Customer Reviews for

A Bright Red Scream: Self-Mutilation and the Language of Pain

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    A Must Read

    BUY THIS BOOK!!! It not only offers helpful information about treatment, possible causes for self-mutilation, and stunning medical research, it most importantly offers a raw glimpse into the real lives and suffering of "cutters" of all ages and walks of life. It is an absolute must read for anyone who self-mutilates, knows someone who does, anyone wanting to learn more about the condition, or anyone willing to lay down all false preconceptions about self-mutilation. As a "cutter", I could only wish those that see self-mutilation as a "crazy" and "disgusting" act would pick up this book and read it with an open mind. "A Bright Red Scream" is written with immense compassion and is brilliant in its research. Please read this and PASS IT ON.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    Fascinating stuff! Really puts to rest a lot of the myths about

    Fascinating stuff! Really puts to rest a lot of the myths about cutting and puts a whole new spin on the concept.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2014

    Recommended

    This helped me to understand what was going on with a loved one. Appreciated the insight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I have worked with children and families for the past nine years, and I am always on the look out for any books that gives good information and treatment options that address the many mental health issues effecting our society. People are not made by cookie cutters, so having more than one treatment option is always helpful, because everyone handles things differently. This book gives more than one treatment option, as well as personal stories from different people who are or have commited self-harm. It also gives more information on the different types of self-harm. I have always believed one can never have too much knowledge, and this is definitely a great source.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2006

    The Truth

    I had to at first read a book in psychology but before that, I had picked this book up because the title caught my attention. This book tells the truth, the problems, the help for people who harm themselves and it makes me understand why my friends harm themselves and why i had done it as well. Its a great book to read and its pretty easy to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    Overall a good book

    Although it was nicely written and factual, i didn't agree with many of the presented theories for some of them were a little outrageous. But if you're looking for answers on this topic about certain things, i would definently recommend this book because it has a lot of personal stories and you're sure to find something to relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    Interesting

    I've been struggling with cutting for a few years now, and being the bookworm I am it has helped reading about what I'm going through. It's a really great book with tons of information for just about anyone. Some of it I didn't exactly agree with, but overall it really helps get rid of the feeling of being the 'only one'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2004

    14 y/o cutter

    This is a really good book that it very accurate on the topic. It actualy helped me understand more about why I was inflicting this upon my body. From this book I have learned to stay clan from it for a while now. This really helped me see the light. Anyone who is going through this should look into this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    Good Info and Personal Accounts

    I have been studying up on different disorders for a year or so now and I wanted to read this since it was one of the only books on SI at my local library, which is quite sad. I know some cutters and so it helped me a lot, from a friendship standpoint and personally. It is a good mix of information and personal accounts. Definitly a must read for anyone interested in the supject.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2003

    Amazing

    I am 15 and have been a cutter for 2 1/2 years now. This book helped me to understand some of the reasons why I cut. I also reccomend this book to friends of cutters who haven't been there before and wonder why they are doing this to themselves. It helps you to understand the addiction, and the pain. Alot of cutters think that they are alone in what they do, and this book prooves them wrong,Which is a comfort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2001

    14 y/o from california

    I thought this book was really good, the personal stories were great! I have been a cutter for more then 3yrs now, I have not pursued to seek the help i know I need, some things can get too out-of-control and you kept pushing everything away so no one thinks your weird, my friends don't read things like this and my parents are at work most of the time so I pretty much know they won't know this is mine, since I have failed to tell anyone my secret.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2001

    from a cutters point of view

    As a person who engages in Self Injury and has for the past 4 years, I found this book to be very usuful. It explained all aspects of SI and really 'hit the head of the nail'. The information was accurate and in some parts helped me to understand myself more. It shed light on things I didn't understand about myself and the reasons why I cut.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2000

    Mother of a 19 year old Self mutilation and bipolar

    I found this book very helpful in understanding my daughters illness. I would recommend it to any parent who has a child who self injurys. It will help to open your eyes to know that you and your child are not alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2000

    self injurer age 21 female

    I thought that A Bright Red Scream was a very well written book about self injury. It has helped me to understand completely why I self injure and has helped me to stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2000

    I would say...

    I thought the book was good. It had some very good stories of other cutters and their own personal experiences with SI. It seems to me that the authors try to point out that SI is often brought out by Sexual abuse. That is true but there are many, many, many other causes of Self Injury. And i don't think the book talked about them really. I think it does give some basic understanding to people who are for the most part uneducated about SI.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2000

    You Need to Know

    This book has some good stories from cutters, but the authors sound like they don't really know much about cutting. And the stories tend to lag on and on so that they get kind of boring. If you don't have any experience in the art of self-injury, I don't recommend this book, because you'll just get more lost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2000

    ok but not the best recource

    I just got this book and I read it. It has some very good storys in it but to me the book seems like some professer talking about some topic that he has no idea about. So I don't reccomend reading it unless you've had first hand experence with the topic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1