Customer Reviews for

Brideshead Revisited

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!

This is truly my favorite book. It's like a world all of it's own, and I became very attached to that world almost immediately. Very poignant and mesmerizing.

posted by Galina on November 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Just OK

This book was just OK in my opinion. It was interesting in the beginning and it had some "hold your breath moments" but on the whole it wasn't that great. Actually, towards the end I found it kind of boring.

posted by Abbie09 on April 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    An engrossing read

    The book, which takes place in England between the Wars, follows the fortunes of the Marchmains, a disfunctional upper class family, as seen through the eyes of a young family friend, Charles Ryder. I listened to this on audiobook, read by Jeremy Irons, who co-starred in the PBS mini-series. I've listened to quite a few audiobooks, and Irons is undoubtedly the best reader I've heard. He does dozens of characters in this work and he voices each one distinctly and very convincingly. I would definitely recommend this version of an excellent book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    Amazing!

    This is truly my favorite book. It's like a world all of it's own, and I became very attached to that world almost immediately. Very poignant and mesmerizing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    When prose was not prosaic

    What could I possibly add that hasn't been stated, and stated better, about this classic? It is beautifully written...the prose is of another time, when conversation was carefully considered. If you want your novels to have a conversational tone reflecting the 21st century, it is not for you.

    The Everyman's Library books are beautifully made, fit wonderfully in one's hand, and are very affordable. I don't know about you, but I can't stand the feeling of a paperback (mass markets particularly).

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    Plan--Recommend

    Charles Ryder is a character a lot of young people today (like myself) can relate his skeptisism, if not disdain, for the professed beliefs of his Catholic family. Through a series of relationships each slightly deeper than the last he ultimately seems to find that the object of his affection in any relationship will not quench some innate human desire and so it must be cast aside for a more difficult but deeply divine relationship with the God he so disdained. Interesting because in today's world as perpetual students we continuously question all aspects of life in search of sensibility rather than the sentimentality that Charles originally assumes faith to be. Hmm...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Pleasure to Read

    So much has been wrote about Evelyn Waugh, and specially Brideshead Revisited The sacred and profane memories of Captain Charles Ryder. It is of little substance to add anything new, a marvelous little book full of flowing lyricism, and delicate sensibilities of an age bygone, in reality the subject matter is of little importance, and doesn't amount to much, if you want to be objective, however the mastery of construction, the economy of words, and phrases that convey such beauty, has brought me time, and again, to reread this book. I love the hardcover of Everyman Library. Highly recommended as an indulgent pleasure, akin to a good glass of wine, or a delicious rich dessert.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Just OK

    This book was just OK in my opinion. It was interesting in the beginning and it had some "hold your breath moments" but on the whole it wasn't that great. Actually, towards the end I found it kind of boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2000

    Brideshead Revisited

    One of two books that I recommend to everyone I speak to if the subject of liturature comes up. The other being Thomas Hardys: Far From the Maddening Crowd.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Experiencing pre-WWII English society

    I love this book, it unfolds characters, plots and scenery slowly but intensively. The book may seemed thick, but time simply passed by unnoticed once I started to read it. Brideshead Revisited describes an atmosphere that's gone forever; I sometimes think of it as a social-study textbook from college, but it is a tantalizing and charming read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    Must read this before you see the movie.

    I have read and re-read this book ever since PBS came out with the first Brideshead Revisited on TV. I am sort of looking forward to the new movie, but I really cannot see how anyone but Anthony Andrews could be Sebastian or Jeremy Irons as Charles Ryder. The story is a good one and the characters are that...real characters! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2004

    Classic

    This book is a great look at the fading wealth and power of the English Gentry during the Hanover dynasty. But, did anyone else notice the homoerotic subtext, like between Sebastian and Charles? Maybe that was just me, but still, very good read. It reminded me a bit of Maurice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2004

    A must

    Humour and tragedy in a fascinating story. Probably one of the best books ever written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2003

    A matter of taste

    This book is worth a read for one reason: Waugh very skillfully portrays the dysfunctions and excesses of aristocratic British life. You are able to pick up on the futility of their lives. That being said, I did not find this book to be a very flowing or easy read (hence the 4 stars instead of 5). I also do not generally like books where I'm left with a sense of loss and hopelessness. However, if you do like those types of books, then Waugh's poignancy is definitely not to be missed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2002

    Interesting Book

    This was a really thought provoking account of an outsider's view on a dysfunctional Catholic family. The plot twists surprised me and kept me interested throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2000

    A MUST FOR EVERY PERSONAL LIBRARY

    Great pace, narrative flow and story. Enough said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3