Customer Reviews for

Bright Young Things (Bright Young Things Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Read!

This book is a great read! Its got a little mystery and a great Prologue into the book that keeps you thinking throughout the whole book! I would recommend this to anyone and everyone who likes a little mystery, a little romance, and true life all in one! The author did...
This book is a great read! Its got a little mystery and a great Prologue into the book that keeps you thinking throughout the whole book! I would recommend this to anyone and everyone who likes a little mystery, a little romance, and true life all in one! The author did a great job in relating it to the readers and in portraying real life for these girls. An amazing read!

posted by Savi on December 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

okay

excited at first. takes awhile to get the point. struggled to finish. might not by second.

posted by spongebob123 on February 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 182 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Amazing Read!

    This book is a great read! Its got a little mystery and a great Prologue into the book that keeps you thinking throughout the whole book! I would recommend this to anyone and everyone who likes a little mystery, a little romance, and true life all in one! The author did a great job in relating it to the readers and in portraying real life for these girls. An amazing read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Better than the Luxe series

    Before anything else I need to say that while I read Godbersen's Luxe series, I was not a fan. I enjoyed it, but it simply wasn't a favorite of mine. Historical fiction is, however, a favorite of mine, so I had to check out this series too. I liked it. A lot more than I anticipated and a lot more than Godbersen's previous series.
    The setting of the end of the 1920s decade allows, I suppose for a faster pacing. We follow Cordelia and Letty accustomed themselves to New York after leaving Union, Ohio and we get to know Astrid and her boyfriend Charlie.

    Cordelia, for the most part I did not like Cordelia. I did like that she would sacrifice anything to get what she wanted. Throughout the book we see her get rid of John, sacrifice Letty's trust in her and Charlie's trust in her. Darius Grey even commends her on this character trait. Of course by the end of the book we see how this backfires. I was sad about how it happened, but Cordelia truly had it coming. How could she possibly chose Thom before the family she had wanted all her life? How? Also I think she is the only reason I'm giving this book four instead of five stars, but at the very, very end she was okay.

    Letty is so naïve. She is talented and she can sing and hopes to make it and becomes a star. I think her innocence is endearing, but her crying sometimes is a bit too much. For being the most naïve and fragile of the three girls she certain has it the toughest throughout the book. Through her we learn more of the night life in the 1929s, after parting ways with Cordelia, she's the one that gets employed as a cigarette girl, struggles to make it as a singer only to have it blow up in her face.

    Astrid, I must confess she is my favorite. Her character is probably shallow in many ways and she won't be the poster girl for feminism any time soon but for being a socialite I think her character traits are quite accurate. Astrid is the poor rich girl, yet she's a true friend once she decided to be. Her whole earring confusion with Charlie had me laughing so hard. Astrid and Charlie, I liked this couple, while Charlie is not always likeable I think Astrid is his soft spot. I do hope the next book in the series brings good things for this couple.
    I'd recc'd this book for the Luxe series lovers, and those who enjoyed Vixen by Jillian Larkin. While the books are set on the same era and follow three different girls the similarities end there. Bright Young Things is an enjoyable YA historical novel, the pacing is just right and the characters are lovable just enough. Godbersen is great at painting the picture of the era around her characters and the pacing is great because she switched the focus on the three girls effortlessly. I do wish John would come back into Cordelia's life in the next book, but that's just me being a romantic.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Roaring Read

    Right after the wedding she never wanted, Cordelia and Letty decide to leave small-town life in Ohio for the dazzling city life of New York City. They've been best friends forever.

    Once in the city, they find a boarding house and go out on the town. In a speakeasy, Cordelia meets a boy. They have a moment. In that moment, she tells him the truth about why she really came to New York. She wants to find her father. Unfortunately, Letty overhears. The two girls end up fighting and homeless.

    Cordelia comes to find her father. He welcomes her with open arms. His lifestyle isn't what she's used to - as he runs an illicit business. He also lives in high glamor.

    When he discovers the identity of the boy Cordelia dates, he forbids her to see him again. Cordelia doesn't want to go against her new family, but she can't stay away from Thom.

    At one of her father's infamous parties, she meets Astrid. Astrid dates her brother Charlie. She's ultra glamorous, but her relationship with Charlie is on the rocks. Astrid isn't sure she can trust him, but she loves Cordelia.

    Meanwhile, Letty tries to make it as a star. She's got an amazing voice and a new job at a speakeasy. There she meets a man who could propel her on the fast track to stardom.

    Will the three girls find romance and the answer to their huge dreams within New York City?

