Customer Reviews for

Bridge Of Scarlet Leaves

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!

    After suffering the loss of her mother, Maddie Kern is about to audition for Julliard. Her future is full of music and promise. She lives in California with her older and very protective brother TJ who is now watching over her, while their dad is unable to face the reality of his wife's death. Maddie is secretly in love with Lane Moritomo, TJ’s best friend and is planning on keeping it all hush hush until the right time.

    What could be wrong with that? They are young, in love and have their whole lives ahead of them. When Lane’s parents unexpectedly tell him a Japanese matchmaker has found him a match and he will marry in the next few months. With news of an impending marriage the couple runs off and elope. When they wake up the next morning, not only has their world chanced but the world around them has changed with the news Perl Harbor was bombed by the Japanese. Lane, his family and other Japanese immigrants all over the country are suddenly looked at as the enemy.

    TJ angry at his best friend and mad at his sister joins the war effort and enlists. Lane’s family loses everything and heads off to a relocation camp, after realizing they can't survive. Lane determined to do right by Maddie leaves her behind. But now Maddie is viewed as a traitor by those around her and she no longer seems to fit anywhere.

    Bridge of Scarlet Leaves follows Maddie, TJ and Lane through WWII. Maddie goes off with Lane’s family where his mother is less than enthusiastic to have her around. TJ and Lane both become soldiers. I would say this is the most moving novel I have ever had the pleasure to read. I immediately loved Lane, he was so sweet and thoughtful. The whole world was placed on his shoulders. He went through the entire novel always with purpose and thoughtfulness of those around him, a true hero. Maddie and the rest of the characters grew with each passing page, until I loved each and every one of them and their stories. Bridges of Scarlet Leaves had me reaching for my box of Kleenex more than once. A war/love story like none I’ve read before. It’s filled with tradition, honor, triumph and tragedies. I strongly strongly recommend Bridges of Scarlet Leaves.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The story takes you from Los Angeles, to the dust of Manzanar, t

    The story takes you from Los Angeles, to the dust of Manzanar, to a B-17 bomber over Hawaii, to a banzai charge in the Aleutians, to a critical moment in the Philippines. The research is impeccable, the characters are realistically drawn and thoroughly relatable, and the story is gripping. I highly recommend this novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    Meet siblings Maddie and TJ Kern – two teenagers strugglin

    Meet siblings Maddie and TJ Kern – two teenagers struggling to survive since their mother’s passing and their father had a psychotic break. TJ is playing baseball in college and Maddie helps at the alternations shop the family owns, while practicing the violin to get into Julliard. TJ’s best friend, Japanese-American Lane, is away at college. Maddie and Lane have fallen in love, but have kept it a secret from big brother TJ. Lastly, there is Jo, Maddie’s best friend, the keeper of the hardware store, harboring a crush on TJ. . .

    It’s November, 1941. . . just a month before the four characters lives are changed forever. McMorris sets up the beginning of the novel nicely, showing the flame that is glowing between Maddie and Lane and the anger TJ faces daily due to the loss of their mother. The reader is shown the best friend relationship between TJ and Lane, never taking into consideration that Lane is a Japanese-American, but just his best pal. They are happy young adults, ready to start their lives in the world. . .

    Maddie and Lane secretly marry. Their first night together was heaven; however, that shatters the next day with the bombing of Pearl Habor. . . and everything changes.

    Lane’s family leaves, in hopes of avoiding the Japanese Internment Camps in Manzanar, CA. However, during this difficult war time, that doesn’t last long. TJ enlists. Maddie is left at home, still practicing to get into Julliard, spending her time with Jo, hoping to hear from Lane and praying daily for TJ’s safe return.

    This story is a story of love, heartbreak, loss forgiving and learning to live again. McMorris has done an excellent job researching the history of Pearl Harbor, WWII and all that history that went along with it! She has written a story that made me laugh along with the characters, yet I also cried for them as well.

    Sit back and enjoy your lesson in history while you watch this story unfold.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    BRIDGE OF SCARLET LEAVES by Kristina McMorris Really enjoyed all

    BRIDGE OF SCARLET LEAVES by Kristina McMorris
    Really enjoyed all the learning in this book. Starts out with a brother and sister(TJ and Maddie) who each have a friend (jo and Lane). The male friend (Lane) is Japanese and he has fallen in love with Maddie.
    Back in the 1940's marriage between two different racial groups was taboo, but they went and got married anyways hiding it for a while from others. The day they returned to their home town from their honeymoon
    was the day that Japan bombarded Hawaii at Pearl Harbor. From there the book follows each of the four as they struggle to get through the hard times of their lives and how they strive to get it all back together
    once. This book takes you all over the world and I really liked how you could feel you were there with the descriptions of the surroundings and what was going through each of their minds.
    TJ is the baseball pitcher and his best friend is Lane til TJ finds out Lanes's married his sister.
    Maddie is a violist and has scholarships to pay her way at the Juilliard School of Music in NY but plans change.
    Her best friend Jo sticks by her in good and hard times and plays for the womans baseball league during the war.
    Lane is torn between camps, the war, his Japanese heritage and loving his American wife.
    War, food rations, birth, death, POW and farming bring this book together ending with an explanation of the stars in the sky that two are looking at from different places in the world.
    Love the Japan inspired recipes at the end also. Found myself wanting this book to continue on as I didn't want it to end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Fans of Kristina McMorris' debut, Letters From Home, will not be

