BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Bridge of San Luis Rey

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite Book

I first read Wilder in high school during the 60s and found its motifs captivating. Throughout life I have given the book as a gift for those that examine life on a deeper level - a very postmodern examination before Wilder's time. Now, as a professor in psychology, the...
I first read Wilder in high school during the 60s and found its motifs captivating. Throughout life I have given the book as a gift for those that examine life on a deeper level - a very postmodern examination before Wilder's time. Now, as a professor in psychology, the examination of human experience by Wilder gives case studies for people to examine some of the deepest concepts in modern psychology. Still a favorite and reading this edition is like walking into the Kingdom and gaining a glimpse of Wilder while thinking out the bridge's interaction with a select group of travelers.

posted by Anonymous on June 3, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

THE WORST BOOK EVER!

this book is horrible, it talks about random things that make absolutely no sense. Do not waste your time

posted by Anonymous on September 13, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    The Bridge of San Luis Rey

    I recently found that this is our next years Big Read book. I wanted to be ahead of the game and read it in 2 days. It is something that I would not normally read. It's a story set back in the 1600's in South America. The footbridge fell, sending 5 people to their death. A monk witnessed it, and decided to find out about the 5 people who were on that bridge. Was it divine intervention or fate? This book tells about each of those people and the events that led up to them being on that bridge when it collapsed.

    For me, it was a challenge to read at first. Once I got past that first character, I couldn't put the book down until it was finished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2006

    THE WORST BOOK EVER!

    this book is horrible, it talks about random things that make absolutely no sense. Do not waste your time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2005

    My Favorite Book

    I first read Wilder in high school during the 60s and found its motifs captivating. Throughout life I have given the book as a gift for those that examine life on a deeper level - a very postmodern examination before Wilder's time. Now, as a professor in psychology, the examination of human experience by Wilder gives case studies for people to examine some of the deepest concepts in modern psychology. Still a favorite and reading this edition is like walking into the Kingdom and gaining a glimpse of Wilder while thinking out the bridge's interaction with a select group of travelers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2003

    Nici, student

    This book is very slow moving, but captivating towards the end. Because of the length, it allows for an easy read. Good beach book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2000

    A Wilder Tale Than You Might Expect

    Please do not think that this book is simply about a bridge. The bridge is nothing more than a link, a wampeter, as Vonnegut would say. The books details the lives of extraordinarily interesting individuals until they all share their demise on the the bridge of San Luis Rey. It also sneaks in deep religious question. These questions are the purpose of critiquing the fall of the bridge, and the victims, if you would refer to them as such. A good book to read casually, a good book to read anyway.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Personally, I didn't really get the story, and it seemed way too

    Personally, I didn't really get the story, and it seemed way too confusing. There were too many side stories, with pretty much nothing in common besides their fateful end. Not worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Great books are the products of great minds.

    What a beautiful book. The plot is deceptively simple, but with a bit of careful attention layer upon layer falls away to reveal new twists and connections. The author's style is simple and clear a real pleasure to the mind. Every other page contains a pithy quote, yet the flow never stumbles or stiffens. As I said: a beautiful book, and one worth devoting some time to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    There was a old movie with the same title which was made in the 1940's I believe. Is this the same story? I remember seeing the movie as a little girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2003

    Excellent, lean read

    A short, concise, spare book accounting the lives of people who die together when a bridge collapses. Investigating the nature and patterns of love, fate and happenstance, religion and science, Peruvian theatre, mother/daughter, brother/brother, mentor/protege relationships, and more. All in a mere 150 or so slight pages. A mediation on life. Well meaning, with many gorgeous passages and pared down to the bare essentials.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2001

    A Good Novel To Read!!

    The Bridge of San Luis Rey was a good novel to read and I enjoyed it. There are some parts of the book that makes you want to keep reading it and there are parts of the book where its gets boring. Another thing is that if you dont really pay attention to some parts you may not understand the rest of the chapter or you might get confused. Other than that it was a good book to read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2001

    This is an okay novel

    The Bridge of San Luis Rey is a good book. I especially like the way the people's lives were told. You get to see how different people lived and try to make a connection to why they were chosen to die. To me, some of their lives were uninteresting which made the book seem a little boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2