BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bright Lights, Big Ass: A Self-Indulgent, Surly, Ex-Sorority Girl's Guide to Why It Often Sucks in the City, or Who Are These Idiots and Why Do They All Live Next Door to Me?

Average Rating 4.5
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(102)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

There are footnotes

FYI - there are footnotes on the nook...you just have to touch the number and it will bring you to the page. It's a little annoying because sometimes it doesn't work and just forwards the page...but they are there and they are funny. Also...the footnotes each have their...
FYI - there are footnotes on the nook...you just have to touch the number and it will bring you to the page. It's a little annoying because sometimes it doesn't work and just forwards the page...but they are there and they are funny. Also...the footnotes each have their own page...so, I loved the book and thought I was only half way finished when I realized it was over and all that was left were all of the footnotes that I already read. I would still recommend the book...but next time I read a Jen Lancaster I might buy the paperback instead.

posted by 8806378 on June 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

NO footnotes on the ebook version!!

I just downloaded the ebook version of this book only to find that an extremely important feature is not included. Jen Lancaster uses footnotes throughout her book (like on every page) that are extremely funny and make up a large portion of the humor. To read the book...
I just downloaded the ebook version of this book only to find that an extremely important feature is not included. Jen Lancaster uses footnotes throughout her book (like on every page) that are extremely funny and make up a large portion of the humor. To read the book without the footnotes is a complete waste. I am very dissappointed!

posted by 4474216 on August 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 102 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    can't .. put .. down

    ok, so after finishing "Bitter is the new black" - I went back to Borders..( I know!) and purchased this one, I devoured it and then like everyone else had to wait for her next installment of hilarity.<BR/>if you have not read these yet....why?? there is none better, Jen L is the cream of the crop!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    Can't get enough!

    Each of Jen Lancaster's books is funnier than the previous. Her outlook on life is like no other and will make you hold your sides you'll be laughing so much. She really cracks me up! I'm on the last book and can't wait for another! Get busy, Jen!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    Funniest Shiznit Ever!!

    As soon as I finished reading "Bitter is the New Black" I immediately ordered "Bright Lights, Big Ass" from B&N. I laughed outloud so many times reading "Bright Lights..." that people around me would often look at me with worried faces thinking I was losing my mind. It was hilarious and often kept me laughing long after I passed the page full of chuckles. I would recommend it to anyone with a sense of humor, you'll pee your pants, guaranteed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    You'll be laughing out loud!

    Just finished 'Bitter is the New Black' and ran right out to get Bright Lights. Am not dissapointed! It's just as funny and reveals more about Jen and Fletch's relationship. I am a true fan and will go on to 'Such a Pretty Fat' next. I find myself constantly laughing out loud. A great summer read, or any time you need to laugh. Jen seems to be able to laugh at herself and really makes my life seem more able to take after I see what she's been through! She has a way of looking at things in such a comic way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    Too funny and so truthful!

    Ms.Lancaster is one of the funniest writers I have ever read!The best part is what she writes about is true.I was born and raised in Chicago and can relate to her in many ways.Keep writing Jen!We all need a laugh now and then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    Hilarious!

    I cannot believe how funny this book is! I lived in Chicago for a few years so a lot of what she writes about is exactly the way I remember it. Jen is so good at laughing at herself that she had me laughing right along with her. I cannot wait to read her first book and will be reading her new one in May as soon as it hits the shelves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    A reviewer

    Honestly, I told the friend who loaned me this book that I really can't read it in public anymore. I was reading it in an airport and on a plane and was afraid that people thought I was having a seizure I was laughing so hard. I think Jen's writing style is hilarious and particularly I love the footnotes. Her sarcasm and wit are great and I say keep 'em coming! Can't wait to read the one that will come out in May!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    Still laughing....

    I really loved this book. Haven't read her first one yet, but will soon. I've passed this book on to a friend of mine with hopes that she too will be 'still laughing' when she's done. I read Jen's blog religously now. She tells it like it is and makes no apologies for it. Isn't that how we all want to be? I know I do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    Jen Did NOT Let Me Down

    Sadly, I didn't know Jen had a 2nd book until I came across it at the book store. Since I simply adored book #1, I bought this one just hoping it wouldn't be bad, as 2nd attempts and so on sometimes do. She so didn't let me down. It was completely as funny and laugh-out-loud as the first book, and I could absolutely relate to everything she said, even more so as she further writes about her relationship with her husband and, for example, her thoughts about Rachel Ray. If you like a big shot of sass in your cup of sarcasm, this one's for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    A GREAT Read!!

    Especially for any female '20 somethings' out there!! This is a witty and hilarious book for not only those young women living in the city, but pretty much anybody having to try to make it in today's world. This is such a fun book to read after a hard's day work... and for a laugh! At one point, I was laughing myself to tears. I hope that you enjoy this book as much as I have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2007

    Roll in the Floor Funny

    I loved this book - it was so funny but yet it was so true. I enjoyed it so much I could not put it down and read it in just a couple of days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2007

    A reviewer

    Bright Lights, Big Ass was the first book I read by Jen Lancaster. It was so funny and relatable. Jen is Everygirl (only the Everygirl that is hilarious, sarcastic, shop-a-holic, pearl-wearing, city girl). I cannot wait to go buy Jen's first book, Bitter is the New Black (and you should too) and I'm excited for her next book to come out! I have recommended Bright Lights... to everyone I know and if they don't go buy it soon I will force it on them. A must-read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2007

    Love the book, love her honest take on life

    Jen Lancaster is perhaps one of THE most honest and intelligent writers you might find out there. She is living life and holds nothing back, from watching her husband lose it over a 'coyote' to hauling pee stained carpet around herself, she cant help being real. If you havent already, I highly suggest checking out her blogs on jennsylvania and or myspace. WONDERFUL book Jen! keep spinning out the stuff I just cant help reading, laughing, getting looks like I am crazy from my husband for, and then reading them out loud to him so he will understand... Crazy looks still continue, but I have fun with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    kick butt urbanized reflections

    The third line of this kick butt urbanized reflections sums up the tome and author Jen Lancaster¿s philosophy as she writes a letter to ¿Dear Carrie Bradshaw¿ (of Sex and the City claim): ¿You are a fucking lair¿. From there no sacred politically correct cows survive though anti politically correct has become the in mantra soon we will learn from the anonymous pundits that it is time for an anti anti politically correct movement. Nobody escapes Ms. Lancaster¿s amusing wrath whether she discusses Fletch, ¿retarded¿ people like herself and her readers like this reviewer, Chicago, the New York Stock Exchange, shopping at Target, or President Bush¿s Christian family values that produced the ¿Twins¿ as his role models for the rest of the country of his achievements. Readers from the purple states will appreciate this often humorous bulls-eyes but always rants on life in the American jungle in which the Stairmaster always conquers the climber and the neighbors suck (read the book if you want to know what). ---- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 102 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6