Customer Reviews for

Bright Shiny Morning

Average Rating 4
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Style and substance

This was a great book. I was expecting great things because I had enjoyed Million Little Pieces and My Friend Leonard (no matter what Oprah had to say!). This book had an original style of story telling. The characters were engaging. A wonderful history lesson of Ca...
This was a great book. I was expecting great things because I had enjoyed Million Little Pieces and My Friend Leonard (no matter what Oprah had to say!). This book had an original style of story telling. The characters were engaging. A wonderful history lesson of California, and more specifically Los Angeles is interspersed (makes you want to avoid any thought of visiting the city!), and all is presented in a very candid way. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for something a little different, who wants a great story, a great lesson, and a dose of reality.

posted by Bookclub_enthusiast on November 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Characters were great

My first exposure to James Frey was his hit, Million Little Pieces, which was on Oprah's book club. I expected this book to be similar to MLP, however I found it more distracting, than interesting, to read. The character development in this is stellar, and I was fast fo...
My first exposure to James Frey was his hit, Million Little Pieces, which was on Oprah's book club. I expected this book to be similar to MLP, however I found it more distracting, than interesting, to read. The character development in this is stellar, and I was fast forwarding through the pages that consisted of one paragraph, about the history of southern CA. I could have done without that part of the story, and read more of the different stories of the heartbreaking characters.

posted by 2621655 on January 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Style and substance

    This was a great book. I was expecting great things because I had enjoyed Million Little Pieces and My Friend Leonard (no matter what Oprah had to say!). This book had an original style of story telling. The characters were engaging. A wonderful history lesson of California, and more specifically Los Angeles is interspersed (makes you want to avoid any thought of visiting the city!), and all is presented in a very candid way. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for something a little different, who wants a great story, a great lesson, and a dose of reality.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    Nothing short of amazing

    Riveting, and powerful. Couldnt put it down from the moment that I picked it up. Paints a glamourously dark picture of hollywood and where most of those who follow the lure of its lights end up. Reccommend it to everyone. The characters are amazing, the style is powerful. There is someone for everyone in this book. Brought tears to my eyes on several occasions... A MUST READ!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another winner in my eyes

    I read both of James Frey's books before this. I loved them and I loved this one. He is a great writer. He keeps you interested and wanting more. I couldn't put it down. I read the book rather then study for my midterm. That's how good it was. Highly recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    I don't care about the controversy with his first book, James Fr

    I don't care about the controversy with his first book, James Frey is a genius writer and I couldn't put this book down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Amazing

    Sometimes the random facts are a bit much, but this book is definitely one of the best reads you could ask for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    Characters were great

    My first exposure to James Frey was his hit, Million Little Pieces, which was on Oprah's book club. I expected this book to be similar to MLP, however I found it more distracting, than interesting, to read. The character development in this is stellar, and I was fast forwarding through the pages that consisted of one paragraph, about the history of southern CA. I could have done without that part of the story, and read more of the different stories of the heartbreaking characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    California Captured!

    This book shines from the onset! The writing style is engaging and the characters are fascinatingly regular. Added to all the terrific facts about the state of California, the plot is crisply readable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    What doesn't kill us, makes us stronger!

    James Frey is a unique writer and although his trip in the limelight was ugly, he continues to write and write well. His style of writing in A Million Pieces was so out of the ordinary and even frustrating for some, it is what keeps me coming back. In this book, we are introduced to many very different characters along the way, each with so much life happening, you cannot help but be intrigued in finding out more. Frey also gives us a good deal of history of California and the undertone throughout the book feels like the I-5 that travels through the belly of it. The characters alone give multiple readers a lot to talk about and although this easily could fall into a sequel or series, I have a feeling Frey will leave it right where it ends. I look forward to his next novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A waste of my money, time, and attention.

    So many history books worthy of reading and collecting. I didnt need a history lesson, I read to escape, I read to live in someone else's shoes for a moment in time. I didn't enjoy the reality, we are exposed to this reality in the flesh. I would NOT recommend this book!! I found nothing about this book captivating!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An masterful portrait of L.A.

