Customer Reviews for

Bridget Jones's Diary

Average Rating 4
( 296 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

VERY CUTE, VERY FUNNY

If you haven't read this book-- it's a must-- it's a classic early version of Chick Flick. This is an outrageously funny book and yet sincere in it's look at the inside view of a gal with a few extra lbs and being single in the 90's. Still a national best seller. It is ...
If you haven't read this book-- it's a must-- it's a classic early version of Chick Flick. This is an outrageously funny book and yet sincere in it's look at the inside view of a gal with a few extra lbs and being single in the 90's. Still a national best seller. It is so much fun for anyone who tries to lose weight or is on a diet (isn't that all of us) in the course of the book she loses 72 lbs and gains 74 -- hilarious or is it? A droll sense of humor, a strong emphasis on how we look and how we relate to men-- will give any female reader much to think about and chuckle about too. Do you want to lose 7 lbs, stop smoking and develop inner poise-- well see how Bridget does or doesn't do all of that in Bridget Jones diary.Fast summer read-- great airplane reading, fun reading for a mom who has to read in short breaks between kids, food, family and chaos! Good re-reading too....keep it at the summer house for guests.

posted by BANCHEE_READS on September 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This was a good read, although I did enjoy the movie a bit more.

This was a good read, although I did enjoy the movie a bit more. Bridget Jones is very funny; I loved how she tracked EVERYTHING in her diary.. especially how she lost 72lbs and gained 74 throughout the whole year. All in all, the book had some funny moments, but others...
This was a good read, although I did enjoy the movie a bit more. Bridget Jones is very funny; I loved how she tracked EVERYTHING in her diary.. especially how she lost 72lbs and gained 74 throughout the whole year. All in all, the book had some funny moments, but others that just made me roll my eyes; like Bridgets mother becomming a criminal. C+

posted by Lindsie on November 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Okay

    The book was very British or whatever. Some parts/phrases were hard to understand. But it had some funny parts. Her life is one big 'FML' moment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This was a good read, although I did enjoy the movie a bit more.

    This was a good read, although I did enjoy the movie a bit more. Bridget Jones is very funny; I loved how she tracked EVERYTHING in her diary.. especially how she lost 72lbs and gained 74 throughout the whole year. All in all, the book had some funny moments, but others that just made me roll my eyes; like Bridgets mother becomming a criminal. C+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    good beach reading

    fluffy cotton candy for the brain. Enjoyable, but gone before you know it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Horrible

    Sort of good but mostly awful.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    Movie was Better

    I liked the layout of the story and I liked the beginning (maybe 2/3 of the book). The movie was soooooo much better though. The writing style was interesting and it did feel like reading someone's diary; it was funny and at times I laughed out loud. The ending with regards to the mother and her issues was weird (I didn't like it) and the mum in the book is incredibly selfish and mean. I got to a point when I wanted to skip her parts because the guilt trips were almost painful to read. I would recommend skipping the book, and just watching the movie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Very Witty!

    A witty and humerous book about what it is like to be single in your thirties and one woman's desperate and funny attempts at self-improvement and finding love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2005

    A disappointment

    This is one of few cases where the movie is better than the book. I expected trashy, exciting, funny, and I got, trashy, boring, lifeless. How un-exciting is Bridget's life? What a waste.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2001

    good, light heart

    bridget jones is a good character, sort of a english Padukah Dooney (from the american novel 'Hogslength') but with less depth / conflict and more male/female relationship messiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2001

    So many people said 'read it'

    So many people told me to read this book..so I did. But I felt it wasn't as funny as I thought it was going to be. Maybe it's like smelling someone else's food and wanting it, but when you have it - it's not that great.. Sure I could identify with Bridget but I didn't laugh out loud once..however I stuck with it and actually read The Edge of Reason - which DID make me laugh out loud. Maybe Helen Fielding is just warming up and the third one will be hysterical??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2000

    Falls short of expectations

    I read this book because of the reviews on this site. It wasn't that wonderful and fell short of my expectations. It's almost sad to read about her eating disorder and not have her address it as such. She goes on like it's a normal behavior. That bothered me more than anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2000

    Wish December hadn't happened.

    By February, I was hooked on Bridget's dates and friends and mishaps. I plowed straight through November in about three days. The simple dramas were universal, and the stories swung from humor to depression and back. Loved it. Then, unfortunately, came the over-climactic and horribly unbelievable ending. Ouch. Still, though, wouldn't mind reading Edge of Reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3