BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Bright Forever

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

ILLUMINATING!

Martin's THE BRIGHT FOREVER was an illuminating find. The author certainly has a gift for storytelling and knows how to keep a reader going and going. He provides the reader with small clues which always left me wanting more. It was definitely one of my fastest reads be...
Martin's THE BRIGHT FOREVER was an illuminating find. The author certainly has a gift for storytelling and knows how to keep a reader going and going. He provides the reader with small clues which always left me wanting more. It was definitely one of my fastest reads because I couldn't put it down!

The story itself is a sad one: a little girl full of life and innocence turns up missing in a small, sleepy town where the biggest news the town newspaper might ever report is the results of the church bake sale. I liken the story to Alice Sebold's THE LOVELY BONES and Kate Atkinson's CASE HISTORIES; however, it was a much richer story than either of those two novels (and I don't recommend the latter at all!).

Having just read (and not enjoying) CASE HISTORIES, I was a bit put off at first by THE BRIGHT FOREVER when I started reading and discovered that it was similar in structure and told from many points of view. It's not a structure I'm particularly fond of, as it can be somewhat confusing and overwhelming. Thankfully, author Lee Martin pulls it off beautifully. He offers one story with several interwoven viewpoints and truths, and that keeps the reader guessing.

Each chapter is named after a character or a specific date, which tells you whose point of view you'll be reading next. It was confusing at first, but once you get used to switching viewpoints and putting yourself in that character's shoes, you begin to appreciate the novel's style and ease into the story much more easily.

I don't want to give away any plot details; I'll let you discover those for yourself. However, think of this quote from the novel:

"The measure of a man's real character is what he would do if he knew he would never be found out."

That's the heart of the story. Martin gives us a captivating -- yet heavy-hearted-- tale that examines real human nature and behavior.

posted by eak321 on April 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Slow read

Even though this book is a short 226 pages, it was slow going. I honesy didn't get into it until page 96. Even then, it wasn't a book I couldn't put down. It wasn't a terrible book, but it wasn't a great one either.

posted by penslnamia on June 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ILLUMINATING!

    Martin's THE BRIGHT FOREVER was an illuminating find. The author certainly has a gift for storytelling and knows how to keep a reader going and going. He provides the reader with small clues which always left me wanting more. It was definitely one of my fastest reads because I couldn't put it down!

    The story itself is a sad one: a little girl full of life and innocence turns up missing in a small, sleepy town where the biggest news the town newspaper might ever report is the results of the church bake sale. I liken the story to Alice Sebold's THE LOVELY BONES and Kate Atkinson's CASE HISTORIES; however, it was a much richer story than either of those two novels (and I don't recommend the latter at all!).

    Having just read (and not enjoying) CASE HISTORIES, I was a bit put off at first by THE BRIGHT FOREVER when I started reading and discovered that it was similar in structure and told from many points of view. It's not a structure I'm particularly fond of, as it can be somewhat confusing and overwhelming. Thankfully, author Lee Martin pulls it off beautifully. He offers one story with several interwoven viewpoints and truths, and that keeps the reader guessing.

    Each chapter is named after a character or a specific date, which tells you whose point of view you'll be reading next. It was confusing at first, but once you get used to switching viewpoints and putting yourself in that character's shoes, you begin to appreciate the novel's style and ease into the story much more easily.

    I don't want to give away any plot details; I'll let you discover those for yourself. However, think of this quote from the novel:

    "The measure of a man's real character is what he would do if he knew he would never be found out."

    That's the heart of the story. Martin gives us a captivating -- yet heavy-hearted-- tale that examines real human nature and behavior.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    it was real

    this "story" was very familiar, because it happens to sound like the crime that took place in my small town in 1972, of course the names and places were changed but it is the same story i have heard all my life. the only reason for this review is to let everyone know "Katie" was real and it shattered our little town to this day.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Slow read

    Even though this book is a short 226 pages, it was slow going. I honesy didn't get into it until page 96. Even then, it wasn't a book I couldn't put down. It wasn't a terrible book, but it wasn't a great one either.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    Ho...Hum......

    After I read the synopsis, I was anxious to read the book. Despite the grim content, it appeared to be a real cliffhanger. I don't read a lot of mysteries and novels that are similiar in nature to this, but I was so disappointed and bored. In the middle of the book I started skipping paragraphs and I started skimming through the book. This book had too much character development and not enough plot. I understand the importance of developing the characters, but after awhile I got bored and wanted the story to progress. To each his own, but this book was boring at times and moved too slow for my taste.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    well written

    heartbreaking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Xrrx'dedxexexexddccdfcvf

    Zzqggdsseeetggfdx

    Ll
    1 nm.
    CaxZ'

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    Depressing

    If you have any children, this might be difficult to get through. Creepy. Not an easy read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    loved it!

    i couldnt put it down. great writing, kept me on the edge of my seat. well worth the $10 i paid!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome but Terribly Sad

    Oh my, it was a great read but hard to make it through the book with what the content was. I love the way the author gets inside the characters heads as they tell their stories and you can really imagine what that summer must have been like as if you were a part of it! It is a great book to read but very sad. The author does an awesome job developing and visualizing the characters and you really can picture little Katie and how adorable and lovable she was! I was definitely recommend this book, I flew through it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Really intriguing and leaves you at the end of your seat!

