BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bridesmaid Lotto

Average Rating 4
( 494 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(212)

4 Star

(164)

3 Star

(75)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

RACHEL ASTOR'S "BRIDESMAID LOTTO" (A REVIEW)

When Josie MacMasters is reluctantly entered into a contest to become one of the bridesmaids of a rich debutante she doesn't realize until too late just how insane the entire process is going to be. With the wedding looming 3 months away she is harassed by papparazi, lo...
When Josie MacMasters is reluctantly entered into a contest to become one of the bridesmaids of a rich debutante she doesn't realize until too late just how insane the entire process is going to be. With the wedding looming 3 months away she is harassed by papparazi, looked down upon by her peers, and thrown knee deep into a world she'd rather not be a part of. All this becomes a little better when she meets Jake Hall, the object of her one true desire.

This story is wonderfully written and fun! It contains just the right balance of humor, real life, and romance. A definite must read for those that love chick-lit and romance!

-Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud Book Club

posted by IntellectualReviewer on May 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Close to great

I liked the characters in the book a lot. I really enjoyed McMaster the Disaster in fact. Unfortunately I felt like it was plot driven than character driven. Which was a shame because I wanted to know more about Calla, Jennifer, Rebecca and the rest of the bridesmaids. ...
I liked the characters in the book a lot. I really enjoyed McMaster the Disaster in fact. Unfortunately I felt like it was plot driven than character driven. Which was a shame because I wanted to know more about Calla, Jennifer, Rebecca and the rest of the bridesmaids. I wanted to know more about Jake than a snapshot. If I had been given more looks into the women (and Mattie) around Josie, I would have loved the book to pieces because of their impact on who she is. The premise was original. I just needed a little more fleshing out of the characters.

posted by QueenlyReads on October 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Close to great

    I liked the characters in the book a lot. I really enjoyed McMaster the Disaster in fact. Unfortunately I felt like it was plot driven than character driven. Which was a shame because I wanted to know more about Calla, Jennifer, Rebecca and the rest of the bridesmaids. I wanted to know more about Jake than a snapshot. If I had been given more looks into the women (and Mattie) around Josie, I would have loved the book to pieces because of their impact on who she is. The premise was original. I just needed a little more fleshing out of the characters.

    27 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Recommended

    Very different but I enjoyed it very much

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Okay

    The book was okay but did not want to finish after i found out there was going to be two more book.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Basic romance novel

    Cute, few twists, mostly clean language ..

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    Entertaining

    For me, this was a middle of the road book. Entertaining to pass time with but not exceptional. There is a sequel coming apparently but I won't take the time to read it. I didn't dislike this first book, Bridesmaid Lotto, but there was only ONE character in the entire book that I really liked. (Co worker, Mattie) The main characters drink a lot, swear a good bit, and really never pulled me in enough to care. Much of what happens is predictable too. So it's not a waste of time or money -- it's just not the best book ever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    cute book!

    fast, funny, enjoyable read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    Check it out

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    This book was free, I enjoyed the story ... but the ending ... w

    This book was free, I enjoyed the story ... but the ending ... well the non ending.  To get me interested in a story and then not have an ending ... what a rip off!!  I realize the author wants to sale books, but please by leaving me hanging in your first book?  When I read a series I want the book to end, I feel the author is selfish and self-serving to bring readers to the end of a story and then not deliver.  So she wants to ensure her readers will keep buying her books, by pulling this trick.  Well I don't buy authors who practice this type of thing.  I read Marie Force, Robyn Carr, Bella Andre, Cora Seton, Kristan Higgins ... these authors write contemporary romance series with an ENDING to the book. I've read all the series written by the above-mentioned authors. I doubt I will be buying this author again, and by the reviews I've read for the next 2 books in this series, I won't be missing anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Cute story

    The idea was cute and had a lot of potential. The story itself was very predictable and didnt include much info or detail on the other characters in the story.
    I wont buy the follow up book in this series, i think my imagination has already covered it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Ehh

    This book lacked suspense, all of the main character's conflicts were minor problems. Certain scenes were heavily detailed, but werenot necessary since it did not add to the plot. The romance was rushed,there was no real growth,development or surprises. On a brighter note it is free and sn easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Such good stuff

    I loved the McMaster the Disaster stuff, the disaster diary, and all the horrible funny things that the main character went through in life. The romance part is a little under developed, kinda leaves you in the dark on some things. Feels a little like a YA (young adult) novel, which are honestly stories for smart 12 year olds. That's not a bad thing! Except it's supposed to be a romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Tessa wicks

    I love it!!!!!!!!!! It is so cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    This was an ok book, but I think this may have been more of a yo

    This was an ok book, but I think this may have been more of a young adult read. The writing seemed very middle schoolish. It was entertaining story. I enjoyed the character of Josie. The editing was poorly done. Many sentences weren't even complete sentences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Recommended if...

    The reading is a bit different but enjoyable. However, the ending leaves you wanting the next book rather than coming to some form of closure. If you are happy to purchase the next book, that's fine. I prefer to get the closure in a "romance" novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Unusual idea

    Rich bride decides to have a lotto for her bridesmaid and throws her brother-in-law-to-be in as the possible prize - him being a famous actor.
    The characters stayed rather flat - except for the main characters friend Mattie. The plot was unusual and unrealistic. It had lots of holes - like the bride never really getting in contact with her future bridesmaids. The behavior of the four chosen bridesmaids felt like straight out of high school and was rather bland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    The story was cute and it did keep my interest. Not enough for

    The story was cute and it did keep my interest. Not enough for me to want to read another book with the same characters. I wished there was more character development and details. I will recommend it to people that want a simple and quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Okay if you can get past all the errors and 200+ pages

    First time reader of Rachel Astor and had high hopes. The book had potential and eas quirky original. The most distracting and annoying part was all the errors throughout the book. After Chapter #1 I wanted to put it away. Ebooks still need to be edited and i do not believe this went through an editing process at all, which is sad, because i believe it has amazing potential.

    THE CHARACTERS- need developing and I loved Jake but not much was revealed. Josies friends, fellow bridesmaids and bff Calla all missed out on development as well.

    I believe w the right editing and character development Ms. Astor has a bright future....if she needs help editing, call id be happy to lend a hand!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Very good

    A fun romance with a fairy tail ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    It was fun.

    Fun book to read. Was disappointed in the ending. Can't find the next books in ebook form.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Good

    Kind of far fetched but good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4