Customer Reviews for

The Bridge: The Life and Rise of Barack Obama

Average Rating 3
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Reawakens My Enthusiasm and Respect for Barack Obama.

I felt so refreshed after finishing this book. I had been feeling disheartened and worried that so many of us seem to wish our president, and hence out nation, to fail. Now I feel confident that Obama will be among the top rank of US presidents, whatever the ignoramus...
I felt so refreshed after finishing this book. I had been feeling disheartened and worried that so many of us seem to wish our president, and hence out nation, to fail. Now I feel confident that Obama will be among the top rank of US presidents, whatever the ignoramuses Limbaugh, Beck, Hannity, O'Reilly and the FoxNews dittoheads think. We are very fortunate to have such a balanced and brilliant man at the helm. I hope that many millions of Americans will read this informative, entertaining and at times very funny book.
David Remnick is an eminently qualified author. Not only has he won the Pulitzer Prize for his writing but he is the editor of America's most respected literary weekly, The New Yorker. At almost 600 pages the book is long, but it's so well written it flies by. I finished it in four days! Thank you, Mr. Remnick! My hat's off to you... Go-bama!

posted by OsoChistoso on April 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Very Boring Read

We've all heard President Obama's story on the news a hundred times. It is intresting, yes, but I was looking for a more intresting take on his life. This book provides a boring outlook on President Obama's life and is very unoriginal. If the author, David Remnick, coul...
We've all heard President Obama's story on the news a hundred times. It is intresting, yes, but I was looking for a more intresting take on his life. This book provides a boring outlook on President Obama's life and is very unoriginal. If the author, David Remnick, could have used a more intresing angle on this story, it might be a more intresting read. I don't recommend this book, as many other books are more touching and have the ability to enlighten you.

posted by Poppy_James on April 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Reawakens My Enthusiasm and Respect for Barack Obama.

    I felt so refreshed after finishing this book. I had been feeling disheartened and worried that so many of us seem to wish our president, and hence out nation, to fail. Now I feel confident that Obama will be among the top rank of US presidents, whatever the ignoramuses Limbaugh, Beck, Hannity, O'Reilly and the FoxNews dittoheads think. We are very fortunate to have such a balanced and brilliant man at the helm. I hope that many millions of Americans will read this informative, entertaining and at times very funny book.
    David Remnick is an eminently qualified author. Not only has he won the Pulitzer Prize for his writing but he is the editor of America's most respected literary weekly, The New Yorker. At almost 600 pages the book is long, but it's so well written it flies by. I finished it in four days! Thank you, Mr. Remnick! My hat's off to you... Go-bama!

    19 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    Very Boring Read

    We've all heard President Obama's story on the news a hundred times. It is intresting, yes, but I was looking for a more intresting take on his life. This book provides a boring outlook on President Obama's life and is very unoriginal. If the author, David Remnick, could have used a more intresing angle on this story, it might be a more intresting read. I don't recommend this book, as many other books are more touching and have the ability to enlighten you.

    13 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    We are all paying for Obama's past

    Although I completely agree with the previous reviewer about the author's poor writing and about how boring this book is, it is somehow enlightening to rediscover the reasons for Obama's resentment, corruption, and frustrations. Unfortunately, we are all paying for it.

    10 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    Same old spin.

    Same propaganda, different source.

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Intelligent, thought-provoking, emotional

    A masterful story teller, Remnick gives voice to the people (current and past), events (historical and recent), and struggles (heroic and mundane) that shaped the life of our young President, Barack Obama and that led to the election of our nation's First African American president.

    As the collection of stories gathered from Remnick's exhaustive personal interviews and research unfold THE BRIDGE is at once informative, inspirational and thought provoking. Some of the stories and events are gloriously triumphant while others are bitterly painful causing the reader to experience a full measure of human emotions.

    Reading this book for me was reminiscent of listening to a parent relay wonderful memories at an early morning breakfast table or of sitting at the knee of an elder calling forth fond remembrances with a twinkle in the eye. Far from an elder, in fact the reverse is true, for me Remnick captures that experience of being transported into historical events.

    A word of caution here, at the beginning it may take some time to settle into Remnick's method of story telling however once mastered he holds the readers rapt attention, which is how I believe history should be taught.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    When America suprised the world

    This dense and detailed look at a moment in history when Obama began his run for the White House in the end gives a reader the sense of a blind man running his hands over an elephant, or of Galileo gazing at the stars. The detail just makes one jealous to know those things we are not reading about--what was Obama thinking, not just what he was saying. One wants the man himself, not just the story of him.

