Customer Reviews for

Bright Shiny Morning

Average Rating 4
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Style and substance

This was a great book. I was expecting great things because I had enjoyed Million Little Pieces and My Friend Leonard (no matter what Oprah had to say!). This book had an original style of story telling. The characters were engaging. A wonderful history lesson of Ca...
This was a great book. I was expecting great things because I had enjoyed Million Little Pieces and My Friend Leonard (no matter what Oprah had to say!). This book had an original style of story telling. The characters were engaging. A wonderful history lesson of California, and more specifically Los Angeles is interspersed (makes you want to avoid any thought of visiting the city!), and all is presented in a very candid way. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for something a little different, who wants a great story, a great lesson, and a dose of reality.

posted by Bookclub_enthusiast on November 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Characters were great

My first exposure to James Frey was his hit, Million Little Pieces, which was on Oprah's book club. I expected this book to be similar to MLP, however I found it more distracting, than interesting, to read. The character development in this is stellar, and I was fast fo...
My first exposure to James Frey was his hit, Million Little Pieces, which was on Oprah's book club. I expected this book to be similar to MLP, however I found it more distracting, than interesting, to read. The character development in this is stellar, and I was fast forwarding through the pages that consisted of one paragraph, about the history of southern CA. I could have done without that part of the story, and read more of the different stories of the heartbreaking characters.

posted by 2621655 on January 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    Nothing short of amazing

    Riveting, and powerful. Couldnt put it down from the moment that I picked it up. Paints a glamourously dark picture of hollywood and where most of those who follow the lure of its lights end up. Reccommend it to everyone. The characters are amazing, the style is powerful. There is someone for everyone in this book. Brought tears to my eyes on several occasions... A MUST READ!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another winner in my eyes

    I read both of James Frey's books before this. I loved them and I loved this one. He is a great writer. He keeps you interested and wanting more. I couldn't put it down. I read the book rather then study for my midterm. That's how good it was. Highly recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    I don't care about the controversy with his first book, James Fr

    I don't care about the controversy with his first book, James Frey is a genius writer and I couldn't put this book down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Amazing

    Sometimes the random facts are a bit much, but this book is definitely one of the best reads you could ask for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fans who relish a sharp sardonic saga will want to read Mr. Frey's lampooning of Los Angeles, a city with an identity crisis

    They come by foot, by car, by bus or plane to Los Angeles. They are looking to start anew, looking to vanish, or just looking. They arrive from all walks of life, from all religions, and from all races. Los Angeles is a magnet as the twenty-first century melting pot city.

    Amberton Parker has become a Hollywood legend living the American dream with plenty of money, a lovely wife and three children who adore him but he also has a risky side in regards to his sexual preference. Two teenagers Dylan and Maddie fled abusive households hoping to make it on love. Espernaza pays for her college education by working as a maid for a rich b**ch. Homeless alcoholic Old Joe skips asking passersby for loose change when he becomes a Good Samaritan trying to help a young addict.

    BRIGHT SHINY MORNING feels like three novellas of life in Los Angeles that cross over each other yet somehow never quite interweave into a cohesive novel sort of as if the expressways that connect the metropolis never touch one another. Each tale is well written with real characters somewhat hyperbolized to portray aspects of a city that James Frey satirically describes as craving to become the twenty-first century number one international metropolis (in spite of NFL meaning not for Los Angeles). Fans who relish a sharp sardonic saga will want to read Mr. Frey's lampooning of Los Angeles, a city with an identity crisis.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    California and Hollywood history

    Bright Shiny Morning is a history of the United States mainly focusing on California and Hollywood beginnings to present day. We learn about its founders and the people who get caught up in its hype. There are four main stories within the one story where the history intertwines. A man dreams are crushed and he decides to become a homeless drunk with a heart. When one of his friends is murdered, he rethinks his life. A beautiful young American Mexican girl obsesses about her thighs. A young couple runs from their abusive homes and starts a new life. A homosexual male movie star blackmails men to have sex with him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    One of my all-time favorite books!! A love letter to LA, that makes me long to be a oart of that city again!!!!!!

    A must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Arielle

    Ok thats good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Smoke to dani

    Search mgmt flash deliureum its one of the songs we are going to play.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Dani

    *walks in wearing a red and black striped tshirt, grey jeans, and brown combat boots* Hey guys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Great read

    I loved this book. Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Amazing!

    This is one of those great books where when you are finished you feel like you lost your best friend! His style of writing is so real and gritty. I keep longing for another book to come out from Frey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Great+book

    Love+james+frey%21+Great+book%21

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED THIS!

    This is one of the most interesting books I have read in a long time. The writing style was different from anything I've read. If lack of punctuation and paragraphs drives you wild then this will certainly hit that hot spot. I find myself still haunted by one of the couples in the book and how their story turned out. I wish it didn't have to be but not everything in life has a happy ending. Live by the sword, die by the sword I guess. It was brilliantly random! I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    Reading this is Like a mind trip to LA..

    I enjoyed the semi-true novels James Frey wrote, so I thought I would try this book. It does get a drawn out and excessive in parts, like he was just adding a bunch of Los Angeles facts in there to make the book thicker. The story lines are addictive, some of the facts are interesting.. overall I love his writing style, even thought it has minimal punctuation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Captivating & Compelling Piece

    James Frey is hands down my favorite author. No surprise that this book was a great read. The stories were fantastic... character development was awesome and suspense was right on point. Great book to read... you will not regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    james frey's best yet!

    i would highly recommend this novel to anyone! an explosive look at the truely differnet lives of all characters. my favorite book from him so far. i could not put this one down and i'm ready for the next! james frey's writing style is incrediable, easy to follow and real! there is no sugar coating in this book. I love how he holds you captive with his extrodanary writing capabilities! My favorite author of all time!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2008

    Fabulous read!

    Immediately it became impossible to put the book down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2008

    Goosebumps

    It's simple. This was an amazing read! Thats it. Thanks to the author, the city of LA, and all of the wonderful characters in this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    Who cares what Oprah thinks?

    The context of this book is insane. You can't put the book down, and in the process of reading, you'll find yourself torn between the wrong and right of the situations. Hands down, it is an outstanding novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4