Customer Reviews for

Bridget Jones: Mad About the Boy

Average Rating 3.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I was apprehensive when I read that Darcy was dead prior to the

I was apprehensive when I read that Darcy was dead prior to the book release. I wondered if this were an
Author's last bid to cash in on a once popular protagonist. Happily, I was wrong to worry.

The narrative voice, so quotable, true and hilarious I previous outings, ...
I was apprehensive when I read that Darcy was dead prior to the book release. I wondered if this were an
Author's last bid to cash in on a once popular protagonist. Happily, I was wrong to worry.

The narrative voice, so quotable, true and hilarious I previous outings, is both fiercely honest and heartbreakingly real. 
Bridget remains relatable, hysterically funny and observant and more relevant than an icon has a right to be.I would Give it six stars if I could. To all detractors who thought. The death of mark Darcy heralded the end of the world, quit whining and read it!

posted by LitDiva77 on October 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Not good skip it

The book was sad throughout. I didnt like it near as much as her other books. This one was a great disappoinment and worse than cause celeb one. There were so many other stories she could have told and handle Mark, Daniel and Mr Jones in better ways. Who cares that ...
The book was sad throughout. I didnt like it near as much as her other books. This one was a great disappoinment and worse than cause celeb one. There were so many other stories she could have told and handle Mark, Daniel and Mr Jones in better ways. Who cares that life isnt always happy.

We read books like Bridget Jones to escape our own misery and laugh. I found very little laughter here. Pkus, the owl reminded me of Harry Potter rather thsn the reincarnation effect she wanted. Kissing at tge end was sort of like the first book, snoe and all. Different but much the same. Vomit, lice, all were unnecessary.

The writing didnt sparkle and it was mournful. Save your money unlessyou want to cray about the book and spending money.

This is the last book l buy from this author. Ive bought all her books in past. It was a HUGE time waster to read. Pity Bridget was always goodfor a laugh. I also disliked the political reference and Buddhist stuff. Didnt add anything to the plot.

posted by Anonymous on October 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I was apprehensive when I read that Darcy was dead prior to the

    I was apprehensive when I read that Darcy was dead prior to the book release. I wondered if this were an
    Author's last bid to cash in on a once popular protagonist. Happily, I was wrong to worry.

    The narrative voice, so quotable, true and hilarious I previous outings, is both fiercely honest and heartbreakingly real. 
    Bridget remains relatable, hysterically funny and observant and more relevant than an icon has a right to be.I would Give it six stars if I could. To all detractors who thought. The death of mark Darcy heralded the end of the world, quit whining and read it!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Bittersweet

    I laughed. I cried. This 3rd Bridget is a charm. Less over the top than 1st two novels: more depth, more emotion, more empathy. Highly recommend.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Not good skip it

    The book was sad throughout. I didnt like it near as much as her other books. This one was a great disappoinment and worse than cause celeb one. There were so many other stories she could have told and handle Mark, Daniel and Mr Jones in better ways. Who cares that life isnt always happy.

    We read books like Bridget Jones to escape our own misery and laugh. I found very little laughter here. Pkus, the owl reminded me of Harry Potter rather thsn the reincarnation effect she wanted. Kissing at tge end was sort of like the first book, snoe and all. Different but much the same. Vomit, lice, all were unnecessary.

    The writing didnt sparkle and it was mournful. Save your money unlessyou want to cray about the book and spending money.

    This is the last book l buy from this author. Ive bought all her books in past. It was a HUGE time waster to read. Pity Bridget was always goodfor a laugh. I also disliked the political reference and Buddhist stuff. Didnt add anything to the plot.

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Just lovely. The book is lovely and bittersweet. The author do

    Just lovely.

    The book is lovely and bittersweet. The author does not pick up where she left off, so Bridget Jones is all grown up now. In the era of “leaning in” and “having it all”, she is still disarmingly charming and delightfully imperfect. While the idea of a 51-year old Bridget may be hard to accept at first, her struggles, dreams, illusions and disappointments are more real and heartfelt than ever before. For the original fans of the series, the reading serves as a gentle reminder that they, too, grew older over the past fifteen years but that the joy of love, laughter, family and "cuddles" can be found at any age.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Depressing

    This book tried too hard. Twitter is confusing? Online dating is hard? These aren't exaxtly fresh observations. The author tries to recapture the sparle of the original (and to a lesser extent the second novel) and just fails. Spoiler etiquette forbids me from revealing more, but Spoiler colors the whole novel and not in the bittersweet way I think Fielding meant.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget Jones has been off the radar for many years now, because

    Bridget Jones has been off the radar for many years now, because the last novel ended with a Happily
    Ever After.

