Customer Reviews for

A Bright Shining Lie: John Paul Vann and America in Vietnam

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hard to imagine anything better

    This is simply the best Viet Nam book I've ever read. Sheehan's actual experience reporting from Viet Nam provides a perspective that few could have offered. The history melded within the story is seamless and until the last page is read, you will not realize how much you have learned during the journey. John Paul Vann is portrayed as the man and hero he was, complete with flaws and imperfections. For someone like myself, who was a child during the Viet Nam era, this book was both educational and thrilling to read. Ultimately, it's difficult to not overuse superlatives when commenting on this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Book

    This was the best book I've read on the Vietnam War. It's a perfect balance between what was happening on the ground, in Washington, and in John Paul Vann's personnel life. A must read for anyone interested in the subject.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 1999

    41 M - reading century top 200

    An outstanding hisory lesson on the Vietnam war - while maintaining the reader's interest as a 'story' as well. A good perspective on the futility and ineptitude of our Vietnam involvement. Also, a good perspective on how a hero cannot be a hero in every sense. Be prepared to spend a long time on this book because its incredibly long - but mostly worth the effort.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2006

    A massive, but relatively easy and eye-opening read

    I have seen Sheehan's book in stores since it was published in 1988, but did not read it until last week. Although the book requires an investment in time, energy, and thought, my understanding of the Vietnam War in particular, and America in general, have been profoundly enlarged and deepened. Spending time with Mr. Sheehan and running his thoughts and analysis through your mind will leave a lasting impression, which I think is important, since Vietnam and the Vietnam era are often compared to Iraq and the 'Iraq Era.'

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2002

    A Must Read for Understanding the Vietnam War

    In 1967-68 I proudly served in the Navy on a heavy cruiser off the coasts of both North and South Vietnam. I did my duty as required, came home, attended college on the GI Bill, and got a job. When I first read Sheehan's book over 13 years ago my first thoughts were, 'Those Americans and allied forces who served deserve our deepest thanks but, boy, were their lives and those of so many others - including both North and South Vietnamese - so needlessly wasted.' As a park historian with the National Park Service at Appomattox Court House National Historical Park in Virginia back in the mid-1970s, I was charged with the task of helping visitors understand the reasons for our Civil War, its ending, and the aftermath. Sheehan's book on Vietnam's 'civil war' offers an eye-opening analogy to that of America's 100 years before....fanatical leaders spoiling for a fight,so many of the country's youngest and brightest answering the call to arms, and all those lives and materiel so needlessly wasted.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2001

    I can see clearly now

    Retrospective review of an epic event is the only clear and definitive approach to truly understanding the scope of the event. You may have some lingering political or emotional bias concerning this war, but after reading Mr. Sheehan's report you will come away with the facts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Mystery

    •Name: Mystery•Gender: Female•Appearance: tall, darskinned an skinny. She usually wears dark skinny jeans and apurple shirt. • Personality: Changes depending on the situation that I am in.• Abilities: Shapeshifting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Elena a.k.a robin

    Robin is my nickname! My bio is at jym result one. I can shapeshift to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Moonlily

    Namr-moonlily.....age-16......looks- human/wolf....grey/white hair with timber wolf ears and tail....weares a black tee and camo shorts always bare footed......cat form- like a regular lynx, ocelot, cheetah etc.......fav shifts- sparrow, raven and crow....personal- shy, mischievious, kind and adventurous....them song- rude by magic....(i am not ga<_>y as soe may asseme by the theme song just putting it out there)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Ryas' bio

    Name:Ryas age:17 appeareance:5'7,black hair,tan,i have bueish grayish eyes,im fast and strong im also a shapeshifter likes:surfing,music and playing games and running.this is the end because my mind just went blank oh yeah i like the football team Alabama and i live in Alabama now press the x

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Sam

    "I DONT KNOW I DONT KNOW I DONT KNIW!" She screams

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Aspen's bio

    Name:Aspen<p>Gender:Female<p>Race:Human/Sorcerer<p>Looks:Black wavy hair,Pure white eyes,Olive skin<p>Likes:Monkeys,Anime,Japan,Pocky,The Moon,Japanese music,The color black((im not goth or emo))<p>Dislikes:Goddmodders,Pink,light colors<p>Personality:Calm,Collected,Loner,Outgoing around people she trust and or is a friends,<p>Friends:None<p>Crush/Boyfriend:None

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Dante's Bio of... Uhm. Nevermind that...