    Every book about this period is bound to be a disappointment in itself. It cannot capture the utter impossibility of the moment--the day by day disbelief of hearing Obama is still in the race and gaining, rather than losing, adherents. Of Obama facing challenges (Reverend Wright) greater than those that had brought down more conventional candidates (Kerry's Swift boat controversy), and emerging even larger than before. It does not tell us, in the end, how this happened.

    But among books of the period, this will rank among the best. Remick's calm amidst the forest of details, and clear, thoughtful delivery make him a companionable guide. He is not so casual as to make one doubt his sources, but he does not flaunt his erudition or access. This must be one of the most readable tomes on a time when America suprised everyone--even Americans.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Bridge Closes Gaps

    Interestingly, I began reading "The Bridge" a few short weeks after watching PBS' "Eyes on the Prize: The Bridge to Freedom," so this book was the perfect next step. The author, David Remnick, did a great job using the backdrop of the civil rights movement to foreshadow Barack Obama's ascension to the office of the presidency. After providing extensive insight into Obama's childhood and early adulthood, the book closely follows Obama's early political career while impressing upon the reader how rapidly the candidate rose through the ranks from State Senate to U.S. Senate before entertaining the run for the presidency.

    The Bridge delves into the Obama strategy during key moments throughout campaign. From Ayers to Wright, few subjects went untouched; but with all its race baiting, the book does not get to the racial truth until the campaign arrives in South Carolina and Michelle Obama is dispatched to confirm Obama's authenticity. As a descendant of slaves, Michelle Obama's "blackness" was never in question; so at a crucial time in the campaign, Michelle bridged Barack's gap with the African American community. Thus, the author's literal use of "the bridge" is employed throughout the novel to transform the reader from the past struggles of civil rights to the historical rise of the first African American president.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    The view from THE BRIDGE is spectacular!

    The Bridge is far more than a mere chronicle of Barack Obama's life. Along the way, Remnick's richly detailed book covers the histories of Hawaii, Indonesia, Kenya, the black journey in America, Chicago politics, and much more. Though Obama may have seemed to come from nowhere, the details of his life reveal a step-by-step process that pushed him inevitably toward the Oval Office.

    This is the kind of history we simply do not have about our earlier presidents. We are forced to settle for the myths created around them. The Bridge gives us more - a real man, a real life. Love him or hate him, Barack Obama has lived a fascinating life and the telling of his tale enriches us all.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Top-notch biography

    This is a scrupulously researched biography. It's not a quick or easy read at times, but for anyone who wants to know more about the 44th president, it is a must. Obama is a challenging subject, but David Remnick has done his homework, and until the historians weigh in, this will probably be the best, most complete version of his life. As someone who has also lived in Hawaii and visited Indonesia, I find that Remnick has done a yeoman's job of understanding the racial politics of each. It is gracefully written as well. Even if you're not an Obama booster, this book will help you understand a man who is poised to change our country.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Finally, a true historical biography

    Naturally, there are a slew of Obama tomes out, but this one is unique in being an old fashioned historical biography. Heilemann and Halperin's "Game Change" was a great look at the '08 campaign, but they took some hits on their sources. Wolf's book "Renegade" was a great insider look into just Obama's campaign; but you couldn't help but notice how much the author was in the tank for the subject.

    The New Yorker's Remnick brings back the historical biography; well-researched with appropriate citations in the fashion of Newsweek's Meacham or David McCullough. Remnick was able to interview just about everyone still alive who has been a part of Obama's life. I know that conservative historians hate psycho-history, but the rest of us love it. How else are we to fully understand the subject, much less ourselves, unless the author tries to get into the head of the subject. Remnick accomplishes this seamlessly, but still with the historian's caution against over-reach.

    The subject here, whether you like him or not, is a fascinating story showing the history of a man influenced by both heredity and environment. Remnick is able to show just how Obama became Obama. This is not a tabloid look at the man and his times, but rather, a serious and balanced biography of the 44th President up to Innauguration Day. Definately a keeper.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Uh

    The only reason id read this book is "know thy enemt"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Would never read anything about him

    Dont care for him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Hmmm why does this show up on so many searches

    Someone is trying to affect sales perhaps or push their agenda Baseball books - obama Picked just for you- obama On and on I am betting a search for non liberal non black modern presidents would get me obama

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    Remarkable Story; Well-Written and Well-Told

    This book is one of the best biographies of any individual I have read in recent years, particularly in light of Barack Obama's recent, best-selling and "reader friendly" autobiographies. Meticulously researched, Remnick deserves a standing ovation for his journalistic approach in detailing Obama's uniquely American personal development and family history within the context of the Civil Rights movement, African American history and local and national politics. Whatever readers may think of the Obama administration, and only historical perspective will accurately assess the president's performance, Barack Obama's remarkable story is most especially compelling in the context of U.S. history, as comprehensively presented by the author. An excellent read; I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4