Customer Reviews for

Brief History of Everything

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I recommend the audio book WITH The Integral Vision by Ken Wilber

    This is a great introduction to Ken Wilber's philosophy.
    It does assume you are a bit familiar with his work, so I recommend also getting a little book with it that is an even more basic introduction. It is a small and very enlightening book called The Integral Vision. In it you will see the graphs he will refer to in the audio book and an explanation of his developmental chart.

    I also would like to mention that a lot of what he is talking about in these books was new to me so I benefited greatly from the fact that I could put the track on repeat until I got it and then go on when I was ready. Or take a group of tracks such as a chapter and put them in a play-list on the computer and mp3 player.

    Together the two books are a perfect set and you really do need the little blue book, The Integral Vision by Ken Wilber unless you are already very familiar with his terminology and cosmology.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    You have got to be kidding me.

    Verbose.......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This Will Shift Your Consciousness Forever

    How does a Seeker of knowledge download 2,000 plus years of human history in a few days of reading? Easy. Read or listen to Ken Wilber's brilliant synopsis neatly packaged into an elegant model of everything. The "Integral Model" will change the way you view your own life challenges and the world's enormous geopolitical problems forever. I highly recommend this book and think every politician and college student in America should have this book in their collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    What a wierdo

    /Don't bother, find some other way to waste your time, something thats more fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Ken Wilber you can understand

    If you have tried to read Ken Wilber and been confused, this book may help. The question and answer format is very helpful in understanding the complex theories he presents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2005

    Good but out of date

    The `Èinstein of the New Age`holds forth in his unique and brilliant style on the history of world views and how to put spirit back in our life. If you have the patience to learn his jargon and read slowly there is alot of serious brainfood here. I read this and his Sex, Ecology and Spirituality(1995)with Hofstadter´s famous Godel, Escher, Bach(GEB) written in 1980(both of which I have reviewed here). Wilber´s work has many parallels with GEB, both of them massive works attempting to tie together disparate fields and different views of life. Unlike Hofstadter, who was mainly interested in the nature of intelligence, Wilber does not treat math, music or DNA, and he concentrates on world views that have a spiritual relevance. He spent a vast amount of time working out the relationships between ideas and how they relate to individual and society, spirit and science. Though he cites GEB(and almost every book of relevance in last 100 years!) he does not specifically use the GEB concepts of recursiveness, incompleteness, and tangled hierarchies. However, Wilber´s holons nested in holons, criticism of incomplete ideas that either lack sense(eg, science) or soul(eg, spirit) and his diagrams and descriptions of the hierarchical nature of all holons are much in the spirit of GEB. Hofstadter spent little time on spirit(though Zen pops up now and then) and had little to say about the meaning of it all and has written little on the subject since. This is a much shorter and more accessible version of his famous SES(see my review). Unlike the former book which has hundreds of pages of notes and hundreds of references, there is not even an index here(though there is a 2001 edition which may remedy this). If you don´t have the time or patience for the whole book, read Superconsciousness Parts 1 and 2 which are an xlnt summary. His shortest book, `The Marriage of Self and Soul`(see my review) is a much easier read that gives you a good idea of his style and purpose. He details alot of intellectual history(philosophy, psychology, religion, ecology, feminism, sociology, etc) and shows where nearly everyone went too far in the direction of Ascent(to the spirit) or Descent(to science,materialism, reductionism or Flatland). He trys to show how to heal the rifts by combining sense and soul(spiritual and material life, science and religion, internal and external, individual and social). Everything is related to everything else(holons in holarchies). The Age of Enlightenment denied the the spirit, the individual and the interior life but developed art, morals and science and led to democracy, feminism, equality and ecology, but this reductionism compressed the intellect and the spirit into the Flatland of science, rationality and materialism. He sees the loss of the spiritual point of view with the Age of Enlightenment as the major factor responsible for the malaise of modern times, but real spirituality or `intelligent religion`(ie., the quest for enlightenment) as opposed to `primitive religion`(everything else-see my review of Boyer´s `Religion Explained) was always rare. It is intelligent religion he sees as the panacea, but it is primitive religion that the masses understand, and it too has only materialistic goals. In this book, he never makes it clear that Jesus was a mystic in the same sense as Buddha etc, but what was to become the Catholic church largely destroyed his mystical aspects(personal search for enlightenment, no mind etc) in favor of primitive religion, priests, tithes and a structure seemingly modeled on the Roman army(but see his SES p 363). But for the early Christian church, the cognitive templates(see Boyer) were servants of the genes and enlightenment was not on the menu. Jesus was not a Christian, he had no bible and he did not believe in a god any more than did Buddha. We have Christianity without the real intelligence of Jesus and th

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2003

    Just Excellent

    Ken Wilber shows us that although we all take different roads in life, we share a common direction in our development and evolution. He brings together a vast number of theories and observations and organizes them into one theory. It is quite amazing! Wilber has written many books on this subject but this is the one I would recommend people to read first. If you'd like a shorter, more simplified but extremely well-organized / well-articulated book that covers this material, I strongly suggest 'The Ever-transcending Spirit' by Toru Sato. It also discusses practical implications of these ideas that make you feel like you could have saved a lot of hassle and confusion if you read it earlier in your life. Both Wilber and Sato are clearly two of the most advanced thinkers of our time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1