joe's thoughts towards Anna. The setting, characters, and story were all entertaining and it is well written in my opinion.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    Good, quick read

    Nice story line, no smut, and a bit of history to boot! I enjoyed this quick, easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    MUST READ!

    I enjoyed this book very much. It holds a lot of interesting history and a great lot of imagination. I definitely recommend it for young and old!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2014

    Very good read.

    I had not read a book from Mrs. Gist in a few years. I recieved an email from her about discounts on her books and decided to get one. I truly enjoyed this book. I thought it was more realistic than some christain novels where people never touch or just hold hands. I like knowing the leading characters thoughts. The story was well developed and kept me interested. I would have liked an epilogued to know about their lives five or ten years later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    Good read

    ?..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great historical fiction

    Ahhh, another Deeanne Gist historical romance! How sweet it is! I enjoyed this particular book so much, it is actually based loosely on an actual event. Asa Mercer decides to leave the West and head East to bring brides back by ship for all the lonely fellows out West. Of course he charges the fellows a head hunters fee. Then he charges the women for passage. Then he hits the women up for more half way through passage and forgets to tell some of the women that they are actually supposed to get married to a pre-selected man when they get to their destination. And this is where we meet Anna who desperately needs a new start and thinks she is going to Seattle to be Joe Denten's cook and has no idea that Joe already has the wedding planned because without a bride he will lose half his land. When she refuses to get married everything spins out of Joe's control. But now if he actually falls for Anna, will she ever believe he wants her for any other reason than to just save his land?

    Deeanne has such a great writing style, it sends you back in time but makes you laugh and refreshes you while you read. I loved this particular book, a couple of hers have been a little more edgy than I needed, this one was a perfect blend of edgy and sweet and total fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Bride in the Bargain

    The year is 1866 and Joe Denton stands to lose his 640 acres of land in the Washington Territory if he does not find a wife. Anna Ivey is a young woman living in Massachusetts who has lost her entire family during the Civil War. A man named Asa Mercer has offered her a job working as a cook for a lumberjack and his crew in Seattle. Mercer has also promised to find a wife for Joe so he can keep his land. Anna arrives in Seattle expecting to be Joe's cook all the while Joe is expecting Anna to be his wife. When she learns the truth, she refuses to marry him, jeopardizing his land and his business. Joe must try to convince Anna to marry him before it's too late.

    A Bride in the Bargain by Deeanne Gist is a funny, romantic story about two people who love each other but are afraid to admit it. I thoroughly enjoyed this book from beginning to end. The author did a very good job developing Joe and Anna's characters and their love for one another. It was easy to see their chemistry in the pages of this book. Their little spats and teasing were very funny and realistic. Joe's crew was very endearing and added more humor to the story.

    Historical novels can be very good if they are done right. It must take a lot of research to put a story like this one together. I can tell that Deeanne did her homework for this book. I like how she added real people and real events in with this story. That made it more real and much more interesting. I found it fascinating, with Anna being a cook, the types of food she cooked, the way she cooked and how different cooking must have been in the 1860's. When you read this book, make sure you also read the Author's Note at the end. There are some interesting facts that add to the story.

    Fans of historical fiction will really like A Bride in the Bargain. I sure did like it. It is a fast read. There was a little more tension between Joe and Anna than I would have liked, but without conflict, there is not much reason to turn the page. Overall, this book is very good and I highly recommend it for anyone who wants a good love story with a beautiful setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Bargain for a Bride Most Begrudging

    On the east coast, then around the horn to the west coast this book spans the United States shortly after the Civil War. Being a southern girl through and through it was interesting for me to really feel for a character who could not be more devoted to her Union ties. Starting with nothing but loss and a past that is haunted by guilt not earned our heroine learns to get up and go on with life. The matter is she has to open her life to where God leads and not to where she is determined to be. Our hero is set and knows what he wants, but does not necessarily like what he has to do to get it. Until he accepts his fate and realizes that quite possibly God has a better plan that he. A bargain is made and if all goes well there might be a bride, but which one and will it be in time for everything else to be saved?



    The preface of the book is set on a historically accurate fact that a man did take it upon himself to go to the east coast to find wives (orphans - not in the children sense you think of, but girls old enough to marry with no family or other options and widows - women who were left alone with either children or not after the Civil War stole them of their husbands) for the men on the west coast. If you've read much historical fiction, you know many men went west for the land, the mining, and this case the lumberjacking as well. The man who was the "entrepreneur" was not an honest man, but he was not evil in the sense of some characters as well. He was just a man who did not always tell the whole truth.



    Other than just knowing that the women who were invited to participate in the exodus were from categories such as widows and orphans, there is no real emphasis on the fact or details of the past lives. So there is no dwelling sadness there as one might assume.



    In a way, I would very much relate a partial idea of the story to A Bride Most Begrudging. The location is completely different. The characters are completely different. The plot is completely different. But in a similar fashion there is a woman who the last thing on her mind was getting married, who finds out that it might not be up to her with her plans of what she once thought.



    How does that sound?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2