Customer Reviews for

The Bridge of Peace (Ada's House Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a wonderful refreshing contemporary novel

    All her young life, her birthmark on her cheek has been the talk of the Amish community where Lena Kauffman was raised. Over time she learned to ignore the stares. Currently, she teaches at an Amish School in Dry Lake that demands strict adherence to the "old ways".

    Lena has problems with the board's inability to bend for the better good of the students. She especially has problems with a troubled pupil, fifteen year old recently transferred Peter; who is the oldest and tallest student she ever had. She turns to her Englischer friend Samantha a school counselor for help. This alienates the school board who blames her and her new ways of teaching for her student's rebellion of authority. However school board member Grey Graber commiserates with his lifelong friend the beleaguered teacher and her mutinous student as he feels trapped too in a marriage with a wife Elsie who kicked him out of her life.

    The second Ada's House Amish romance (see The Hope of Refuge) is a wonderful refreshing contemporary that makes a strong case that the Plain People have psychological problems just like the English do. The lead couple, his wife and her student is fully developed characters with emotional baggage and issues as Cindy Woodsmall provides a strong fresh tale bolstered by a profound underlying statement that faith helps, but does not necessarily relieve personal concerns.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Excellent

    Cindy Woodsmall never disappoints. Wonderful story (again).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    terriffic book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    Another excellent read by Cindy Woodsmall. I have read many Amis

    Another excellent read by Cindy Woodsmall. I have read many Amish stories but none like this. Lena's humor, positive attitude toward the children she interacts with is refreshing.Her problems with the school board very irritating. The hatred by Peter's brothered and the resulting events had me once again rivereted to the story to find the outcome...Will Lena survive? Back to my nook to find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Decent

    Not my favorite amish series because these seem so unrealistic, but they do provide an entertsining storyline. And they're nice and long providing good bang for your buck!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    UiipuiXsgXdwqe zxewf

    Nzz asppppp
    Pppp
    KweZaw,vl vmip.qeuo jadXo
    Zvqqe
    Kl.
    uqreoaaswtqesad
    P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great series

    ive been reading all the books by cindy woodsmall and i find
    them very entertaining and i cant wait til she writes more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    highly recommended

    I just finished all three Ada's House stories and I loved all three - They are so well written and give such wonderful insight into the Amish World

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Good book

    I was only going to read a few pages and go to bed. I ended up reading the whole book. It just drew me in and before I knew it I was done. It is book two in a series. I didn't read the first book and I think it would have been better reading them in order. But it stands alone very well. I'm going to reading more of Cindy Woodsmall in the future. I really enjoyed The Bridge of Peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Good Book

    The Bridge of Peace is a book that takes place in an Amish community. Your taken inside the lives of several people, all going through their own struggles in life. Love, hatred, insecurity, and hurt are unseen by those around them. After many trials, and even death, will they finally have peace in their lives?

    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I had always been skeptical of Amish books, particularly Amish romance. But this book pulled me in, and had me on the edge of my seat on more than one occasion. It was heart wrenching at some points. I loved the different point of views from the characters in the story. I also learned so much more about the Amish culture that I hadn't known before. I would recommend this book to any young adult or adult. I'm already starting on my next Amish book!

    I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Average but good regard regardless

    I'm not going to summarize this since BN already did. My thoughts: I didn't realize when I got this book that it was the second book in the series. I think having read the first book would have helped me a little in knowing the characters, especially Lena, but overall I was able to read and enjoy it without having read the first book in the series. (Also, there's a glossary of who's who, which helped me in the beginning and throughout the book.) This is the second book by Woodsmall I've read (the first is When the Heart Cries) and I really enjoyed it. I think a lot of my comments about these two books are the same: while this book has a firm foundation of faith (it's about the Amish, after all!), it's not an overtly religious book, and it's not a deeply literary novel, either. As far as Amish books go, it's not especially original, but that didn't bother me because my expectations were appropriately met based on the other Woodsmall book I've read. I liked the characters, I thought the plot was plausible enough, and I was left intrigued enough to want to read both the first and third books in the series. My biggest problem with these books is that the covers depict all of these Amish women being beautiful. I think that's a little off-kilter for books that are supposed to be geared at a woman's insides, not her physical beauty. Overall, I would rank this book as average (I've read much better but I've also read much, much, much worse!), and in this case, average is good enough.

    (I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I was asked to review this book fairly based on my own opinions and not asked to make a positive review in return for receiving the book, only an honest one.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    A GREAT AMISH READ FULL OF FAITH,LOVE AND FORGIVENESS! A BRIDE OF PEACE BY CINDY WOODSMALL!!

    THE BRIDGE OF PEACE by Cindy Woodstock is an interesting and amazing inspirational Amish fiction set in present day Amish country. It it the second in "THE ADA HOUSE SERIES",Book One, "Hope of Refuge",but can be read as a stand alone.It is well written with depth and details.It is about an Amish young women,Lena,,who is a teacher and has a birthmark on her cheek. She has endured ridicule,humiliation,and talk behind her back.She only wants a family of her own her,to teach school,find love and happiness.Grey,her long time friend,has problems of his own with his marriage,a son who has a handicap,a wife who has gone cold in their marriage and dealing with how to bring his marriage to what it used to be. While Lena is dealing with rambunctious children,and a school board she has defiled their word.She believes her students should be able to learn. Then a tragic accident happens,leaving a wife dead,a husband and a student full of guilt,the school board furious with Lena,someone is not only trying to discredit Lena but is also planning to get rid of her.While Lena and Grey are finding their way ,they find they are not only facing deception,but Lena is facing danger,she isn't even aware of,and they are fighting their own feelings. They will have to build a bridge of peace to survive.This story is of love,faith,deception,redemption forgiveness, and the power of second chances. This is a fast paced story of the Amish faith and their power of moving forward.If you enjoy Amish,romance,faith,a little mystery you will enjoy this one.A great read. This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at WaterBrook Press,Multnomah and My Book Addiction Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Much better than expected

    It took me awhile to get into this story mainly because I was so confused at all the character names being thrown at me from the very beginning. Only later did I realize that The Bridge of Peace is the second in a series and that also there is a handy little character glossary in the back of the book. Once I was able to get into the story and get a grip on who each of the characters were, I really started to enjoy the plot. By the end of the novel I surprised myself with how much I actually was enjoying it and couldn't put it down until I had finished it completely.

