Customer Reviews for

Bridget Jones's Diary

Average Rating 4
( 288 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(160)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

VERY CUTE, VERY FUNNY

If you haven't read this book-- it's a must-- it's a classic early version of Chick Flick. This is an outrageously funny book and yet sincere in it's look at the inside view of a gal with a few extra lbs and being single in the 90's. Still a national best seller. It is ...
If you haven't read this book-- it's a must-- it's a classic early version of Chick Flick. This is an outrageously funny book and yet sincere in it's look at the inside view of a gal with a few extra lbs and being single in the 90's. Still a national best seller. It is so much fun for anyone who tries to lose weight or is on a diet (isn't that all of us) in the course of the book she loses 72 lbs and gains 74 -- hilarious or is it? A droll sense of humor, a strong emphasis on how we look and how we relate to men-- will give any female reader much to think about and chuckle about too. Do you want to lose 7 lbs, stop smoking and develop inner poise-- well see how Bridget does or doesn't do all of that in Bridget Jones diary.Fast summer read-- great airplane reading, fun reading for a mom who has to read in short breaks between kids, food, family and chaos! Good re-reading too....keep it at the summer house for guests.

posted by BANCHEE_READS on September 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This was a good read, although I did enjoy the movie a bit more.

This was a good read, although I did enjoy the movie a bit more. Bridget Jones is very funny; I loved how she tracked EVERYTHING in her diary.. especially how she lost 72lbs and gained 74 throughout the whole year. All in all, the book had some funny moments, but others...
This was a good read, although I did enjoy the movie a bit more. Bridget Jones is very funny; I loved how she tracked EVERYTHING in her diary.. especially how she lost 72lbs and gained 74 throughout the whole year. All in all, the book had some funny moments, but others that just made me roll my eyes; like Bridgets mother becomming a criminal. C+

posted by Lindsie on November 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    VERY CUTE, VERY FUNNY

    If you haven't read this book-- it's a must-- it's a classic early version of Chick Flick. This is an outrageously funny book and yet sincere in it's look at the inside view of a gal with a few extra lbs and being single in the 90's. Still a national best seller. It is so much fun for anyone who tries to lose weight or is on a diet (isn't that all of us) in the course of the book she loses 72 lbs and gains 74 -- hilarious or is it? A droll sense of humor, a strong emphasis on how we look and how we relate to men-- will give any female reader much to think about and chuckle about too. Do you want to lose 7 lbs, stop smoking and develop inner poise-- well see how Bridget does or doesn't do all of that in Bridget Jones diary.Fast summer read-- great airplane reading, fun reading for a mom who has to read in short breaks between kids, food, family and chaos! Good re-reading too....keep it at the summer house for guests.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2003

    read this book a million times... and its still funny

    This book is wonderful. If you find that you prefer classics to remain classics (the storyline is based on Jane Austen's 'Pride and Predjudice') then this book is perhaps not for you, but it is a book for anyone who loves to laugh. Bridget is the ultimate heroine and I find that any modern woman can relate to at least one of her excursions and revel in the humility and hilarity of them. Men too can also enjoy 'Bridget' as can teenagers (I know as I happen to be one), but best of all, no matter how many times you read this, you will still find it hilarious!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Good read

    A LOL story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    I could not stop laughing! and sadly alot of it is relatable.

    I could not stop laughing! and sadly alot of it is relatable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Love it!

    A fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Big arm william little dog

    I am your best friend would you like to talk to me i really dont want you to be so shy but you are a nice guy to be around

    Pu

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Uh

    I dont know what happens because i didn't read it yet.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Love this book

    Great fun book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted January 20, 2011

    I love this book

    I just wish it didn't have the Catherine Coulter's False Pretenses cover on it. I have called customer service and emailed customer service about this - and was assured it would be fixed, but a week later and I see they still have the wrong cover on it - and it still has the wrong cover in my nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    Not the same as the movie - but in a good way!

    I really loved the movie Bridget Jones's Diary, so I was curious about the book. I read it over the course of 2 days and I loved it! There were several times throughout the book I busted out laughing. Of course, I am the target demographic (early 30's, single), so I could relate to a lot of what Bridget faced in the book. That's not to say women of most any age couldn't enjoy the read. I think if you liked the movie, you will like the book. And while some of the same scenarios happen in the movie as the book, they are generally in a totally different context. I'd go so far as to say the movie was "inspired by" the book rather than scripted from the book. If I'm ever feeling down-n-out, this will be my go to book.

    The reason I gave it 4 stars istead of 5 is that I believe $12.99 is too much to pay for 1) an eBook 2) a book which is a total of 205 pages and 3) has been around for 11 years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Hilarious!

    I chose to read this book because I loved the movie. The book, however, is TOTALLY different and MUCH better! The storyline in the movie is barely related to what actually happens in the book, so even if you've seen it, you won't see what's coming! The writing style is a bit different than most books but I think that really adds to the reading experience; it really gets you more involved in the story and reads like an actual diary (which is fun). I definitely recommend reading this is you're looking for a story to just take you away and relax for a while. Be prepared to read it cover to cover because you won't be able to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    A HILARIOUS AND GREAT STORY

    Bridget Jones is one of my heros in reading.I think she is so funny and she reminds me of me.I recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2005

    Delightful Comical Sweetness

    Little black skirts, unprogrammed VCRs, a mother in mid-life crisis . . .all are comical elements that add to the hilarity of Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones's Diary. I found myself laughing aloud at Bridget's mishaps in life and love. So many women can related to Bridget. We've all been in the same circumstances. This book is the perfect combination of comedy and heart. It's the perfect book to curl up with in bed and never put down. If you've seen the movie you must read the book because there is so much that is not shown. I loved it! And I know you will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2004

    Laugh out loud funny!

    I first read this when I was the same age as Bridget. I re-read over every again few months to enjoy a blast-from-the-past. It was hilarious then and is still hilarious today! The next in the series is even funnier!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    awesome

    hope you will all enjoy reading it...it is obvious that you will find Bridget close to you in this book, especially if you are single, well-educated but still alone :) i enjoyed reading it but (i have to say) not watching the movie. this book is just for the ones who like watching Ally McBeal ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2004

    A Pure Joy

    This book was a pure joy. It was much better than the movie, and I couldn't put it down. I was so hilarious, I was laughing out loud!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2004

    'One of the best books of our time'

    'One of the best books of our time, really'. If you've seen the movie you have to read the book. I have to say that every time I read this book I can't stop laughing. Message reader: you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2004

    GREAT BOOK!!

    Totally awesome book. I finished it in 2 days. A must read!! This book is so funny!! You will definately enjoy reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    Excellent!!!

    This was one of the funniest books I have ever read! Bridget Jones is so easy to relate to, it's incredible! I found myself cheering for her throughout the whole book! GO BRIDGET!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8