    Fans of Kristina McMorris' debut, Letters From Home, will not be disappointed with her new novel. Bridge of Scarlet Leaves casts that same vintage spell, whirling you back to a moment in history so full and vivid it is hard to believe it was over a lifetime ago. The infusion of Japanese heritage only adds to the authenticity of the story. Hard to put down and easy to pick up again, this novel is one to remember.

    More than chronicling three small-town lives, that of Maddie Kern, her brother, TJ, and her boyfriend of Japanese heritage, Lane Moritomo, through the WWII years, Bridge is a story of tradition, honor, and devotion; cultivating and holding on to family; the search for one’s identity, both within the world and within one’s self; forgiving who and what cannot be changed, including one’s own past; and loving without regret.

    War has a way of sliding everything into perspective, and each character achieves emotional growth that is both realistic and satisfying over the course of this epic novel. With her two books, McMorris has proven that she doesn’t shy away from sorrow and loss and sacrifice at the hands of warfare or the human heart, and neither does she overwhelm her characters or readers. Even out of darkness, there is hope, a bridge to a life altered but not unoccupied by dreams and love and a future.

    At times riveting and breathless, at others tender and moving, and consistently written with superb attention to historical detail, Bridge of Scarlet Leaves reads as a love letter to the men, women, and children wrongfully incarcerated in Japanese-American relocation and internment camps during WWII—and the faithful spouses who followed them.

    A novel for historical fiction buffs, romance readers, and anyone who enjoys learning about a little-known piece of our past, Bridge of Scarlet Leaves will transport and deliver beyond all expectations. Another truly fine piece of storytelling from McMorris that is not to be missed.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Excellent!

    I have just finished Bridge of Scarlet Leaves and loved it. This was such a moving story. I loved all of the characters and especially admired the strength of Maddie and her evolving relationship with Lane's mother. I highly recommend this novel to readers who enjoy stories about family dynamics, love stories and stories set during WW II. Have tissues handy when you read this novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    One word: Mesmerizing! There are good books, great books and th

    One word: Mesmerizing!

    There are good books, great books and then there are books that move you to no end. I was spellbound from the first page and Kristina McMorris continued to weave her spell hypnotizing me until the very last word.

    Maddie is a Caucasian girl who falls in love with her brother's best friend Lane, who is a Japanese American. They keep their relationship a secret from everyone since interracial relations are not accepted. However, when Lane's parents set up an arranged marriage for him, he asks Maddie to marry him and they travel to WA where they can legally be wed and elope. Life couldn't get any better, that is until they wake up the next morning and realize that their lives will never be the same. The bombing of Pearl Harber by the Japanese has sent everyone into a chaotic mess. All Japanese are shunned and soon are driven from their homes into relocation camps where they "volunteer" their time for scraps of money to live off of. The story that proceeds is one of love, loss, sacrifice and dedication.

    The story follows Maddie Moritomo (Kern), Lane Moritomo and Maddies brother T.J. through all of the trials and tribulations they face. Maddie and Lane must overcome the hatred that the Americans now have for any and all Japanese while T.J ships out to face the war head on. In the 400 pages of the book you watch these characters go from kids who have all these dreams of their future to adults who have seen such devastation and despair but have still managed to rise above it.

    This book had me glued to the pages. McMorris wrote so beautifully that I felt like I was there. I balled my eyes out in places and silently cheered when things started looking up. I was so involved in these characters lives that my emotions got tied up in the words easily.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Everyone should read this book!

    Wow, where do I start? This book was wonderful! It tells a tale of two people who come from different races and fall in love. After they elope, something horrible happens. The bombing of Pearl Harbor and both of their lives are never the same. Bridge of Scarlet Leaves hooked me from page one and never let me go! This book made me laugh, giggle and cry. I loved Kristina's first book, Letters From Home, but, dare I say, I LOVED this one more. It tugs at your heart strings and never lets go. I think everyone should read this book! It is THAT good! Well done Kristina. Once again you have made me fall in love with the characters. This is part of American History that I want to learn more about. As an added bonus Kristina even includes Asian-Fusion Recipes in the back of the book! A five star read for me all the way!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

     

     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Loved it!