    The novel is not mainly about one Amish school teacher as I had previously thought given the description; it is about a whole community of Amish people and all of the complicated relationships that go into a tight-knit community such as this one. Because of this storyline, Woodsmall was able to delve into all of the interesting parts of human emotion: hope, despair, love, friendship, hatred, even psychopathy.

    This was a great "feel good" novel. One that brought me up, down, and back up again. I can't wait to go back and read The Hope of Refuge and then to read the third in the series when it comes out this fall

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    We all need a Bridge of Peace

    I really loved this book and would highly recommend it, especially those who like to read about the Amish way of life. I think we can relate to these people because although they live with Amish rules, I think we all feel sometimes burdened by rules of society. Lena feels so insecure of herself because of the birthmark on her face. She feels no one will ever love her. Because of that she puts all of her energy into teaching. Sometimes she crosses the line of the Old Ways and gets herself into trouble with the school board and parents. There is heartache, tragedy and deceit among many people within this community. Will they be able to heal? Will they find love? Will they be able to cross that bridge and find peace?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Wonderful Storyline, a must read!

    This was my first CIndy Woodsmall book, and certainly not my last. I can't wait to read the next in the serious. I enjoyed reading about each character, and was surprised at the twist & turns within the story. A wonderful suspense, and romance packed book sure to delight readers of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed reading, look forward to #3 in series

    Tuesday, March 29, 2011
    Book reivew: The Bridge of Peace



    I have finished my first book by author Cindy Woodsmall The Bridge of Peace. This is the second book in the Ada's House series.




    Lena Kauffman is a young school teacher who faces many challenges from a troubled, rebellious student. She gets into trouble with the school board when she makes some decisions that aren't in accord with the Old Ways. Lena feels she will never marry because she doesn't think men can see past the birthmark on her face.

    School board member Grey Graber and his wife Elsie have a troubled marriage. They begin making steps of progress when tragedy strikes.

    This is a very enjoyable book that I would recommend to you. I look forward to reading #3 in this series. This book was provided to me for my honest review by the "Blogging for Books" reviewer program with WaterBrook Multonomah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    Great book!!

    This was a great book. I've been reading this authors books since her first series.

    This is the second book in the Ada House Series. I really enjoyed reading this book.

    The main character, Lena, has a great personality ever though she has always been made fun of for her very noticeable birthmark. She is an old order Amish school teacher who is challenged by a rebellious young man and has to deal with several crises that threaten her other students.

    Grey Graber, on of the school board members, feels trapped by his own circumstances. His wife has shut him out of her life after a miscarriage. Has the two of them finally start to work things out there is a tragic accident.

    Grey and Lena have been friends all their lives, but their friendship starts turning into something more.


    This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    Great Story

    The Bridge of Peace by Cindy Woodsmall, is an Old Order Amish story that is a continuation in a series. I did not have the opportunity to read the first book in the series, however, it was not necessary to understand the plot of this story. I always admire that in books, to be able to pick up a new title and not question things that have already occurred.
    There were many characters in this story and I had to continually look to see how they were related in the back of the book, but each character was developed very well. I found that there were characters I was more excited to read about than others in the story, which I always enjoy having favorites. I enjoyed the story line also, however, it did take a bit to get into the book. The last 100 pages though were very good and kept my interest.
    I enjoyed the obstacles that had to be overcome in order for the characters to develop into whom they were written to be. I can anticipate which characters are going to be emphasized in the next story, and I am looking forward to the opportunity to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Reccomended, You must check it out!

    This book centers around four people: Lena, Deborah, Grey, and Cara. All of them are taking life's problem's one at a time. Lena, the Amish schoolteacher, has to deal with a birthmark on her face, and her rejection from both Grey and the School-board. Deborah has to try and rid herself of grievances against her fiance, who abandoned her. Cara tries so hard to fit in to the foreign Amish culture, and always feels that she can't do enough right. Grey struggles with a marriage filled with hurt, loneliness, and miserableness, yet tries to act as if nothing is wrong. Climaxing when Lena's life is in danger, this book's plot is somewhat predictable, but still written well. I enjoyed the book quite thoroughly, except for an occasional hear-shattering part. This book enlightens readers to a new view of the strict Amish community, and also, it causes you to fall in love with the Amish. I have always enjoyed books about the Amish, and I think this one turned out well. The resolution was a happy one, which is EXTREMELY important to me. One thing the author did that impressed me, was that she made sure not to make beloved characters die, even though a few others do. There was rarely a dull moment, and the captivating plot keeps one awake long hours into the night. I overall enjoyed this book, and I certainly hope you will go and buy it, because it is a GREAT book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    Great read!

    It has drama, romance, happiness, sadness, everything you get in real life, but as fiction. Its wonderful to see the author use the Old Ways in her writing that so many people can get the feel that they're actually part of the book while they're reading it. I'm looking forward to seeing book 3 on here this fall! I'm going to try and find The Hope of Refuge at the library so I can make sure I know all the characters. Well wrote!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4