Customer Reviews for

Bridget Jones's Diary

Average Rating 4
( 288 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(160)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

VERY CUTE, VERY FUNNY

If you haven't read this book-- it's a must-- it's a classic early version of Chick Flick. This is an outrageously funny book and yet sincere in it's look at the inside view of a gal with a few extra lbs and being single in the 90's. Still a national best seller. It is ...
If you haven't read this book-- it's a must-- it's a classic early version of Chick Flick. This is an outrageously funny book and yet sincere in it's look at the inside view of a gal with a few extra lbs and being single in the 90's. Still a national best seller. It is so much fun for anyone who tries to lose weight or is on a diet (isn't that all of us) in the course of the book she loses 72 lbs and gains 74 -- hilarious or is it? A droll sense of humor, a strong emphasis on how we look and how we relate to men-- will give any female reader much to think about and chuckle about too. Do you want to lose 7 lbs, stop smoking and develop inner poise-- well see how Bridget does or doesn't do all of that in Bridget Jones diary.Fast summer read-- great airplane reading, fun reading for a mom who has to read in short breaks between kids, food, family and chaos! Good re-reading too....keep it at the summer house for guests.

posted by BANCHEE_READS on September 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This was a good read, although I did enjoy the movie a bit more.

This was a good read, although I did enjoy the movie a bit more. Bridget Jones is very funny; I loved how she tracked EVERYTHING in her diary.. especially how she lost 72lbs and gained 74 throughout the whole year. All in all, the book had some funny moments, but others...
This was a good read, although I did enjoy the movie a bit more. Bridget Jones is very funny; I loved how she tracked EVERYTHING in her diary.. especially how she lost 72lbs and gained 74 throughout the whole year. All in all, the book had some funny moments, but others that just made me roll my eyes; like Bridgets mother becomming a criminal. C+

posted by Lindsie on November 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    hilarious

    a great escape!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Surprisingly Wonderful

    I didn't go in with high expectations, but it was charming, cute, real and HILARIOUS! All in all, it was worth my time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    very good

    I would read any b,j. zbooks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Clever

    Bridget Jones's Diary turned out to be a clever book. I really liked the unique diary-esque entries. I particularly enjoyed the daily weight, calorie, alcohol, cigarette, lotto ticket totals, because it is something neurotically real. Especially because I had seen both movies before reading the book, I couldn't help but use Renee's voice as the narrator in my head. Written with British humor, with a very British style, I really enjoyed the language of the story as something different than my usual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Witty, unique and entertaining

    This book was perfect for a light read and a chuckle. Bridget Jones is a fun character to follow. The men in her life are just as hysterical. Sadly though I think I enjoyed the movie better than the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2003

    Best book of our time!

    Bridget Jones Diaries is a book that you can't put down. I stayed up all night so I could find out what was going to happen next. When I found out that there was an edition to Bridget Jones Diaries; the edge of reason, it had a much bigger effect on me. This is a book that makes you feel that your in love, and each time you open it up you get goose bumps all over. Helen Fielding captures Mr. Darcy perfetly, and leaves you wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2003

    An enoyable book; a really enjoyable movie.

    I enjoyed reading Bridget Jones's Diary. There is some debate over which is better, the book or the movie. Both are great! Myself, I guess I liked the movie slightly better, but that is just me :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2002

    Great Book.........Better Movie

    After seeing the movie I decided to read the book. Bridget Jones's diary is a wonderful book. But While reading the book i found it was quite different from the movie. It was very entertaing and delitfully humorous. But i felt that the movie was better. Although the movie was better the book is still good. I highly recomended it. Great book, even better movie. So read the book and see the movie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2002

    For a good Laugh

    Bridget Jones's Diary is truly a laugh-out- loud novel. If you are up for an easy read that is entertaining this is a great book for you. Helen Fielding does a wonderful job of showing us the inner workings of a woman's mind. Bridget is always thinking of something that people can relate to; whether it is her singleton woes or her fluctuating weight. Bridget Jones's Diary is definetly a must read for a person who wants a good laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2002

    Specatacular

    Bridget Jones's Diary '123lbs. alcohol units 7, cigarettes 0 (vg), calories 6245 (not good).' Each day starts out like this for Bridget in her diary by Helen Fielding. Bridget, in her late twenties, living in Britain as a young crazy business woman, talks about her troubles with lust, love, friends, work and parents! It all starts out with New Year's resolutions to lose weight, quit smoking and find a husband. Bridget attends a New Year's Curry Buffet with her parents and their friends. The close nit friends of her parent put pressure on her to find a man and start a family. The one man they are really pushing is Mark Darcy, a divorced, rich lawyer---wearing a diamond crossed sweater and reindeer socks! UM NO! She is eaten up daily with thoughts of a man, Daniel, who she works and tries to date, but it doesn't work out. All the while her parents of some 30 years together separate; her mum takes off with a Portuguese man, who turns out to be a crazy nut and is stealing all her mum's money. Mark Darcy comes to the rescue, turns out not to be the crossed sweater and reindeer type, (but was wearing that for his aunt) and gets Julio (the Portuguese boyfriend) arrested and falls crazily in love with Bridget. The fun, casual, easy spirit, easy reading-simplistic book that EVERYONE needs to read is this book. Along with the great reading is wonderful use of British language which even if I didn't like the book I'd keep reading just to hear the fantastic language (I loved it!). Pick it up and I guarantee you won't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2002

    Wonderful!

    The most hilarious book I have ever read!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2001

    The truth is funny!

    This book was hysterical. I couldn't believe how much I could relate to this woman

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2001

    A MIRROR TO LOOK IN

    Pithy, funny and readable. Very entertaining from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2001

    Absolutely Hilarious

    Every single woman in their 20s or 30s should read this hilarious tale of the trials and travails of Bridget. It touches upon so many truths about our life and times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2001

    You'll finish reading it within one week

    I thought the author did a nice job. It was easy to read and held my interest. I had to get used to reading it with a British accent, but once I got the hang of it I was fine!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2001

    Funny Funny Funny

    This book is so funny and right on the money, it's scary. Although I have not yet reached the age where people have begun to ask me when am I getting married, I do know what it's like to go to a family party and have at least four people ask why I don't have a man. Most women today can identify with Bridget's insecurities. I could identify with Bridget and I know most of my friends can too. This is a fast read that is truly enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2001

    Fantasico!

    Very witty humourous and well constructed book. Very funny and i really enjoyed it!.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2001

    Fun, fun, fun!!!

    Lots of fun, hard to put down, Bridget Jones will wiggle into your heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2001

    very entertaining

    I recently read this book and found it very entertaining. As a single woman I could very much relate to Bridget. It is well written and is easy to get into.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2001

    Bridget Jones is a British Hoot!

    Reading Bridget Jones's Diary is like taking a peek into one of our best girlfriend's daily journal; it's funny, cynical, obsessive, entertaining. Whom among us has not flushed with workplace chagrin, tried to deal with an overbearing/frustrating parent, or obsessed about something (be it weight, career, cigarette/alcohol consumption, the opposite sex, etc., etc.)? Bridget Jones's Diary turns it all into a hysterical romp through a year-in-the-life of a 30-something Singleton. It is a wonderful weekend read...take it lightly and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4