    I loved this book more than I thought I would. It was romantic and inspirational and I learned some things about the Japanese internment, as sad as it was, that I did not know. I would recommend it to high school kids as a history lesson. Yes, I would definately read more of Kristina McMorris's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    STRONGLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK

    This story kept me interested from beginning to end! I grew up in Southern California so knew some of the history of how the Japanese Americans were treated during the war. I loved the main character Mattie, she had so much on her plate yet managed it all, admirable woman! Good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    In a heart wrenching and emotionally charged story, Kristin McMo

    In a heart wrenching and emotionally charged story, Kristin McMorris brings us a full circle glimpse at the intertwined lives of two families, one Caucasian and the other affluent Japanese American living in Los Angeles who find themselves torn by the events of internment during the tragedy of World War II. If this story does not find you brought to tears I do not know what will. During simpler times, Los Angeles in the fall of 1941 where neighbors all know each other and children of all ethnicities played together, the bond of friendship that started in childhood between TJ Kern and Lane Moritomo was not an alliance that would raise suspicion. Now, both young men head for the success in life promised by the hard work their studies in college would bring them. TJ as a pro baseball player, who currently pitcher on the varsity team at USC and Lane Moritomo his best friend, enrolled in college at Stanford; where Lane’s political aspirations hold promise he will be rewarded with an internship with a California Congressman who values his forward thinking ideas. However, the unforeseen factor in TJ’s life as unspoken head of the household (through makings not under his control), is his younger sister Maddie. Maddie, who at nineteen, gifted with the talent that holds promise of becoming a concert violinist in the symphony (if only she can obtain a scholarship to Julliard), centers TJ’s focus to ensure nothing will distract her from achieving this lofty goal. Nevertheless, fate has a way of interceding in all plans as Maddie and Lane have fallen in love and finds them hard pressed to keep their secret from everyone, including TJ. A spontaneous act of defiance against tradition turns into a pivotal life-altering event as the word spreads of the recent attack on Pearl Harbor. The answering actions befalling the country result in the rendering of the hard forged friendship between the two friends who once thought each other as brothers, thrusting Maddie into the position of having to chose between the two men that matter most to her. Will it ever be possible to mend the rift that now looms over them all, and if so at what cost?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    "WOW - All I can say is WOW! Bridge of Scarlet Leaves Krist

    "WOW - All I can say is WOW!
    Bridge of Scarlet Leaves Kristina McMorris is such an amazing book. I loved every page of this book and felt such a strong emotional connection to the characters. My heart truly hurt for them and the events that shaped their lives. This is an amazing historical read and would make for a phenomenal book club discussion.

    The synopsis says it best: "Skillfully capturing one of the most controversial episodes in recent American history, Kristina McMorris draws readers into a novel filled with triumphs and heartbreaking loss—an authentic, moving testament to love, forgiveness, and the enduring music of the human spirit."

    "WOW - All I can say is WOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If I had to describe this book in two words it would be soul sti

    If I had to describe this book in two words it would be soul stirring. The author weaves a tale of love and loss, set during a very tumultuous time in our countries history.


    From the age of nine when Maddie Kern's father gave her a used violin it became her goal to enter into Juilliard. After the death of her mother, her father changed and her brother TJ started looking out for her, and thought that her dating anyone would be a distraction from her future plans. By the age of nineteen though she has fallen in love with Lane Moritomo , a handsome Japanese/American who also happens to be TJ's friend. They have kept their dating a secret though,and when Lane's parents inform him that they are arranging a marriage for him TJ and Maddie decide to elope, and then Pearl Harbor is bombed and their lives change forever!


    What an amazing story. It was easy to see that the author really did her research with this story, I actually felt like I was getting a history lesson while reading this remarkable story. I was often shocked and appalled at how Japanese/American's were treated, and that fact really hit home for me when the government went in and searched Lane's parents home and found his model plane diagrams, something so simple caused them to be treated as the enemy. Lane was such a wonderful character always looking out for everyone else, and the love story between him and Maddie was just amazing. This was such a thought provoking story that really captured my heart. I found myself thinking about the characters long after I finished the final page. I think this book would be a wonderful read for anyone who enjoys reading historical fiction, and the discussion questions makes this book perfect for a group read. I also enjoyed reading the author's notes at the end of the story.
    Overall "Bridge Of Scarlet Leaves"is a must read story that I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Great storytelling!

    A great piece of storytelling that accurately captures the internment of Japanese-Americans during WWII: I was happy to receive an Advance Reader’s Copy of The Bridge of Scarlet Leaves because of my interest in this period. A Hapa myself, I learned about the internment from my father-in-law, who had been interned as a boy during the war, and his experiences led me and my husband to learn as much as we could about this complicated, sad episode of American history. While the Bridge of Scarlet Leaves follows the experience of a Caucasian bride of a Japanese-American man who chooses to follow her husband into the camps—a side of the story rarely told—the novel does a wonderful job capturing all sides of the story. Ms. McMorris is especially skilled at depicting the lives of Japanese-Americans at the time, from the complicated dynamics within families to faithfully showing daily life in the camps. The Bridge of Scarlet Leaves is ambitious, a mix of romance, historical, family saga and even war story, but Ms. McMorris does an outstanding job balancing her many tales and even her combat scenes are well done. A good choice if you’re looking for an all-around excellent read, and an even better book club choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1