Customer Reviews for

Bright Lights, Big Ass: A Self-Indulgent, Surly, Ex-Sorority Girl's Guide to Why It Often Sucks in the City, or Who Are These Idiots and Why Do They All Live Next Door to Me?

Average Rating 4.5
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

There are footnotes

FYI - there are footnotes on the nook...you just have to touch the number and it will bring you to the page. It's a little annoying because sometimes it doesn't work and just forwards the page...but they are there and they are funny. Also...the footnotes each have their...
FYI - there are footnotes on the nook...you just have to touch the number and it will bring you to the page. It's a little annoying because sometimes it doesn't work and just forwards the page...but they are there and they are funny. Also...the footnotes each have their own page...so, I loved the book and thought I was only half way finished when I realized it was over and all that was left were all of the footnotes that I already read. I would still recommend the book...but next time I read a Jen Lancaster I might buy the paperback instead.

posted by 8806378 on June 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

NO footnotes on the ebook version!!

I just downloaded the ebook version of this book only to find that an extremely important feature is not included. Jen Lancaster uses footnotes throughout her book (like on every page) that are extremely funny and make up a large portion of the humor. To read the book...
I just downloaded the ebook version of this book only to find that an extremely important feature is not included. Jen Lancaster uses footnotes throughout her book (like on every page) that are extremely funny and make up a large portion of the humor. To read the book without the footnotes is a complete waste. I am very dissappointed!

posted by 4474216 on August 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    There are footnotes

    FYI - there are footnotes on the nook...you just have to touch the number and it will bring you to the page. It's a little annoying because sometimes it doesn't work and just forwards the page...but they are there and they are funny. Also...the footnotes each have their own page...so, I loved the book and thought I was only half way finished when I realized it was over and all that was left were all of the footnotes that I already read. I would still recommend the book...but next time I read a Jen Lancaster I might buy the paperback instead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    So Many Laughs!

    Full disclosure: I'm a huge Jen Lancaster fan. This woman makes me laugh and make a fool of myself while reading in public places. She is awesome. In a lot of ways, Jen Lancaster reminds me a lot of myself. We have some key differences but I think we'd be good friends. She's always getting herself into really funny and strange situations and telling the stories of the situations in such a funny way that you find yourself laughing out loud and having to read a couple pages to your husband to show...moreFull disclosure: I'm a huge Jen Lancaster fan. This woman makes me laugh and make a fool of myself while reading in public places. She is awesome. In a lot of ways, Jen Lancaster reminds me a lot of myself. We have some key differences but I think we'd be good friends. She's always getting herself into really funny and strange situations and telling the stories of the situations in such a funny way that you find yourself laughing out loud and having to read a couple pages to your husband to show him what you're laughing about.

    I can relate to this book on so many levels. My husband and I both grew up in the suburbs and both dreamt of living in the city. We're in the city now living our dream but unfortunately city living, as Ms. Lancaster, points out is not really as glamorous as Sex and the City would have us believe. I love my city but I've gotta say something happens every once in awhile that makes me think, "Gee, let's go back to Suburbia right now." I found myself nodding my head along with Jen throughout the book.

    Bottom line: If you're looking for a laugh, both suburbanites and city mice will find something to love about this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Fun, easy read

    Fun writing, easy to relate to her, makes you feel like you're talking to a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    I love her writing

    She's like the friend I've never met. V. Funny (the whole reason I had to buy this book is b/c I ruined my friend's copy & had to buy her another one-this book + drinking a glass of water - you get the picture). She's bold, sassy and snarky at times, but you will love her. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Jen Lancaster is fab

    I loved Bitter is the New Black so I thought I'd like this book also. I definitely did. It was very funny and relatable as always. I definitely recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Jen Is Hilarious

    Once I got started on this book, I couldn't put it down. This book is so funny and Jen is so humble and sarcastic that it all works. I plan on reading all of her book. I was hooked with Bitter is the Black. Good stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    in stitches

    This book is non stop fun! It was pure entertainment (not a lot of brain stimulation)and a very easy read. I read it during my commute and at times would be laughing outloud and getting very strange looks, but the book was so enjoyable I didn't mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Bright Lights Big Ass

    It was simply hilarious...I love all of Jen Lancaster's book. Her writing style is witty!!! Once I start her books I can't put them down. With all that has happened in her life it is enlightening to see how she keeps her humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    A GREAT READ

    This book is a clever, wiity, funny and honest look at life in an urban area that's hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2008

    Sarcastic and love it!

    Love this book! If you have a sarcastic sense of humor you will love it too! Looking forward to Jen's newest book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is a great summer read. It is hysterical yet true all at the same time. Perfect for 20 somethings looking for a fix now that Sex and the City is off the air. This is the TRUE life in the city... GREAT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3