Customer Reviews for

The Bridges of Madison County

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

ASIDE FROM THE TOPIC...

I actually had heard about this book, and the movie, which I have never seen, as I am from Iowa (although not that part). I really think this book goes far beyond a romance novel, although it might appeal if you like those. But it is much deeper than that, as it is not ...
I actually had heard about this book, and the movie, which I have never seen, as I am from Iowa (although not that part). I really think this book goes far beyond a romance novel, although it might appeal if you like those. But it is much deeper than that, as it is not only about love. It is about renunciation, and true connection between two people, and it is about destiny, and fate. It is also about unachieved dreams, and it is about understanding. Those are not themes covered by your average romance novel.
I think you understand this book better if you are from the rural Midwest, although the theme can be anywhere, any place. But, if you are from small town America, you get the parts of this book that elevate it above just a love story. To me, the book encompasses lots of things. I think Francesca's lack of fulfillment in her marriage and in rural Iowa are more understandable if you know what those towns and people are like. She is deeper than they, and her passion for Robert Kincaid is as much as about unfulfilled dreams as love. She is deeper than the people around and deeper than her husband, and has never known true love. She finds understanding and perfect passion, but it doesn't last in practical reality. But the connection and bond between her and Robert Kincaid is there across the miles, and I think you might have had to experience some of these things to like this book.
Adultery is a very realistic topic for fiction, and it isn't a bad one. It gives the flavor of the bittersweet even more to this book. I don't know how you could not like this book on those grounds. It makes it that much more realistic, like it could have happened. At any rate, especially about the Iowa parts of this book, I found myself just thinking exactly when I read about some of that stuff, and you have to understand the background to get the story. The background is spot on, and it makes the story come alive. However, I really liked this book, even though this isn't the stuff I normally read.

posted by 148253 on November 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

-_-

couldnt even finish it. i know its a classic...guess its just not for me.

posted by Sailem on August 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    ASIDE FROM THE TOPIC...

    I actually had heard about this book, and the movie, which I have never seen, as I am from Iowa (although not that part). I really think this book goes far beyond a romance novel, although it might appeal if you like those. But it is much deeper than that, as it is not only about love. It is about renunciation, and true connection between two people, and it is about destiny, and fate. It is also about unachieved dreams, and it is about understanding. Those are not themes covered by your average romance novel. <BR/>I think you understand this book better if you are from the rural Midwest, although the theme can be anywhere, any place. But, if you are from small town America, you get the parts of this book that elevate it above just a love story. To me, the book encompasses lots of things. I think Francesca's lack of fulfillment in her marriage and in rural Iowa are more understandable if you know what those towns and people are like. She is deeper than they, and her passion for Robert Kincaid is as much as about unfulfilled dreams as love. She is deeper than the people around and deeper than her husband, and has never known true love. She finds understanding and perfect passion, but it doesn't last in practical reality. But the connection and bond between her and Robert Kincaid is there across the miles, and I think you might have had to experience some of these things to like this book. <BR/>Adultery is a very realistic topic for fiction, and it isn't a bad one. It gives the flavor of the bittersweet even more to this book. I don't know how you could not like this book on those grounds. It makes it that much more realistic, like it could have happened. At any rate, especially about the Iowa parts of this book, I found myself just thinking exactly when I read about some of that stuff, and you have to understand the background to get the story. The background is spot on, and it makes the story come alive. However, I really liked this book, even though this isn't the stuff I normally read.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Love this story!

    If you like Nicholas Sparks' books, you will love this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Excellent read.

    Loved it. Very touching.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Classic!

    I love the book and I love the movie. I fully understood everything Francesca was going thru. Definetly hit home for me. Great read for a rainy day or on a cold winter day with coffee or hot chocolate.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    A sweet story

    I don't think that Mr. Waller is the greatest writer in the world, but he certainly knows how to tell a sweeping story. I really enjoyed this tale, and shed a few tears toward the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful

    A very good book. If you want a heart breaking story this is the one for you. All through the book i longed for things to happen but they never did, and that is what makes this book so good. Even though you want one thing to happen it is the fact that it does not that makes it a truly good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    looking for a great love story? for free??

    then check out this free online novel:
    www.suzyengland.webs.com

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2005

    A timeless love story.