    I really enjoyed this book. At first i thought it was going to be boring and take me awhile to read, but then towards the middle it became very interesting. It's suspenseful and kept me wanting to read more until i was done. I dont read a lot of books or find too many that i really like and this one is by far one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2008

    Absolutely incredible! Could NOT put it down

    In the beginning it can be kind of confusing what with the different narrators- but before you even realize it, you're addicted. You have to keep reading until you just fall asleep with the book over your face. Great details and plot- this is truly one of a kind and I recommend it to anyone who enjoyed 'The Lovely Bones,' by Alice Sebold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2008

    A reviewer

    I thought this book was really good. I never thought that it would end how it ended. It was one of my favorate books to read because it was a huge mystery. I would consider anybody to read this book. i think whom ever would read this book would capture alot of people.all in all it was a really good book to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    ILLUMINATING!

    Martin's THE BRIGHT FOREVER was an illuminating find. The author certainly has a gift for storytelling and knows how to keep a reader going and going. He provides the reader with small clues which always left me wanting more. It was definitely one of my fastest reads because I couldn't put it down! The story itself is a sad one: a little girl full of life and innocence turns up missing in a small, sleepy town where the biggest news the town newspaper might ever report is the results of the church bake sale. I liken the story to Alice Sebold's THE LOVELY BONES and Kate Atkinson's CAST HISTORIES, however, it was a much richer story than either of those two novels (and I don't recommend the latter at all!). Having just read (and not enjoying) CASE HISTORIES, I was a bit put off at first by THE BRIGHT FOREVER when I started reading and discovered that it was similar in structure and told from many points of view. It's not a structure I'm particularly fond of, as it can be somewhat confusing and overwhelming. Thankfully, author Lee Martin pulls it off beautifully. He offers one story with several interwoven viewpoints and truths, and that keeps the reader guessing. Each chapter is named after a character or a specific date, which tells you whose point of view you'll be reading next. It was confusing at first, but once you get used to switching viewpoints and putting yourself in that character's shoes, you begin to appreciate the novel's style and ease into the story much more easily. I don't want to give away any plot details I'll let you discover those for yourself. However, think of this quote from the novel: 'The measure of a man's real character is what he would do if he knew he would never be found out.' That's the heart of the story. Martin gives us a captivating -- yet heavy-hearted-- tale that examines real human nature and behavior.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    I had to read this book for my book club, but I will never read it again. The book was a very fast read (I read it in 1 afternoon)but I went to bed that night feeling very disturbed. I did not like the fact that the reader is made to identify with the creepy stalker (Mr. Dees). I was very upset that the author clearly approves of falling in love with young children and making a collection of their personal things to keep by and adult's bedside. I really have better things to do than examine the psyche of a child molester, and that is really the majority of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    I read the flap inside this book, I was hooked, I wanted to actually find out what happens, what lead up to her disaperence. I read this book in 4 days. I have never read a book in that short of time span! I was excited and amazed by how intrseting it was and how attached to the words flying off the pages and into my mind. I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2006

    Sad book with poor values

    I tend to like books / films of this type. This book bothered me by the 'blame' factor it was looking to promote. I finsihed this book beacuse I was sure it would change it's tune. I finished it being disgusted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2006

    Captivating Read

    I really enjoyed this book. The pages flew by and I was hooked wondering what really happened until the last few pages. As for the previous reviewer who felt this book displayed poor values...this is a work of fiction. I think trying to tie a moral bow around the story would have taken away from the realism of the characters and turned the story into a preachy parable. Not everything in life is palatable. A lot of the thoughts and actions of the characters were disturbing, but I found myself intrigued. The author did a very good job delving into the unique mindset of each character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2006

    Beautiful depiction of all the characters

    This book was a great read. Although the story can be quite disturbing at times it is very well written. I loved the fact that each character got to tell from their point of view. I would recommend this to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2006

    boring read

    This novel did not live up to the 'hype'. Although the character development was interesting, it did not capture my attention and I ended up reading the last chapter so I would be 'finished'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2006

    Fast and captivating read

    One of my favorite books.. easy read.. the pages just flew by.. lee martin captivates the reader! its definitely a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3