    I've been waiting to read this book since BEA. When it arrived in the library, there *might* have been squealing and a happy dance. The author of the Luxe series strikes again! I loved the fashion of the Twenties, the romance, the luxury, and seeing New York City from an architectural standpoint. I love how the three girls lives mingled together - even though they weren't always friends. I can't wait to find out what happens next.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for Teens Read Too

    Gold Star Award Winner! Right after the wedding she never wanted, Cordelia and her friend, Letty, decide to leave small-town life in Ohio for the dazzling city life of New York City. They've been best friends forever. Once in the city, they find a boarding house and go out on the town. In a speakeasy, Cordelia meets a boy. They have a moment. In that moment, she tells him the truth about why she really came to New York. She wants to find her father. Unfortunately, Letty overhears. The two girls end up fighting and homeless. Cordelia comes to NYC to find her father. He welcomes her with open arms. His lifestyle isn't what she's used to, as he runs an illicit business. He also lives in high glamor. When he discovers the identity of the boy Cordelia is dating, he forbids her to see him again. Cordelia doesn't want to go against her new family, but she can't stay away from Thom. At one of her father's infamous parties, she meets Astrid. Astrid dates her brother, Charlie. She's ultra-glamorous, but her relationship with Charlie is on the rocks. Astrid isn't sure she can trust him, but she loves Cordelia. Meanwhile, Letty tries to make it as a star. She's got an amazing voice and a new job at a speakeasy. There, she meets a man who could propel her on the fast track to stardom. Will the three girls find romance and the answer to their huge dreams within New York City? I've been waiting to read this book since BEA. When it arrived in the library, there *might* have been squealing and a happy dance. The author of THE LUXE series strikes again! I loved the fashion of the Twenties, the romance, the luxury, and seeing New York City from an architectural standpoint. I also love how the three girls' lives mingled together, even though they weren't always friends. I can't wait to find out what happens next!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Amazing

    If u read the Luxe series and loved it, than buy this. Every drama loving history lover will need to read this book. Flappers r empowering woman who r intresting charecters. Read this and u feel andbecomea flapper during prohibition. Buy this book, read it, love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Pretty good

    This book was young and fun and some of the time really drew you in. Hoping for a sequel because there were a lot of loose ends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Great 1920s YA

    I love all of the 1920s YA books lately. It's great that YA is branching out into different eras. This one was very well-written and enjoyable. Really liked it a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    AMAZING!!!!!

    one of. the most amazing books i have ever read.you have to read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    amazing to simply put it

    i kinda hoped it wouldnt end it was just so good. i was a HUGE fan of the luxe series and cant wait for another captivating book from this author. i feel like id read this over and over again

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    love love love

    this is a fantastic book. never stop dreaming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    For Dreamers

    only way you'll love this book is if you can relate to the characters and the only way to do that is to dream!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    okay

    excited at first. takes awhile to get the point. struggled to finish. might not by second.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    incredible.

    I read The Luxe series and fell in love with it, and I was hoping to see more from Goberson. Now, I'm falling over myself with this new novel - it is INCREDIBLE! The storyline is amazing. You can feel what the characters feel, and I don't think you could find someone more interesting to read about than Astrid Donal. I cried at a few parts near the end - I won't ruin it - and I was feeling the characters' emotions the entire time. Amazing read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    amazingg!

    this book was amazing. end of story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    Its a series?

    I loved it! The only thing that I was not a fan of was the abrupt ending but aparently it isa series so that made it better. but what i loved about it was that it brought light to the darkness of the 1920s rather than do what many other time period booksdo and create this happy, gay time people have partying about. it is an interesting read if you can handle the sudden cut off ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings Review

    With the beginning of the book predicting that of the three females - "one will be famous, one will be married, and one will be dead," how could one not be hooked to the bitter end? The unfortunate thing is this is the first in a series, so I am still unsure which of the leading ladies will end up in each category. Although through this book, I was trying to take a guess at which one would see her life end, hasn't happened yet.

    I loved going back in time to an era where alcohol was forbidden and an underground operation. Times were hard but exciting. Making it big happened rarely because it took great talent to become a true star. Now don't get me wrong I am a reality tv viewer, but it seemed so earned and precious when few found themselves with their name in lights.

    I am absolutely hooked and am quietly anticipating book 2 in this series. I would pass this book along to those who don't mind take a walk back in time and to those who love to read of women who are trying to find a place to call home.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    liked it alot

    i liked it, it moved alot faster then the luxe series which i was really happy about. the characters are wonderful and the whole roaring 20's thing is awsome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    Even Better Than I Thought It Would Be!

    I was so good!!! I really love musicals and Chicago is one of my favorites. This reminded me so much of it and I love the whole "anything goes" era. All in all, amazing. There's crime, murder, hot men, and the razzle dazzle of the city.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Captivating!

    This is definitely a quick read. I love how the author draws you into each character. Can't wait to read #2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    To kim

    Digs even harder and sucks on your boobs. Lets keep going some other day bye babe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 182 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10