    This book took over my heart completely. I felt as though I was so much apart of these peoples lives. There was so much depth and hidden morlols intertwined in their romance, I don't know how they could ever live without eachother. It seemed as though they were only living their full potential the days they were together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2005

    Finally Read it!

    After all these years, I finally read Bridges. I saw the movie, but think the book's better, of course. A little slow-paced once in a while, but I couldn't put it down, nevertheless. A tender love story. My heart aches for them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2004

    Great Iowa Setting

    Many novels are set in the glamour locations of New York City, San Francisco, or Paris. Enjoyed this story set in a rural, nostalgic, setting. Quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    such a nice thing

    I really enjoyed The book for the fact that Francesca and Robert, were so honest with eachother. They could easily talk with one another with absolutely nothing to hide. It was as if they had been friends for years. There is nothing sick or discusting about the whole thing....It's nice to see two lonely people finally find eachother, and experience the compassion they have been longing for all their life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2004

    From a Horror book lover

    This is a book that can make you think about all the lonly people in the world and if you where to judge this book befor you where to finish it you would probley put it down lucky for me I chose this as a book to read for a class and I need to read it. me and a friend thought it would be a good book our teacher recomined for an assighment. though It's not one I would choose for my self I enjoyed it just the same though it was hard to be a little juge mental at times in the book I would recomind it to others who like love story's and or life strugle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2003

    the true essence of passion

    i was amazed when i read this book. i still have not seen the movie but would like to. the only thing i can say to sum up this book is that it is the true essence of love and passion. i only wish that kincaid wasn't the last cowboy. every girl may not want a cowboy but i know i do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2003

    Have you even been in love?

    I thought a lot about this story after the movie and the book and I could not help wondering how precious the true love is in our limited lifespan. If there is a love like Robert Kincaid and Frencesca Johnson, do we spend enough time cherishing it? What would you do if you were Frencesca? Well, I enjoy it and love the strong bonding of love between two great characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2002

    A Challenge for Bridges Fans

    After completing the epilogue to Bridges, A Thousand Country Roads, I reread Bridges and found the same emotional impact I felt the first time around. Wow! I have missed that. I also took a previous reviewer's challenge and read these novels next to Shade of the Maple, whose cover says it is 'the most intimate novel since The Bridges of Madison County.' I beg to differ. It is more intimate and better than Bridges. Heresy to some, I know, but find out for yourself. Intense descriptions, page-turning drama, a deep understanding of the human heart and an ending that you will never forget. Plus the author is donating $1.00 from every sale to breast cancer research. If half the people who pick up Bridges or its epilogue also pick up Martin's book, we'd raise a lot of money, and I can guarantee a lot of people will have found a new favorite author. In summary, if you liked Bridges, you owe it to yourself to read both Shade of the Maple and A Thousand Country Roads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2001

    A magnificent love story.

    Read and written by the author, this audio version of a love story so passionate, so powerful, so potent, is a great mind escape for a few hours. I found myself lost in the soft lull of Robert James Waller's voice as he took me to Madison County, Iowa, and showed me the covered bridges, the fields and meadows, the sunrises and sunsets, and the truest love in the history of time. Francesca is an Iowa farm wife, who meets Robert Kincaid, writer, photographer, from Bellingham, Washington one hot, dusty day when he stops at her farm for directions. What follows is a love story so profound and so moving, you will wish you had experienced it yourself. It IS a bit sappy, and I wished for a lighter tone on occasion, to take away the inherent sadness that permeated the story turned fairy-tale turned story again. Francesca and Robert must make a painful choice, one of great sorrow and heartache that they will have to live with and abide by the rest of their days. The story was told to the author by Francesca's two children after Francesca's death. After reading her journals, looking at pieces of her life Francesca kept in a manila envelope and finally realizing the depth of what their mother had to say, Michael and Carolyn decide that this is a story that very much needs to be told. It is the Romeo and Juliet of the 20th century, two star-crossed lovers torn by family and love, separated by miles of responsibility and heart ache, words waiting to be heard. Francesca and Robert come to represent that part of us that lives for what we know we want, what we know we must have, and what a very few of us ever really find.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2000

    true love comes only once in a lifetime

    touching, memorable. this little book really captures all the quintessence of what it is to be in love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2