    Name: Dante Niyargo Exspellion. ((Pronouncation for you moronic oafs.... Dawn-tay Nigh-Ya-Arg-Oh Ex-Spell-Ee-On.))<br/><br/>Age: I am as old as time itself. Though I look like a nineteen year old.<br/><br/>Appearance: My eyes are a dark purple, my hair is a light silverish color, I usually wear a black and white scarff, a light crimson jacket, and Purple stipred dress pants.<br/><br/>Likes: Waffles, making people smile, racist jokes, Good Friends, Being curious and or nosey, Eavesdropping, and working for people as a merc.<br/><br/>Dislikes: Quite a bit actually. Godmodding. One post kills. Idiots. Bad grammar. People who have a select vocabulary. And if I wanted to. I could go on. But I will spare you your precious time....<br/><br/>Personality: I try to be nice and calm. Though I may sometimes fail. I try. I usually am never serious. I try and make people laugh. And grin. And make them feel safe.<br/><br/>Powers: Creating Vines that extend anywhere commanded. The power of rusting things. And since kittens are taken. I choose Narwhals!<br/><br/>Friends: I would love to say you! Buut. Since I am a 'Newb'. I am sadly no ones friend.<br/><br/>Crush: Mind your own god da<3>mn bussiness! XD<br/><br/>Girlfried and or wife: Mind your own--Nah. I don't have either.<br/><br/>Hieght: 5'8" <br/><br/>Special things about me: I am double jointed. I have almost no muscle. But I am very fast. Namely my muscle is in my legs. My racist jokes will always be funny if you laugh or not.<br/><br/>Gender: Male<br/><br/>This is it for now. I may have forgotten some things. Buut. Yeah. Goodbye!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    AnnaSophia's bio

    Name: AnnaSophia Beatrice RoseArt | Nicknames: 'Anna' and apparently 'Aesop'. | Age: 16 {I don't live forever} | Species: Dhampir {half human, half vampire} | Looks: blond, red eyes, 5'3", scars on arms, tattoo of 'Okay? Okay.' behind right ear. | Likes: skateboarding, blood, black, books, movies, etc. | Dislikes: Stuff | Crush: someone. | Theme Song: "I Wanna Get Better" by Bleachers. | The Bond With: {Certain vampires have The Bond with someone from the same or different species. They basically read eachothers mind unless it's a one-way Bond. And they are bound to protect the receiver of the Bond.} Malchior and Lynx protect me. And I protect Lynx and Dante. | History: Lived in the human world until I was 13 then went to the VA {Vampire Academy}. I escaped there and ended up here. | Bye, bye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    A fairy

    Flits in her wings werent physical but they seemed to be made if light

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Yorru

    Yorru is a neko. Her fur on her ears and tails is pure black with tints of blue and red. She has hazle eyes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    (Unnamed dragon) 3rd life of Xkiezley's.

    The dragon recently hatched and has no human form (yet), she is black with emerald eyes and frills. If she had a human form, it would look 8. Name: none. Friends: blah. Just put me on your bio and ill put you on mine. Crush: you are so dumb. Children: wow. Just, wow. Im not gonna awnswer that. Backstory: go to heart set res 1. Other: study it or something. Whatever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Lincoln's Bio

    Name: Lincoln. Age: 17. Appearance: Brown hair , eyes, and a low cut beard. I have a nose ring and a silver band ring on my right hand. I have tattoo sleeves on both arms, back and neck. Likes: Skateboarding & tattoos. Other: I'm a wolf. Dislikes: Bullies & Demons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Astrid's Biography of Epicness

    Coming soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3