    However, time has passed, life doesn't generally grant us HEA's, and Jonesy is again neck-deep in the
    complications of life, including dealing with two v. young children. Some fans may be ticked off that
    (spoiler alert) the author did not allow Bridget and Mark Darcy to live to a ripe old age as a married
    couple. But if she had, this book would not exist, and I ENJOYED this book tremendously, found it
    believable, poignant in more than a few places, and laugh-out-loud hilarious in others,

    The humor is still stellar and entirely relatable. Here's one of Bridget's (and my own) resolutions:
    "Deal with emails immediately and so that email becomes effective means of communication instead
    of terrifying Unexploded Email in-box full of guilt trips and undetonated time-vampire bombs." Yes,
    well, something about good intentions, hell...

    Social Media distracts her from what she SHOULD be working on: "...Is absolutely imperative not to
    tweet today, but finish screenplay. Have just got to do the ending. Oh, and the middle lot. And sort out
    the start."

    Regarding online dating, Bridget's friend Tom uses this catchy metaphor for a potential partner with
    whom he is flirting: "All text and no trousers." Then there was the twunken (drunken Tweeting) bird
    fiasco...

    Bridget's mental digressions are delicious: "he picked me up in his arms, as if I was light as a feather,
    which I am not, unless it was a very heavy feather, maybe from a giant prehistoric dinosaur-type bird..."

    It works as a stand-alone even if you haven't read the previous novels. If you have, it offers a peek at
    the glory of Mark and Bridget's past married life. It offers all the delights of mummyhood including lice
    infestations, vomiting, and cuddling in bed at storytime.

     I'm mad about this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    I was a little worried going into it that Mark dying was going t

    I was a little worried going into it that Mark dying was going to mean there was no way this book could be as good... boy was I wrong! Finished the entire book in one day while traveling. Could not stop myself. The same ole Bridget we've grown to know and love, and gives me hope that I'm not the only crazy one out there counting down the minutes since a silly boy responded and obsessing over what I said/should've said. If you loved the first two, trust me on this, you'll love this one as well.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Without giving anything away, I was VERY disappointed with the w

    Without giving anything away, I was VERY disappointed with the way the author decided to continue this series. That said, it was still classic Bridget Jones. I laughed, I cried, and I cheered for her once more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Hard to Get into But Satisfying

    It was a little hard to get into because Bridget has aged since we last saw her and her life is completely different than one would expect. However, once you get over the initial shock, you find the old Bridget we know and love at the heart of the book. And in the end, it's a satisfying read. The end very literally justifies the means.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Had to read it but not as good as the first two were.

    Bridget is in her early 50s and her life is very different than when she was on the Edge of Reason. This one was a little slow, I got tired of so much of the "texting" format to advance the story and looked forward to actual printed paragraphs. That being said, Fielding wrote some hilarious scenes such as the dilemma where "one can't wear reading glasses when nit combing young lover's hair". I love that Bridget feels like she's half assing most of her life but still likes herself. If you read the first two books, you should read this one too because you need to know how it turns out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    funny

    hi everybody, I barely speak English, so don't care too much about mistakes in this review. I read all 2 previous Bridget Jones books and I was looking forward to see what happens to her after more than 15 years, so I was surprised to see that not too much was changed in the way she approaches to life. does the author want to say that even a lot of - also sad- things happens to us, we are not able to change our way to face reality? same group of friends suggesting her what to do, same way to waste time during all day, same weird way to approach men, same delusions and at the end a magical outcome like things happen even you are not working hard to make them happen. that's my point of view...nicoletta

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Terrible book do not read

    This book should have been bridget getting married having children and dealing with fitting into marks world and especially acting like a grown up not being a tramp and neglecting your kids

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Not particularly fresh or interesting. Touching memories about M

    Not particularly fresh or interesting. Touching memories about Mark, but the fact that she killed him speaks poorly of her writing. Mark and Bridget are interesting enough without Fielding having to fall back to Bridget-looking-for love plot. 


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Sad

    I didn't finish it,life is too ssd already... the idea of Mark being gone was too much. :/

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Hi, I have only one question :) This book has really original si

    Hi, I have only one question :) This book has really original signature by Helen Fielding? I'd like to buy this book for my wife ;)
    J.C.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Hi

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Free ipod

    Kiss ur hands three times post this three times and look under ur pillow

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Like visiting with an old friend

    Enjoyable read--laughter, tears, fun:-). An enjoyable read even through the inevitable bridget muck-ups. A relief to see that even with age we remain "ageless," but with the grace & humor to keep moving forward:-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Vtvrwdtt

    Sucks penis haiary nut ball sacks like a pro

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Free pink ipod

    Kiss your hand three times,than repost this three times on three different books than look under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5