Customer Reviews for

Bright Lights, Big Ass: A Self-Indulgent, Surly, Ex-Sorority Girl's Guide to Why It Often Sucks in the City, or Who Are These Idiots and Why Do They All Live Next Door to Me?

Average Rating 4.5
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another good one!

I haven't read one of her books that I didn't like. In fact, I can relate to much of what she has written! She has me laughing through the whole book. Loved it!

posted by 7007361 on April 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

NO footnotes on the ebook version!!

I just downloaded the ebook version of this book only to find that an extremely important feature is not included. Jen Lancaster uses footnotes throughout her book (like on every page) that are extremely funny and make up a large portion of the humor. To read the book...
I just downloaded the ebook version of this book only to find that an extremely important feature is not included. Jen Lancaster uses footnotes throughout her book (like on every page) that are extremely funny and make up a large portion of the humor. To read the book without the footnotes is a complete waste. I am very dissappointed!

posted by 4474216 on August 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Another good one!

    I haven't read one of her books that I didn't like. In fact, I can relate to much of what she has written! She has me laughing through the whole book. Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Jen Lancaster's books are hilarious. I read some books and things go so horribly wrong that I find it unrealistic. Now, I know those things can and do happen. It is how you deal with them that counts and Jen and Fletch handle them with a stiff drink and humor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Kentaro

    He put a paralys poison on th tip of next arrow and takes down a bofalo and two more elk. He morphs into a giant and halls the meat back o the house

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Icedawn

    Locked out!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Bluemist

    *makes a nest for Froststar*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    Very funny.

    Loved the book--love J. Lancaster's sense of humor. The book had me laughing out loud. I have recommended this book to all of my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    HILARIOUS!!!

    Jen doesn't disappoint in this book! My favorite part is when she talks about her fears of going to the gyno. I chuckled out loud many times throughout this book! I can't wait to read the next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Recommended for anyone needing a light spin on life

    With each of the author's books, she provides quips and comebacks as she leads a somewhat normal life for a published author. This book will provide any reader with lighthearted look at life's situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    Jen Lancaster kills...

    Everything Jen Lancaster writes is hysterical. She is a great observer of people, mostly of herself. She is glib, hilarious, and not afraid to cuss like a logger when the situation merits. This is a guaranteed great light read that you won't be able to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    She's still the Queen of Snark!

    A wonderful followup to Bitter is the New Black! I laugh so hard reading Jen's books...I feel like I need to go through them with a highlighter so I can remember all of her snarky comments! This book starts where "Bitter" left off...she's learned her lessons about material possessions and is thankful to be gainfully employed, and her observations about her new status are hilarious. People actually submit resumes to catchall email addresses of huge companies? REALLY? Only Jen could discover these airheads and call them out...unfortunately, none of them probably posess the mental equipment to read and/or understand her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hilarious!!!!

    A wonderful clerk at B&N suggested reading something from Jen Lancaster. I have never laughed out loud so much with any other book in my life. My husband now thinks that I am nuts. Well done and hilarious. After reading the first had to buy all and can't wait fot the next.

    Thanks, Jen!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    Hilarious!

    This is the first book that made me snort while reading. If you are a an animal parent you will totally relate. If you are depressed or if you just want to laugh until you pee your pants, this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I KNOW you are Reading this Jen!

    Love! Love! LOVE! Jen Lancaster. Picked up Bitter is the new Black in the airport one day, I felt the cover was describing me perfectly, and had to purchase. Since then (05/09) I have read all of her books. She is my new favorite author. One of my best friends, who I pass the books on to, emails me where she is in the book after she reads certain sections, and we just howl with laughter. We want to have cocktails with you Jen! Cherry margaritas in fact - if we can ever find a bartender who has actually heard of a cherry margarita, which so far, we haven't found one. Keep writing and I'll keep buying. Really enjoyed this book as well, really like the author's use of footnotes. Very light reading, sure to bring a smile to your face and a pain to the side of your stomach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    Love, love, LOVE this book!!

    Jen Lancaster is hilarious!! This is the first book I've ever read that literally had me laughing out loud!! She is very witty and sarcastic and a great storyteller. She paints vivid pictures with her words and is very relatable. I am reading all of her books and I hope she keeps them coming! I would recommend this to ANYONE who is looking for a fun book to read. You'll be laughing so hard by the end of this book you'll have tears in your eyes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Jen Does it Again!

    You can't stop laughing while reading any of Lancaster's books! Her memoirs are hilarious, true to life, and written with honesty. If you happen to be a plus-size woman, you'll love it! If you're a skinny woman, you'll love it too, but perhaps develop some understanding for those not pencil-thin like you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely loved It!!

    If you enjoy 'popcorn humor', with a very intelligent author, this is perfect! She's got a extremely dry humor, and it shows in all of her books! Could barely put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great....As Usual

    As with all of the books that Jennifer Lancaster has written, this one is equally as funny and smart witted...definately a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best of the three!

    I read all three of the memoirs Jen Lancaster wrote. "Bitter is the New Black", "Bright Lights, Big Ass" and "Such a Pretty Fat". This one, number 2, was my favorite. I laughed out loud through numerous pages. They're all worth reading, and my desire is always to read things in order, but if you only want to read one, make it this one!! I'll definitely re-read at least this one, and have already mailed them to a friend for her to read.
    If sarcasm is your friend, you'll love this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Laugh in the bathtub funny!

    J.La cracks me up. So many times while reading this book in bed, shakes of me laughing woke my husband. Read this book! You will love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    If i wrote a book, I would HOPE it would be as good as this!

    I could not put this book down....actually had it handy to read on Commercial breaks from my shows and read at every lunch break I could! While the books don't seem to be chronological (nice) they have familiar characters that you will enjoy no matter where you start!<BR/>Can't wait for more to come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6