Customer Reviews for

The Bride's House

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Calling all Sandra Dallas fans -- You absolutely must read this!

    The Bride's House is an engaging history of 3 women who are bound by ties of their love for a house, the mining town in which it stands, and a secret that none of them know that they share. Each of the women is distinct, 3-dimensional, and true to her time and social status. Sandra Dallas also paints a vivid picture of what Georgetown looked like in its early days, and follows the mining town's ups and downs from the late 1800's through the mid 20th Century.

    I started reading the book while waiting for a mid-morning flight to Wyoming, and couldn't put it down (except for the minor interruption of a rocky flight in a 2-engine turboprop) until I finished it at nearly midnight.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    good read

    I enjoyed this book very much. It really makes you think about things and how live was like in the late ninteenth century and early twenth century.I am thinking about reading another book by this author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Its always a pleasure to revisit Colorado's mining towns with Sandra Dallas!

    The Bride's House begins in 1880 with Nealie, a young woman who has escaped her abusive father by fleeing to the mountains, to a small mining town called Georgetown. There she finds herself falling in love and dreams of living with her husband in a beautiful, grand house called the Bride's House. But willful and naive, Nealie ends up living in the Bride's House under very different circumstances than she expected. The story continues through three generations of women who live in the house, concealing their secrets within its walls, and fighting for the love none of them are sure they deserve.

    One of the best books Sandra Dallas has written yet! She strikes the perfect balance between history and romantic novel, adding rich detail about the development of copper, silver and molybdenum mining in Colorado with plenty of betrayals, secrets and plot twists to keep the pages turning. While the women who inhabit the Bride's House are grandmother, daughter, and granddaughter, Dallas gives them all distinct personalities, allowing each to continue the story of the woman before her, but also to have her own unique story.The particular challenges of living in a mining town flavor the book and in this one Dallas explores the vast gap between the rich owners and the poor miners. The Bride's House begins in 1880 with Nealie, a young woman who has escaped her abusive father by fleeing to the mountains, to a small mining town called Georgetown. There she finds herself falling in love and dreams of living with her husband in a beautiful, grand house called the Bride's House. But willful and naive, Nealie ends up living in the Bride's House under very different circumstances than she expected. The story continues through three generations of women who live in the house, concealing their secrets within its walls, and fighting for the love none of them are sure they deserve.

    One of the best books Sandra Dallas has written yet! She strikes the perfect balance between history and romantic novel, adding rich detail about the development of copper, silver and molybdenum mining in Colorado with plenty of betrayals, secrets and plot twists to keep the pages turning. While the women who inhabit the Bride's House are grandmother, daughter, and granddaughter, Dallas gives them all distinct personalities, allowing each to continue the story of the woman before her, but also to have her own unique story.The particular challenges of living in a mining town flavor the book and in this one Dallas explores the vast gap between the rich owners and the poor miners. Its always a pleasure to revisit Colorado's mining towns with Sandra Dallas!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an engaging family epic

    In 1880, seventeen year old Nealie Bent comes to booming mining town Georgetown, Colorado. Two men are attracted to the newcomer, miner Charlie Dumas and engineer Will Spaulding. Nealie turns to Will. They have an affair, but when she becomes pregnant, he leaves.

    Dependable Charlie marries Nealie and they live in the Bride's House. When Nealie dies giving birth to Pearl, Charlie raises her as if he is her biological father. No suitor is good enough for his girl as Pearl becomes Charlie's business partner. However when she falls in love with Frank Curry, he cannot let go of the only reminder he has of Nealie.

    This is an engaging family epic as three generations of females starting with Nealie seem to repeat similar relationship tragedies as if it is part of their DNA imprint. The cast in each era is fully developed as they bring alive that period and make what occurs seem genuine. The Bride's House reads more like three novellas though the transition from one female lead to the next is smooth. Readers will enjoy staying at the charming Bride's House where the hosts (Nealie, Pearl and her daughter Susan) have made into a warm home.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Fanstastic Book, Horrible Ending

    This was a fascinating book that I truly could not put down. I love the author's style of staying slightly detached from the characters giving each scene a stronger emotional impact with what she didn't say.

    This book reminds me of some of Nora Lofts' work, and I was thoroughly drawn in by the way she tied together the different tales set in the Bride's House.

    But the author didn't play fair with her readers. She cheated. We were there for everything that happened in Pearl's life. We saw everything she went through, felt the emotions, saw everything as she saw it. So it was contrived and inexplicable to throw it at us at the very end that we had somehow missed a major happening in Pearl's life.

    I loved this book right up until the end, which absolutely ruined the rest of it for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Love the characters

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Light and good

    Nice light read. Just a quick story but worthwhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    Just finished reading The Bride's House! Sandra Dallas is one o

    Just finished reading The Bride's House! Sandra Dallas is one of my favorite writers. Her stories depeict strong women facing and fighting challenges. This book was wonderful! I haven't found a book in her series that I haven't thoroughly loved! I have a copy of True Sisters which I am about to start. I am excited to jump into yet another of Sandra's works. I encourage everyone to enjoy her work!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    I love Georgetown, then and now!

    Sandra Dallas never disappoints. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    Great book.

    I love Sandra Dallas and this book did not dissapoint. A very moving story and the ending was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Like not love......

    I liked this book but was not in love with it. I guess I wanted happier endings all around. Still it was a good read. Prayers for sale was by far a better book. On to the next book.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Very good historical fiction!

    I really enjoyed this novel about three generations that lived in a beautiful house in a Colorado mining town. It held my interest and was just the kind of book I like--history mixed with interesting characters. Some interesting things for book clubs to discuss. I plan to read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2