Customer Reviews for

Bridesmaid Lotto

Average Rating 4
( 490 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(211)

4 Star

(162)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

RACHEL ASTOR'S "BRIDESMAID LOTTO" (A REVIEW)

When Josie MacMasters is reluctantly entered into a contest to become one of the bridesmaids of a rich debutante she doesn't realize until too late just how insane the entire process is going to be. With the wedding looming 3 months away she is harassed by papparazi, lo...
When Josie MacMasters is reluctantly entered into a contest to become one of the bridesmaids of a rich debutante she doesn't realize until too late just how insane the entire process is going to be. With the wedding looming 3 months away she is harassed by papparazi, looked down upon by her peers, and thrown knee deep into a world she'd rather not be a part of. All this becomes a little better when she meets Jake Hall, the object of her one true desire.

This story is wonderfully written and fun! It contains just the right balance of humor, real life, and romance. A definite must read for those that love chick-lit and romance!

-Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud Book Club

posted by IntellectualReviewer on May 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Close to great

I liked the characters in the book a lot. I really enjoyed McMaster the Disaster in fact. Unfortunately I felt like it was plot driven than character driven. Which was a shame because I wanted to know more about Calla, Jennifer, Rebecca and the rest of the bridesmaids. ...
I liked the characters in the book a lot. I really enjoyed McMaster the Disaster in fact. Unfortunately I felt like it was plot driven than character driven. Which was a shame because I wanted to know more about Calla, Jennifer, Rebecca and the rest of the bridesmaids. I wanted to know more about Jake than a snapshot. If I had been given more looks into the women (and Mattie) around Josie, I would have loved the book to pieces because of their impact on who she is. The premise was original. I just needed a little more fleshing out of the characters.

posted by QueenlyReads on October 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Great storyline, but-

    This was a cute idea for a story, but the writing (especially the dialogue) is juvenille, and the editing is atrocious! I'm curious about what happens next to Josie, but don't think I can read another one!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Good start, but went downhill...

    This book started out great, but then I got sick of the main character. The story had everyone concerning themselves with Jo's life and she couldn't find time for any of them. She was critical of her roommate for liking a celebrity that she was secretly in love with. When it came to Jo's male friend, I lost interest in the book. What a flat character! He's gay - we got that. Is there any part of his character that isn't just a stereotype?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Vapid. JD

    How many times can one person use the phrase "or something?" Why is the word "bridesmaid" capitalized every single time? Predictable, trite -- plot devices instead of development. The characters are typical stereotypes. Does the author even know what a comma or a question mark is? The dialogue swings between British-English and American-English, but no characters are English. Poorly written. Spelling mistakes. Missing words on occasion. Reads like a rough draft of a high school story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    An average read.....

    The plot for this story was good, in theory, but the execution was not well done. The romance develoment was weak and there was no emotional connection with the characters. Since this book is part of a series, maybe the next book will deepen the character development and pull the reader more into the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Not good

    I really liked the premise but it was executed poorly. The character Jake was so boring and boderline suspicious with the way he wouldnt call or email Josie for weeks. And as a main character, shes not really likeable and comes across as a bit of a whiner. This is especially true when *SPOILER* she runs crying to her room after her mom refuses to pay for her long anticipated vacation. She just leaves her love interest and her friend sitting in her living room with no explaination. What 26 year old does that?

    Besides poor character development i felt parts of the story just dragged on. I skimmed through the part when the bridal party took off for the weekend. Then i thought maybe i missed something so i went back and read it. Nope. 60% of that chapter could be eliminated and have no effect on the story. Not good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Errors

    Funny, easy read but I am tiring of books that lack a good editing...lots of spelling and grammar errors + strange language ( stagette is not a commonly used word). I might be overtly critical but when a story announces that a wedding is July 21 and says that is 3 months away - I assume we are in April. Then, a week later the lead character is swept away to a cabin in Maine and there is a hint of Fall in the air... plot errors like that just ruin the whole story for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Nice effort Ms. Astor

    Noticed a couple of typos & punctuation errors.( I would recommend editing before publishing.)
    Would have preferred a little more details about the characters.
    It was a good story.

    By: MiSs BoOkWoRm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    The characters acted like teenagers

    So much drama . . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    The story itself was cute, though I wanted to know more about th

    The story itself was cute, though I wanted to know more about the characters themselves - especially Josie, Jennifer, Jack, and Calla. The thing that really irked me though was the horrible misspellings throughout, the mismatched pronouns/genders, and bad grammar/punctuation. All of which distracted considerably from my enjoyment of the story itself. 

    Please, just because this is an eBook, doesn't mean it gets to skip the editing process.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Predictable, cheesy, and full of errors. At least is was free.

    Predictable, cheesy, and full of errors. At least is was free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    did the author even re-read her own work before publishing it?

    By almost the end of the book, I am sure I was going to give it 3 stars but the ending just totally ruined the whole book. I know this is a trilogy but it doesn't give such a lousy excuse for that open ending. It's not even an ending! I felt like I have wasted my time on this book. If I was holding a hardcopy of this book, I might have just threw it across the room or even burned it.

    There are lots of typos & grammar mistakes throughout the whole book that left me wondering whether the author even re-read her own work before publishing it.

    The reason why I didn't give this book a one star rating is because the plot is a fresh one which is different from all the bridesmaid chick lit out there. However, characters development is very very poor. The author made some characters like Rebecca seems so important in the beginning but by the middle of the book, she has already faded away and seems like a nobody.

    I don't think I will pick up another book by the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Not too interesting

    For teen reading 4 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Thank goodness it was free

    The writing is, as another reviewer wrote, "juvenile" and I don't think this book was edited before it was published. This reads like bad fanfiction (*cough* "Shades of Grey" *cough*). I'm going to try to get past the first chapter. At least it was free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2