    I loved this book and could barely put it down. What I liked most is that this guy is a great writer/story-teller. His characters, introduced to the reader through a set of interwoven, unconnected, mini-short stories, suck you into their lives. I loved the fact that Frey focuses on and gives humanity to people on the fringes of society -- be they the superficial, mega-wealthy or those living on the street. The intermissions with "L.A. facts" between story segments enriched the drama. Sometimes these fact lists got a bit lengthy, but that was my biggest criticism of the novel. The fact that the superstar was hiding a gay lifestyle was a bit cliche, but, nonetheless poignant in its portrayal of narcissim.

    Somehow, I missed the Oprah drama around Frey's "A Million Little Pieces', so I loved reading about it in the paperback version that included a little P.S. section. As Frey notes, we are suckers for a little scandal.

    All in all, this is a great read, with characters that reminded me of Raymond Carver's, and enough suspense to keep you coming back for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fans who relish a sharp sardonic saga will want to read Mr. Frey's lampooning of Los Angeles, a city with an identity crisis

    They come by foot, by car, by bus or plane to Los Angeles. They are looking to start anew, looking to vanish, or just looking. They arrive from all walks of life, from all religions, and from all races. Los Angeles is a magnet as the twenty-first century melting pot city.

    Amberton Parker has become a Hollywood legend living the American dream with plenty of money, a lovely wife and three children who adore him but he also has a risky side in regards to his sexual preference. Two teenagers Dylan and Maddie fled abusive households hoping to make it on love. Espernaza pays for her college education by working as a maid for a rich b**ch. Homeless alcoholic Old Joe skips asking passersby for loose change when he becomes a Good Samaritan trying to help a young addict.

    BRIGHT SHINY MORNING feels like three novellas of life in Los Angeles that cross over each other yet somehow never quite interweave into a cohesive novel sort of as if the expressways that connect the metropolis never touch one another. Each tale is well written with real characters somewhat hyperbolized to portray aspects of a city that James Frey satirically describes as craving to become the twenty-first century number one international metropolis (in spite of NFL meaning not for Los Angeles). Fans who relish a sharp sardonic saga will want to read Mr. Frey's lampooning of Los Angeles, a city with an identity crisis.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Catching and Refreshing.

    Love this book. I recommend this book to anybody who likes/reads Bret Easton Ellis or Chuck Palahniuk. It was suprising how Bright Shiny Morning was popular at all because of the "controversial", A Million Little Pieces. It was rumored that AMAZING Oprah calls however many years later to apologize to Frey about HER outburst on HER show over his book, it's funny how she apologizes just after Bright Shiny Morning came out and had gotten good reviews.
    Nothing in the book can be considered accurate or true, this being stated at the beginning of the book. So I'm not sure that the history about Los Angeles is even true, he could have slightly made some of it up.
    Love the characters. Love the Ending.
    All around great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    California and Hollywood history

    Bright Shiny Morning is a history of the United States mainly focusing on California and Hollywood beginnings to present day. We learn about its founders and the people who get caught up in its hype. There are four main stories within the one story where the history intertwines. A man dreams are crushed and he decides to become a homeless drunk with a heart. When one of his friends is murdered, he rethinks his life. A beautiful young American Mexican girl obsesses about her thighs. A young couple runs from their abusive homes and starts a new life. A homosexual male movie star blackmails men to have sex with him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    One of my all-time favorite books!! A love letter to LA, that makes me long to be a oart of that city again!!!!!!

    A must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Arielle

    Ok thats good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Smoke to dani

    Search mgmt flash deliureum its one of the songs we are going to play.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Los

    He sits down and he looks around

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Dani

    *walks in wearing a red and black striped tshirt, grey jeans, and brown combat boots* Hey guys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Great read

    I loved this book. Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Amazing!

    This is one of those great books where when you are finished you feel like you lost your best friend! His style of writing is so real and gritty. I keep longing for another book to come out from Frey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7