Customer Reviews for

A Brief History of Time: From the Big Bang to Black Holes

Average Rating 4.5
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Such a great mind

When I started reading this book, I thought there is no way in the world I will be able to understand one of the greatest minds in physics today. How wrong I was! Dr. Hawking makes complicated theory understandable for the rest of us. This is a fascinating book that I w...
When I started reading this book, I thought there is no way in the world I will be able to understand one of the greatest minds in physics today. How wrong I was! Dr. Hawking makes complicated theory understandable for the rest of us. This is a fascinating book that I would recommend to everyone.

posted by ReadingRedHead on August 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

g b bbnvnbC

What the heck

posted by 3793948 on January 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Such a great mind

    When I started reading this book, I thought there is no way in the world I will be able to understand one of the greatest minds in physics today. How wrong I was! Dr. Hawking makes complicated theory understandable for the rest of us. This is a fascinating book that I would recommend to everyone.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    Most Impressive

    Hawkings brings to life the wonder of science in a language that anyone can understand. We need more books like this.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2004

    Perfect for those who have no background in astrophysics, even better for those that do!

    I am 14 and I have a passion for astrophysics. I knew a lot of facts about which the book is talking about, but I had chaos in my head. Mr. Hawking brought peace and order. This book is amazing in 2 major things: 1) It guides the reader through a vast topic that is flooding with unrelated information in a smooth and orederly way. 2) He describes super-hard concepts in an amazingly simple manner so that almost everyone can understand the General Theory of Relativity having but a little understannding of physics. I reccommend this book for those that are interested in astrophysics and especially for those that simply want to get the answer to those basic standard questions (How did universe began?).

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2000

    Great Book

    Excellent for everyone with an interest in how we came about being here today. No need to have an advanced degree in physics or mathematics to understand this book. If you're interested enough to be reading this review, you should buy the book -- you will not be sorry.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    Many years after its initial release, this book is still a great pleasure to read. Written in a conversational tone, much of it is probably readily understandable to most readers. However, some parts of it, especially toward the end, aren't exactly simple by any means. Any curious reader, even if not particularly interested in physics or astronomy, will find this little book to be a gem. An extra treat is a few pages at the end describing prominent events from the lives of Einstein, Galileo, and Newton. Highly recommended read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2002

    Hawking Does It Again.

    Stephen Hawking, One of the World's most brilliant men, has published this incredible piece of literature. His writings are so precise, yet comprehendable by all. His explanation of the Big Bang theory is brilliant, as is any other theory in this book. I highly recommend that you buy this book, because it is worth it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Best work EVER!!!!

    I love it!! It's so easy to read!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2002

    A great book for anyone who wants to know about the universe

    This book has much information packed into it. It is not a book for only physicists though. I really enjoyed it and I am only 14. So if you want to know about all the workings in the universe, buy this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2000

    It will change your outlook on life

    I read this book about 2 years ago, and i have not thought about life in the same way ever since. I think it is one of the best books ever written on particle and theoretical physics. It is extremely understandable, enjoyable, and interesting. After reading this book, i became so interested in its subject matter that i have collected an entire bookshelf full of books on related topics.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2000

    A great book...

    It is easy reading for most everyone and the reading goes by quickly. The man proves anyone can do anything they want to regardless of any disabilities they may have.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2000

    Very Insightful

    A very well done book, put in to an easy to understand format combines to make this text an outstanding piece. Strongly suggested for anyone who looks for a general but firm understanding in the underpinning of what makes our universe tick as time (whatever it may be) passes. If it kept me reading, it will with out a doubt keep you intriuged. Mr. Hawking is a man of exceptional intellect, which is reflected in this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    Engaging & entertaining

    I was able to understand, previously puzzling, cosmic physics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding

    Stephen explains not only where we are in trying to figure out the universe, but how we got there and why. He also does all of this with humor and in a way that is understandable to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Amazing

    Awesome book. It's perfect for people starting to learn about this type of stuff, because it covers nearly everything, from the super tiny to the super huge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2014

    With such a vast and complicated subject matter as theoretical p

    With such a vast and complicated subject matter as theoretical physics, it stands to wonder how much, if any, comprehensive info could be relayed in a mere 200 pages. Happily, Stephen Hawking pulls off exactly this in a simplistic overview of the world of physics today. From general relativity (focusing on the extraordinarily vast) to quantum mechanics (concerning the extraordinarily tiny), Hawking gifts the reader with a simplified and understandable summary of physics, where its come from, and where its headed. The true power in this read is its appeal to the laymen. One can enter this book with little to no prior knowledge of theoretical physics and its surrounding subjects, and come out with a solid understand of the oh-so-complex ideas of the cosmos. I would only not recommend this book to someone if he/she already has a complete understanding of physics, as the book might be too dull, although to those who are somewhat aware of concepts from “the Big Bang to Black Holes” this book is thorough enough in its content that one could go from “I sort of get it” to “oh that makes sense now!” All-in-all, this book is an excellent and entertaining read to anyone with an interest in the cosmos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Nico is gay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    9

    I am only a 9 year old increadably interested in space and the universe and this is best space book i ever read!!! And i not kidding about my age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    To: Stephen Hawking

    U r truly an amazing man you are just so awesome i love learning about space i especially love learning how black holes form. I actually have my own theory i havent come up with a name for it yet but here it is. As the sun gets larger and at the same time Earth moves away from the sun (because the universe expands) i've concluded that heat on Earth should remain the same. I just wish i could prove it. I have kind've a name for it: The Theory of Scientific Common Sense. I know its kind of mean but it's just common sense to me. I also hope to someday meet you your truly the coolest guy ever. I hope read this have a nice day. ~ $@/\/\ )-(.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Runningclaw

    Walks around. "Found it." He mews. "Windclan will be saved

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Awesome

    I lobe stephen hawking

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5